We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly staff in a beautiful setting”

Mother Meldrums Tea Room & Garden
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Lynton
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beautiful location and gardens in The Valley of the Rocks Lynton offering Great lunches home made cakes & deserts cream teas and excellent Tea and coffee
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We came here for our lunch and was very pleased with the food and service. We had the homemade chilli and lasagne and they were both yummy! We sat outside with our dog and then went for a lovely walk along the valley of the rocks - perfect afternoon. See you again, Thank you :-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    23
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“waste of time very dissapointed”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Overpriced breakfast, cheap ingredients (happy shopper??) tasteless sausage very salty bacon, the only customers and still it took too long to serve, no filter coffee on then 20mins to serve and cold !!! poor service no thanks or goodbye, only praise nice egg. Beautifull surroundings but can't rely on captive audience, if we weren't in a hurry and checked a bit more would not have wasted time or money and gone into lyton much better cafe's

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pottyboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch to die for”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A regular visit to have one of Jacky's superb Sunday lunch, ample roast beef, lovely roast pots and vegetables. Ladies so helpful and polite. Shall definitely return, always do
Always enough left over for a doggy bag!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pym61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but average cafe”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This tea room is set in the beautiful valley of the rocks in a very nice walled garden. There is a nice selection of cakes and we tried the cream tea and mixed berry meringue roulade. We saw a couple of people eating the roulade outside and they had generous portions but we were given a portion half the size so no consistency in portion sizes! It was nice though. The cream tea was ok but the scones were a bit dry. Coffee was not great either.
This is a nice cafe to visit if you are in the area but don't expect the biggest and best cream tea.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TogComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scone to Heaven!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

OMG!
Cream tea to rival all others! Light, fluffy and truly scrumptious.
Ladies so helpful and polite. Shall definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mother Meldrums Tea Room & Garden also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Mother Meldrums Tea Room & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing