We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely but demanding walk”

Valley of Rocks Walk-South West Coast Path
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A classic easy 2.5 mile circular walk along a relatively level section of the South West Coast Path between Lynton and the spectacular Valley of Rocks. As well as the stunning scenery, the Valley of Rocks are home to a herd of feral goats and the rare Exmoor pony.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely but demanding walk”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We walked from and to Lynmouth to the Valley of Rocks. Event hough we had rain the views were magnificent.

All the way down on the little beach we got to hang out wit a group of goats, which was fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Husaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    11
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“beautiful england”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The walks to Watersmeet are breathtaking. There was nothing to dislike about the whole of this area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cyrena2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great to walk this route when the sun is out.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were staying near Lynton for a few days and had our dog with us. We decided to walk around the coastal path and the dog loved it. We obviously had to keep her on the lead because of the sheer drops to the sea but this did not detract from the fun of the walk. We saw a large group of goats and there were a lot of walking groups showing the popularity of the walk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“drve through”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We came on a tiny road used by Land-Rover safaris which was a fun drive (in our CRV) but had a £1.00 toll at the end and finished at Valley of the Rocks. Road was steep ups and downs and tortuous with impressive drops beside at times. Moon like terrain very different from rest of Exmoor.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tandemdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sheer beauty and a sheer drop!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have walked here on many occasions and the beauty of this place always makes us stop and take more photos! The walk into Lynmouth along the coast path is superb but a few people were put off by the cliff face just a couple of metres away from the path..what scenery. Our reward at the end of the walk...a few pints in The Rising Sun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valley of Rocks Walk-South West Coast Path also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Valley of Rocks Walk-South West Coast Path? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing