We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Views”

Review of The Lynhurst

Seaviews enjoyed from the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seaviews enjoyed from the property
New kitchen fitted in January 2018 with 3 oven Aga, 2 fridges, 2 dishwashers, 2 double ovens, hob
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Seaviews enjoyed from the property
New kitchen fitted in January 2018 with 3 oven Aga, 2 fridges, 2 dishwashers, 2 double ovens, hob
New for 2018 panoramic viewing terrace.  Views of the sea, Lynmouth and Exmoor
The Lynhurst from the lawned area in extensive grounds with seaviews
One of two lounges with coal fire, piano, seaviews and balcony
One of two lounges, seaviews, balcony, wood burning stove, TV, CD, comfortable seating
1 of 10 bedrooms, ensuite, balcony for relaxing, overlooking the sea and the garden
Four poster room overlooking the sea with ensuite bath with overhead shower
Double or twin (zip and link) ensuite with balcony and garden views
Room 8 twin with beatiful views of the sea and Lynmouth
Double ensuite with balcony and garden views
Superking ensuite with Lynton village views
Twin ensuite with garden views
Family room with double and twin beds ensuite.  Breathtaking views of Exmoor, the sea and the garden
Room 3 with balcony and sea views.  Shower and hand basin
Twin (zip and link) or double ensuite, garden views
The BBQ area with 2 charcoal BBQs and ample seating with seaviews
The Lawned Area of the Garden
The views from a balcony
Magnificent front entrance with Victorian painted stain glass features
View from the upper path
The very special seaviews from The Lynhurst
A tranquil seating area with seaviews
The lawned area of the extensive gardens
The  glorious BBQ area with two large charcoal grills
The secluded and private location of The Lynhurst
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Lynton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Spreadshe...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house has outstanding views because of its high position on the cliffs. It should be noted that there is no close access to the property by car. Luckily our 86 year old family member was fit enough to climb the steps and slope to the property. The two sitting rooms were lovely, and the property has some outstanding features, such as stained glass windows. However this is an old property and some of the bedrooms smell and feel damp. The beds were clean and comfortable, and the new curtains, towels and bedding were a nice feature. The dining room was dark and smelled of wet dog, and young children had to be watched constantly because of the dangers from steps up to a balcony, and a steep drop from the garden - though this was fenced off, and a sign warns parents to be aware. Despite the issues, we had a lovely time - the barbecue facilities are very good, and the kitchen is well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The dining room and the two damp bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you appreciated the total refurbishment of the property which took place over three months last winter. The house was totally re-painted, new carpets and furnishings.

I absolutely love The Lynhurst. The house is very atmospheric with great charm and as you say the most stunning seaviews. I have gradually over the 15 years that I have run the property, invested a great deal of time, money and care in bringing the maintenance right up to date. I have done everything that the Surveyor has suggested that I do. I can do no more except keep on top of it. This has included a new roof, new flat roofs, new balconies, new central heating system, new access paths, terraces and fences, the completion of the Garden Room, 8 ensuites, tanking of the hall and dining room, complete re-carpeting and furnishing and I could go on...... but I won't because you will fall asleep!

The access is described in detail on the booking information. The parking space at the front door was not mentioned which is much nearer.

The damp issues in the house have all been addressed after consultation with a Surveyor in November 2013. Everything that he suggested be done has now been completed. This included, amongst other works, the demolition of a chimney which was redundant due to the addition of ensuite bathrooms and therefore became very wet in the void. Air bricks were also installed, again circulation of air.

I provide a guest booklet in every bedroom. Inside contains the advice given to me by the Surveyor in which he suggested that windows are left slightly open at all times to introduce a circulation of air. As you so rightly stated this is a Victorian house and cannot be treated or compared to a modern house with its double glazing, wall insulation etc.

Steam is produced in the bathrooms, even if there is ventilation it does spill out into the rooms, wet cloths, towels etc., along with the condensation produced by peoples bodies!! This is what causes the musty, damp smell.

This house was a family home used by the Victorians and subsequent generations of families. When I arrived there was not a fence to be seen. All of these fences have been installed by myself. Any areas such as the terraced areas of the grounds have notices up to say that all children should be accompanied by an adult.

The house is regularly inspected by my insurance company who would not insure The Lynhurst if it was not safe.

I have, however, purchased two stair gates, which are available to guests if they require them.

Dogs are welcome at the house, but have not been there all summer, so I cannot understand the smell you mentioned, which has incidentally, not been mentioned before. However, after the season ends in a week or so I will of course shampoo the carpets, as I do several times a year as part of the regular maintenance programme.

I do hope that the above will address the issues raised in your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_wt8...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I got married here this July - it was an absolutely perfect place for a reception with room for a marquee and a great BBQ with stunning views.

I had my family stay in the house for the weekend too who also loved the venue and the area.

Definitely recommend for weddings and any other parties or even just a family weekend.

Jane the owner was also a great help to me with my plans and could always get in touch if I had any problems.

Would love to return one day!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kusadasi, Turkey
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and tranquility
Liked least: The steep climbs around Lynton.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ollywood...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Hairs from the previous guest were found in the bedding. We were promised a garden but when we arrived were greeted by a huge canopy which didn't come down for days. The tumble dryer had problems too. The owner wasn't willing to help with anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Getting out of the house.
Liked least: The bedroom.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
I gave this client an unreserved apology for a major blunder on my part, the first such instance in 15 years. This included the offer of generous compensation by way of a full refund or for an alternative booking at a time convenient to them. I also offered to accept 'out-of-pocket expenses'. Fortunately, reviews from all other clients of The Lynhurst since I first opened the house reveal markedly different experiences.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuey_loo...
stuey_looey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday ruined by nightmare owner (Jane)”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From start to finish we had a horrendous experience. Most of this was down to Jane's terrible organisation and incredibly rude behaviour.

Her mistakes meant our party had to split up in alternative, sub standard accommodation for part of our stay, some had to cut the holiday short and the children in the party where left without a garden to play in.

We were incredibly polite but no apology or form of reimbursement was offered and upon arriving we were greeted by a rather large aggressive man, whilst Jane hid behind him.

The house itself, whilst great for groups, with stunning views, was quite run down and wasn't clean. The beds in particular were quite disgusting.

Upon returning from the holiday we wrote a letter to Jane explaining all of the problems we had encountered but, again after no apology, we were directed to Jane's solicitor for any further communication.

We are a very easy going group of 30 somethings with 4 small children and all it would have taken was an apology and at least some small form of reimbursement. A couple of bottles of wine on arrival, a nice greeting and an apology and I wouldn't be writing this review.

We also later discovered that a wedding party that stayed at the house had similar comments about the owner and level of service, so it wasn't a one off.

Lynton and Lynmouth are lovely but almost anywhere else will be better than The Lynhurst.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Jane, the owner
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
I gave this client an unreserved apology for a major blunder on my part, the first such instance in 15 years. This included the offer of generous compensation by way of a full refund or for an alternative booking at his convenience, also to accept 'out-of-pocket' expenses. Fortunately, reviews from all other clients of The Lynhurst since I first opened the house reveal markedly different experiences.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice enough house shame about the owner”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We booked this holiday rental to allow a large number of us, some with children to get together and have a relaxing week. Unfortunately the owner triple booked the house with other guests and a wedding. We were told the day before our arrival when some of our party had already left. The owner did find alternative accommodation but was incredibly rude to all of us, was in no way apologetic enough and then brought someone with her who started getting aggressive with people in the group when they quite rightly complained about the situation. We got into the house 2 days late, but also the garden was covered by a marquee so completely unusable, the owners response was "so what?" Also one of the beds hadn't been cleaned properly and was full of hair

The actual house is nice enough, a bit run down but it is what it is. The heating can only be controlled by a text to the owner though which was odd? The problem was the owners inability to organised the bookings and complete lack of shame in what she had done. So if you don't mind a gamble on whether you will get in or not and like dealing with rude unapologetic people this could be the house for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
I gave this client an unreserved apology for a major blunder on my part, the first such instance in 15 years. This included the offer of generous compensation by way of a full refund or for an alternative booking at a time to suit themselves, also to accept 'out-of-pocket' expenses. Fortunately, reviews from all the other clients of The Lynhurst since I first opened the house reveal markedly different experiences
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
choppingL...
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderfully different-Great for a large group”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Ten rooms, so it sleeps 20+. The bedrooms rooms are slighly variable in quality but all comfortable if a little quirky. The public rooms - Lounges and Conservatory - are very good. Kitchen is well equipped and works very well for a large group. Overall it works very well and our group had a wonderful week in a beautiful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beuatiful Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Hi thank you for your review. You did mention in our conversation that the mattress on the four poster bed was uncomfortable. It is great that you told me about this as unless I know of a problem its obvious that I cannot repair or replace an item. No one has mentioned it before. The mattress has been replaced so I hope everything is now in order. Thank you for letting me know Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing