We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet little tea room”
Review of Lily Mays

Lily Mays
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a small, friendly licensed tea shop/restaurant. All our food is produced, wherever possible, with locally sourced ingredients.We have a large range of gluten free cakes and puddings, along with daily specials. We offer excellent value for money. We are very dog friendly and welcome families. We open every day. We offer a traditional Sunday lunch, gluten free available, with a choice of three meats and a range of traditional English puddings. Bookings are advisable.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet little tea room”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A really friendly restaurant with good old fashioned home cooked food. The waitress was so friendly and the chef was working hard in the back. We had a baked Camembert for starter which was lovely although so filling for a starter. We struggled to eat our mains after so much food, although partly our fault for eating so much earlier too.

The mains were lovely my husband had a steak and I had a Cajun chicken, which wasn't on the menu, I had ordered a peri peri chicken but they had run out so the chef came out and apologised and said be will do one up for me spicy. I thought that was very sweet and really out to make the customer happy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beautifulcollision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    70
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed an evening meal on Steak night at Lily Mays. The steaks were cooked as we asked and came with sides in generous portions. The service was excellent and the music lovely. We would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank infojingo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality, informal, honest fare.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Open as a tea room during the day and as a simple English restaurant during the evening. Very good vegetarian choice and a perfectly cooked rump steak for me (not vegetarian, obviously!) Chef/patron Rob was charming and chatty before more customers turned up and he had to return to the kitchen

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roryspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely steaks”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Enjoyed an evening meal at Lily mays. As a party of four we all enjoyed our food. Starters were plentiful and steaks cooked to perfection. We were so full that we only ordered one sweet between us.
Cafe setting but still cosy and relaxing, for an informal evening meal would recommend and would return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherryK31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and my wife while on holiday in Devon took a day trip to lynton and lynmouth. We walked out of one cafe in lynton as staff were incredibly indifferent to us even before we sat down. So we came across lily mays cafe the young waitress could not have been nicer only had jacket spuds and drink but was lovely lunch and great service. Next time we are in lynton we know where to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lily Mays also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Lily Mays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing