We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Northants
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money”
Reviewed 6 March 2009

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location especially if you like walking. Considering the cost it is very good value for money - not five star but if you want that then you have to pay five star prices! We have been four times already and are off there again next week. 4 nights half board, daily newspaper, lunch pack and free drinks after 6pm all for less than £140 - anyone who complains about that must be mad. Either that or they know of somewhere where you can get more for the price, in which case would they please let me know where it is!!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    167
    114
    78
    55
See reviews for
61
284
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coventry uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We went for a long weekend break to do some walking in this stunning area. It was a very cheap deal £25 a night for BB & evening meal with sea view room. Other hotels in the area are charging double this just for B&B. We weren't expecting much at this price but were pleasantly suprised. The room was spacious and clean. Slightly dated and worn but perfectly acceptable. The hotel is run by Shearings and you seem to be only able to book through their central booking system. Most of the other guests had come on a coach trip and they paid £69 each for the trip and Dinner &B&B same as us! not many of them had sea views though. The vast majority were elderly, but good fun nonetheless. There was entertainment every night, starting with quizzes and bingo, we threw ourselves in and had a great time. The bar prices were reasonable but the bar didn't open until 6pm. There is lots of refurbishment going on. There are stunning views from seaview rooms and the village has some good pubs we used the crown Lynton, and the rising sun in lynmouth the railway wasn't working so it was a long haul back up the mountain!
The food was OK, school mealish, mind you the bread and butter pudding i had was quite delicious. The food was always hot and the service was very good. Breakfast was good, nice sausages! Can't fault it for the price. There was a group of ramblers in who seemed to complain about everything, but there's obviously no pleasing some people, if you want a 5* experience then you need to pay 5* prices.
The outdoor clothing shop over the road is very reasonably priced too, very pleasant and helpful.
All in all a great weekend, excellent value for money, don't go if you're expecting high quality everything, but for a short break its perfect.

  • Liked — value for money, great location
  • Disliked — can't complain about anything for the price
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilycote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Valley of the Rocks Hotel combined with a Shearings (who own Hotel) Coach Holiday provide an exceptional, value for money, short- break holiday.
The Hotel has many years of history, and probably over the years, had many owners. Shearings have added the Companies expertise to provide very good basic accommodation which include comfortable reasonably furnished rooms which are clean, with good linen/towels, etc, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers, mostly with recently refurbished bathrooms.
A lovely dining-room offering several choices of good, freshly prepared food.
A charming and comfortable lounge, with excellent furnishings, nightly professional entertainment, with a separate well stocked bar area.
Without exception I found the staff particularly pleasant and hard working.

  • Liked — Excellent Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chapellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W.Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

My wife and I revisited this hotel in Sept 08 (see my comments Sept 07). When I booked I asked for and got the same room (33), the scaffolding was gone and the view was great. This is large, duel aspect room with views over the sea and also the village. I did notice that there was evidence of a water leak on the ceiling from the room above. I was not unsurprised to find the same manager and several of the staff from last year, I always feel that this shows stability. All the comments about the hotel, staff and food are the same as last year and we shall return again next year. My only possible complaint could be that the gravy with the roat beef was too spicy however this did not detract from the holiday. I have visited several Shearings hotels and the valley of the rocks ranks as one of the best in my book. Once again exellent value for money, just compare the prices, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller-Older
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Our second visit to Lynton, the first in the Valley of the Rocks. We booked through Shearings. Breakfast and evening meal included. I looked at trip advisor before booking but decided the comments were a bit harsh and to give the hotel a go (all Shearings hotels are usually ok and went on Shearings reputation). The hotel is full of history with stunning views and a lovely garden. The rooms are in the process of being refurbished but are comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and the food is good. There is parking at the back of the hotel but for only 6 cars, howver the hotel will give you a voucher for parking in the village car park, which is not too far away. We had entertainment every night which is as well because there is very little to do in the evenings and the train stops at 7pm, so a trip to Lynmouth, in the night, is only for the hardy! The hotel is a perfect base for exploring Devon, we loved it and would definitely go back.

  • Liked — views and atmosphere
  • Disliked — not long enough stay!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RootytootCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Valley of the Rocks Hotel Lynton is one of the better Shearings Hotels we have stayed at. Still needs a little updating overall but could reccomend for middle aged couples. Entertainment good ,food typical Shearings, Staff in restaurant very good , Hotel clean throughout, bedrooms comfortable . Overall good value break.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Only used one bar in lounge
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

If you consider worn out furniture and poorly maintained rooms to be " charming " then this Hotel is for you ! My Wife and I stayed at the Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton for a long weekend at the end of June, we paid an extra £30 for a sea view.To start with parking the car was not easy as the parking in the Hotel car park is not obvious and stopping outside the Hotel just to pop in to ask directions is not easy as the road is narrow and has double yellow lines ( for your information the car park is on the left hand end of the Hotel through black iron gates, closed when we arrived ) Parking is available in the public car park about 150yds from the Hotel on the left down a side road, parking is free with a ticket supplied by the Hotel but we did worry about the security of the car left in a public car park for this length of time.Our room was on the third floor ( 76 ) there is a good lift to all floors.
On entering the room we were dissapointed with almost everything about the room,the room was quite small,there was a damp patch on the ceiling where there had been a leak from above,the bed had no headboard and the wallpaper was worn away and marked from peoples heads,the room was poorly decorated dark and dingey. But That " Sea View " ( Joke ! ) £30 for a Sea view that was a window about 4ft x 2ft and about 5ft off the floor ! Also the view was obscured by the Trees from the overgrown garden below.The Bathroom was excellent and looked recently fitted.
The meals were good and times of meals to suit most.
The Staff were friendly and helpful.
The Entertainment was Bingo on Friday night ( which no one played ) then a Quiz followed by 60's / 70's music cd's played by the entertainments manager ( pleasent bloke ) Sat, Bingo then live Cabaret with an OK Singer followed by Quiz, Sunday,Quiz and cd's again Ballroom was empty all night !
Nice little lounge area and bar prices are OK.
Views from the Dining room ? OK if you like Trees !
Views from the Ballroom OK if you like Trees !
The Garden is so overgrown and not maintained it blots out what could be a lovely view, the only view is from a side room off fthe Ballroom with two worn out sofa's.
If you like to go out for an evening walk after your meal there is not much to see in Lynton , better to pay a little more and find a Hotel in Lynmouth with it's Sea Front and River walks plus better shops, cafe's and pubs.

  • Liked — meals
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oncebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lynton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing