We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most welcoming stay in the West Country”
Review of Waterloo House

Waterloo House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #23 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The most welcoming stay in the West Country”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel is a real treat because of the unique and genuine welcome together with splendid food. Don't look for a local restaurant; choose exactly what you want to eat at the hotel. Location is superb in Lynton and the wonderful hosts will help you understand what makes North Devon so special.

Room Tip: If you have always wanted a four poster they have it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for this review. We have a long way to go to achieve the perfection we seek and it is good to know we are on the right track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We found Waterloo House by chance on the internet. We were very impressed with the hotel website and then when we arrived, we were taken aback by the friendly and warm welcome we received.

We were more than happy with the room we had chosen and were extremely pleased with the quality and excellent standard of the food we received in the hotel resturant. The breakfast was also superb !

Paul and Penny, who have only recently taken-over the hotel were very keen to please and we we very impressed with the extra little touches in the room (fruit bowl / fridge with fresh milk ? complimentry bottles of water.)

The hotel is very well placed within the area to visit all the surrounding sights and is only a two minute walk from the centre of Lynton.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and its very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Once again I apologise for the late response to this review. Until recently I had no idea the responses were so important (new to the industry). The comments are greatly appreciated as the restaurant is still being developed and I must be doing something right. Come back next year and experience vast improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had planned to stay in the North Exmoor area for a couple of days over Easter and booked Waterloo House at the very last minute not really knowing what to expect. We need not have worried. We found out on arrival that we had arrived on the opening weekend following a change in owners over the 'closed season'. Our hosts Penny and Paul were both delightful, with nothing being too much trouble and both were very keen to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and more importantly a cup of tea and biscuits in the lounge. The thing that we were both impressed with was the very 'homely' feel the house had, not at all like the various 'sterile' hotel chains we have stayed at. The house was a guest house/hotel yet lost non of the feel of a homely environment, somewhere nice to retire to after a busy day exploring.The accomodation was in keeping with the house, which was clean and well presented. We stayed in the room with the four poster bed, which had a bathroom en suite and whilst may not have suited everyones tastes in decor was more than satisfactory. Towels were changed daily without request and the room was supplied with mini fridge, tea and coffee facilities and a complimentary fruit bowl - a nice touch. We stayed on a b@b basis, with breakfast comprising of choice of cereal,toast, full cooked breakfast, orange juice, tea etc the list was endless - we never left feeling hungry and all of the food was prepared fresh, not sat in various pots and pans waiting to be served up. The house does operate as a restaurant and we did enjoy a fantastic evening meal, which again was cooked fresh and was delicious (Well Done Paul!).

PROS:-
Fantastic traditional customer service and genuine hospitality.
Really great hosts.
Very competitive room rates
Very clean and Tidy.
Great Food - cooked fresh with locally sourced products.
Great Location for exploring.
A five minute walk to Lynton cinema - thanks for the advice Penny, a quaint independently run cinema - you must check it out movie lovers!

Cons:-
There isnt any really, decor may not suit everyones tastes
There is no parking however the nearest car park is within throwing distance and is very competitive - no more than 100yds with most of our stay overnight being free or one or two pounds.
That was about it for ourselves.

Paul and Penny are fabulous hosts, working hard to get it right, which is what it is all about - that is what is most important - well done and we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: Phone up and speak to either Penny and Paul directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaronChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
This was our very first review and very welcome it was too. A bit late in responding but we have been so busy this year in devloping this business. Frankly we have also just discovered how important responses are thanks to a Trip Adviser letter. We are still learning this industry and business so its onward and upward from now on with the help of all our guests.

Thank you again Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.9 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Croft House
Croft House
#17 of 24 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sandrock Lynton
The Sandrock Lynton
#19 of 24 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Lydiate Lane, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterloo House offers peaceful, relaxed, child free accommodation in Lynton, Devon, for seasoned travellers and guests seeking old fashioned service, with the experience to appreciate it. It is ideal for the discerning seeker of quiet indulgence, and the restorative benefit of the incredible beauty of the Exmoor coast and countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing