We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterloo House

Waterloo House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterloo House
Ranked #22 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“An excellent find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Always a worry when you book a new hotel, just on price alone and you wonder what to expect. Well my partner and I stayed 3 nights over the Spring Bank Holiday at this small hotel (only 5 bedrooms I believe) and we could not have been made more welcome by the hosts Paul and Penny. Paul's cooked breakfasts were to die for and certainly filled us up for most of the day. Any minor problems that we might have had were soon sorted out and nothing was too much trouble to ensure that we had a great time.. I think any proprietor is thankful for feedback whilst your there as it probably helps them provide a better service for you and future guests. Much better than just having a moan on Trip Adviser. The bedroom we had was clean and very comfortable with its own fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Would we come here again - yes we will and hopefully before the year is out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you very much for this review. We do hope you will return. We strongly advise all our guests to carefully check our web site and contact us directly for best deals and price. particularly during the Autumn/Winter months when significant discounts will be offered. We currently offer superb value summer packages too for stays of FIVE days or longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
|Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Just returned from 3 night stay at the Waterloo. Both Penny and Paul were great hosts and very attentive. Breakfast was excellent and we were given lots of helpful advise about where to visit. Local area is beautiful with lots of great walks. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onedayatatime9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for this review. It is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

A great base to tour the local area. Near to a convienient car park and all the amenities in town. Very welcoming hosts who worked hard provide for our every need. The room was neat and warm. A good breakfast and plenty of tips where to visit. We'd recommend walking to watersmeet up a scenic valley, the coast path either side of Lynton - particularly near woody bay and visiting Mr Hursts statue at Ilfracoombe. The small quirky cinema in Lynton is also worth a visit.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank somabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank very much for this review. It is most appreciated. Penny and I are pleased you were warm and that you also founds plenty to see and do in the area. Do keep in touch with our new web site for news of some incredible attractions in the West Country from Dorset to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here for the Easter break with a groupon voucher. With the voucher it was very good value. Penny 'the owner' was very friendly and gave us some great tips on where to visit. The surrounding area is stunning and her tips were invaluable especially given we weren't familiar with North Devon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SorrentoSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
This review is unworthy of comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent an extended weekend at Waterloo House, and were nicely welcomed by Penny: a most pleasant hostess who shared her own tips and advice on the area.

However, our room was very basic and unreasonably cold. With only a tiny radiator right by the door, the room rarely got above 15 degrees. Luckily we brought our own sleeping bags and blankets, but it made it difficult to relax and felt more like camping than B&Bing. The ‘bathroom’ is no bigger than a wardrobe, has an ill-fitting carpet, doesn’t fit a sink and has no heater.

Waterloo House is in a lovely location, and the hostess is most welcoming, but unfortunately we cannot recommend it – unless, of course, you manage to book the top room and you’re travelling in summer!

Room Tip: Judging from other reviews, the top room is your best bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIssFrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
An interesting review given the fact that the guest was refused a reduction on the invoice because they made a mistake in understanding the terms of their booking. When you book online the cost and terms can be quite different then when booking direct. Unfortunately vindictive lashing out is the resort of the those not willing to accept responsibility for making a mistake. Incidentally, no mention was made of a cold room while this guest was staying. Interesting eh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Well-located for some of the best walking in the West Country, we stayed at Waterloo House for three days and found it to be an ideal base. Penny's welcoming pot of tea on arrival, served in the attractive lounge, was much appreciated and my delightful four-poster room was very comfortable. An excellent breakfast set us up for the day - and it was great to be offered some very good vegetarian sausages - thank you! They also have very fast broadband, which makes it easy to keep up with work via Wi-fi whilst away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLS-B777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Penny and Paul are very grateful to Simone and James for this review and for their complimentary comments to Lynton TIC. Exmoor is an incredible area for walkers, photographers and nature lovers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My partner and I have just returned from two nights at Waterloo House, having purchased a Groupon voucher for the visit back in October.
First of all I would like to say that I cannot understand how some recent reviewers could be so picky and cruel - I was horrified by some of the things that were written and really feel that, having been there myself now, they were just looking for anything to moan about.
On our arrival, Penny greeted us incredibly warmly and we immediately felt at home - she really is a wonderful host and cares very much that her guests are comfortable and happy there. After being shown to our HUGE suite at the top of the house, she kindly made a pot of tea for us downstairs and told us about the area which was great as we hadn't visited Devon since we were children!
I love the house - it's got so much charm and character. Yes, it was cold at times but that's because it is February and the outside temp was below 0!
Back to the room - it was so cosy. Plenty of storage, a roomy ensuite shower room, hot drink making facilities, fridge with milk, hairdryer, big bed which was v comfortable, as well as two armchairs in a little nook with a tv which were fantastic at the end of our long and cold journey. We also appreciated the fleecy blankets and hot water bottles which Penny left out for us!
This is the vein in which our stay continued - although we didn't get to meet Paul (we were in and out quite a lot!), it was clear that the two of them go out of their way to ensure that all guests are catered for, be it recommendations of where to visit, directions on how to get there, or where to eat etc.
Can't wait to go back and get to know Penny and Paul/the area better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hthomsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
What a lovely Review, and very much appreciated. Penny is a bit over whelmed and I am sorry we did not get to meet. Come back and we will certainly correct that. Do please, in a week or so look out for our new web site; I hope it helps to tempt you back soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.6 mi away
Croft House
Croft House
#15 of 25 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fernery
The Fernery
#9 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Lydiate Lane, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterloo House offers peaceful, relaxed, child free accommodation in Lynton, Devon, for seasoned travellers and guests seeking old fashioned service, with the experience to appreciate it. It is ideal for the discerning seeker of quiet indulgence, and the restorative benefit of the incredible beauty of the Exmoor coast and countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing