We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shearings 5 day break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
walsall
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“shearings 5 day break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My friend and I enjoyed our short break at the hotel. We were given a warm welcome from the staff. Our room was comfortable and clean and we especially liked the view of Lynmouth beach from our bedroom window. A big thank you to the housekeeper for supplying us with a shower head as we didn't have a shower just a bath. The catering staff were very polite and worked hard to make mealtimes work well my special thanks to our waiter Mark he was very good at his job , well done. My compliments to the chef great food choices and superbly cooked. The entertainment each evening was most enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you require a shower because of disabilities ask before you book. I took it for granted that ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownhillsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are really pleased you and your friend, enjoyed your recent holiday with us in lovely Lynton and that you liked the view from your room of Lynmouth beach.
We are also pleased that you had a warm welcome, the food was superbly cooked and the evening entertainment was enjoyable.
Mark your waiter was really happy to read your comments.
Thank you Brownshills Girl for taking the time to post your kind comments, we look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    161
    112
    76
    54
See reviews for
61
275
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have just returned from our usual 11 day break at the Valley of the Rocks Hotel ( self drive ) we have visited this hotel for the past 7 years except one when we went to the Isle of White, a Shearings hotel again, although not to bad it can't compare with the beauty of North Devon
I don't normally write reviews, but after hearing one or two negative comments about Valley of The Rocks I would like to offer our opinion, four of us always travel together.
First the negative about our experience this year, the first few days of our visit I did not think the food at dinner was up to the standard of previous years this was my opinion, my wife, and my wife's brother and his wife were quite happy with their evening meal, the last week of our stay I felt the evening meals had improved, breakfast was good if you chose the full fry-up, most mornings I alternated between Ham, Kippers, Boiled Eggs ( liked the little raft of , soldiers that came with the eggs ) and scrambled egg on toast, like an earlier reviewer the amount of scrambled egg was very tiny, but I am sure the excellent restaurant staff would have given me more if I would have asked, there was also a wide choice of cereal, porridge, fruit juice, Jams, honey, toast, very tasty filter coffee and tea, I will also mention that in the middle of our stay the only beer that was on draught was unavailable for about three days due to a problem with the pump, missed more by my brother in law than myself
I would like to counter these negatives with a big thank you to the staff for as usual making our stay so pleasurable, Gus, Stuart, Inara, Eric, the night porters James & Mervyn and all the staff in the background keep up the good work it's appreciated, most of these people have Been there since our fist visit and their enthusiasm in running the hotel has never wavered, I would mention that during the time that we were without pumped beer in the bar Inara came in for a lot of unfair criticism unfortunately this happend over the weekend which did not help, the engineer did turn out but was unable to resolve as he did not have the required part so we had a further delay, I know that Inara was upset by this but she did her level best to resolve in the shortest time possible,
My wife had a birthday while we were there, and unknown to my wife and with the help of the staff we smuggled a birthday cake in, which the restaurant staff presented with candles lit at dinner ( thanks again )
I would agree the decor in some public areas is tired and dated, and phone, TV reception leaves a bit to be desired, but as far as I am concerned the hotel ticks the relavent boxes, clean rooms, bedding second to none, good food, excellent staff, good evening entertainment.
As in life do not come expecting things to be perfect but engage with the staff who are sometimes doing a difficult job in trying to make everyones stay pleasurable, if your able take in the walks in the area or the coach excursions and see the real reason why we keep returning.
For those of you whose expectations are higher then pay considerably more and choose another hotel. B&B's in the area are considerably more expensive
Thanks for looking after us and see you next year Gus
Jim, Diane, Rob & Margaret

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are really pleased you had another enjoyable, 11 day break with us at the Valley of Rocks Hotel. We are also pleased you enjoyed the food, the staff were excellent and the evening entertainment was good.
The restaurant staff were more than happy to “smuggle in the birthday cake” for your wife’s birthday, we are sure she enjoyed!
All the staff you mentioned, were really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday.
Thank you Jim D for leaving your feedback on Tripadvisor, we look forward to you all staying with us again next year.
Very Kind Regards Gus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We found hotel very shabby, torn wallpaper in dining room, carpets stuck together with tape, paint work peeling in the corridors, our bedroom very basic even tho we had paid extra for a room with a sea view. The five days we were there we had to use a side entrance by staff quarters as they were painting the main entrance which we found amusing seeing the inside needed the update. The meals were ok always a choice of three but the portion sizes need to be bigger one bite and it gone. Evening entertainment was very good. Would need to think about staying at a shearing hotel again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are sorry if you were inconvenienced, by having to use our disabled entrance (It is not staff quarters) while we had the front entrance to the hotel and the reception ceilings painted.
We have a continual programme of refurbishment and are currently decorating the lift lobby and lounge doors, we have also had many bedrooms fully refurbished.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the evening entertainment, and you liked the choices on the menu.


Thank you, Michele M for posting your comments on Tripadvisor; we hope you will travel with Shearings again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed our weeks stay at the hotel. We have 2 children who really enjoyed staying!! Our room was a great size with a fantastic view of Lynton. My parents also stayed at the hotel at the same time. Their room was lovely it had been updated and refurbished. Our room was in desperate need of this. The corner of the ceiling appeared bowed from damp above? Small bits of plaster were on the floor. I mentioned this to reception staff on arrival & was told it would be checked but I had no feedback? . On the window balcony there were pigeons which had left a mess, unpleasent when opening your window. Room was cleaned daily very well & my children loved how their beds were made with their teddies placed on top! Thank u!! We thought the dining room staff were excellent Eric was very flexible with helping to give my children foods they enjoy! He would shows us menus in advance so we could pre plan this. Nice chips!! Dining room staff were approachable, friendly, helpful and extremly hardworking. Food was good lots of variety. We would like to thank Eric, new waiters Andrei, Marc?? & Jessica. Myself and my parents were upset to witness one of the waiters being challenged (near to the point of bullying) by an unhappy resident in the dining room. The waiter appeared to be vulnerable in this position, as he was new to the job/ country & had limited english, he was at the hotel to learn english in his role & we felt patience & respect should be given by the residents. Overall a good hotel, lots to explore in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay recent stay with us in Lynton.
Eric and the restaurant team are really happy that you found them to be “friendly, hardworking and helpful” also that the housekeeping team “cleaned your room very well” and that they put the teddies on top of the beds.
We are also pleased that the children were well catered for and the chips were nice!
We hope you will visit us again soon, and explore more of this lovely part of Exmoor.
Thank you Jlotter, for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

on arrival at the hotel we received a really warm welcome.we had a lovely bedroom at the front of the hotel.the view was amazing overlooking the town.we were very pleased with the food.all the staff are very hard working and cannot do enough for you.a special mention for Selma and the young man serving in the bar.we will be coming back to this hotel again as we had such a wonderful time.we certainly got value for money considering what we paid with national holidays.all in all a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you Mel P, for taking the time to leave your lovely comments on tripadvisor.

We are really pleased you had a warm welcome, got value for money, enjoyed the food, had an amazing view from your room and that all the staff were hard working.

We will ensure that Selma and Jan (our barman) receive a copy of your review.

We hope you will stay with us again soon and have another brilliant, value for money holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

After reading some of the reviews of this Shearings Hotel, i was slightly apprehensive about what i would find here...............i don't know what people expect for the price they pay for the holiday , but i was so impressed with the quality of the food, and the friendliness of the overworked restaurant staff. Our room was ample and clean , and the area is quiet at night.-.one warning - make sure you book a room with a shower ,if you need this,as they are in short supply..............Entertainment was good ,though most guests seemed to ignore it............Coach driver John was excellent ...i would recommend this 5 day break to everybody.

Room Tip: request a room with a shower,as some rooms have bath only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sidthefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We are really pleased that you had a “wonderful holiday” with us at the Valley of Rocks hotel. We are also pleased that you were impressed by the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff, that the entertainment was good and your room was ample and clean.
We will pass your kind comments to John, “your excellent coach driver”
We hope you will have another holiday with us, in the near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your feed back on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

On our arrival at the at the hotel our first impression was positive. The building is big and impressive and on entering we were met by polite and friendly staff. Our experience continued in the same way throughout the holiday. Our room was basic but this was not a problem considering what we paid. Our main concern when we go to a hotel is the cleanliness and our room didn't dissappoint, we also had the bonus of a stunning view. The food was good (once again considering the cost of the holiday) and the dining room staff although overworked were still always friendly, polite and eager to please. Summing up, this is a nice hotel in a lovely town, a bit tired looking but clean with friendly staff, and for what I paid I am very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you Andy M, for taking the time to post your fantastic comments on tripadvisor.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us here in Lynton; also that your room had a stunning view and was kept clean by our housekeeping team.

We are also pleased that the staff were “polite and friendly”, “the food was good” and the dining room staff were “friendly, polite and eager to please”

We hope you will visit us again soon, and enjoy more of lovely Lynton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing