We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the Crown!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lynton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunny Lyn Holiday Park
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Well what can I say - this camp site is in such a beautiful location.

We stayed for 2 nights for our first wedding anniversary. 19th July 2014.

We happened upon this camp site when visiting Lynton back in June on holiday. My husband booked the break away as a surprise. The booking was an easy process, and the staff were helpful and polite.

We arrived later than we expected and the reception was closed, however our information was displayed on a card in the window with our instructions of what pitch no and where we were located. Which I thought was really helpful.
Once we located out pitch we removed out cone which also had our details on a laminated card so we knew we were in the right place. (Although it would be hard to get lost as the site is tiny).

We stayed in our VW Camper on a hard standing pitch with electric. We had pitch no 19 which was right beside the river, what more of a beautiful setting could you ask for.

Once we settled in we went to explore the facilities. They were absolutely spotless.
There is a super little laundry room which also has an iron and ironing board for use at a small charge of 20p.

The extra little gem in this jewel in the crown is the café on site which serves breakfast from 8:30am - 10:30am. We tried this out and I cannot fault it. The food choice was fab. From breakfast sandwiches to a full English. And a full range of beverages.
We opted for the value breakfast which was £6.00 each. We were very satisfied with the portion size and the quality of food was fab!!

The staff in there are also super friendly.

I am so glad that we have found this little gem, and I am looking forward to returning very soon.
Thank you Sunny Lyn for a lovely stay and for giving me happy memories of my first wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bunchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We camped over the weekend in Sunny Lyn and have already planned coming back to this campsite. The site is small but with everything you need and the cafe does a lush breakfast where you can pick exactly what you like.
It's located next to a river that is and the steep sided valley makes it a really beautiful site.
The toilets are kept really clean as is the washing up sinks and it's about a 10-15 minute stroll into Lynton with nice views along the way. We liked looking at the houses along the way and seeing which one we'd most like!
The pub next door is unfortunately up for sale and not open but the 'Crown Hotel' is one of the first things you come across down the hill into Lynton and really nice.
We'd definitely recommend it as a base to explore Lynton and Lynmouth, we're planning on returning and doing the walk over the hills to Watersmeet next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rousieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The space for tents was quite small so not much space but the cafe served a lovely breakfast, it was clean & the staff were very friendly.. There's not much nearby but u can walk to the 'town'and there are shops, restaurants, a pub etc & the walk down to lynmouth was pleasant especially when you know you're getting the Victorian cliff train back up! All in all, a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cescandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We headed to Lynton/Lynmouth in the hope of finding a campsite with a spare pitch. We found this site, just outside the town and luckily they had one pitch left. It is only a small site, but the location is beautiful, right next to the river Lyn. The owners are friendly and very helpful. It's only a 10 minute walk across the road to the pubs in Lynton. We would have stayed longer but all the pitches were booked. We will definately be going back, but you will certainly have to book up through the summer months. The breakfast menu looks fantastic! The combination of the noise from the river and the local cider, ensures a pleasant nights sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJK_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Camped for a week in May. Owners are very welcoming and the site clean. Although the facilities are getting a bit old they are clean and well maintained. The weather was wet on and off with some very heavy showers but the site is well drained so we didn't end up being boggy underfoot.

The campsite cafe is very clean and does a lovely full English!

My only gripe is that the showers are very small, the lights in the gents showers didn't work after 9PM, and when the site is busy the hot water runs out in the morning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent a couple of nights here as a base for walking the South West Coast Path from Minehead to Coombe Martin. We called en route and had a pitch reserved with a traffic cone and our name on, so pitching was easy even though we arrived late. The facilities were spotless, showers hot at all hours, toilets clean and a nice touch to have a scourer and bottle of washing up liquid to use at sink (which again had piping hot water). The shop was basic but the manager really helpful, even opening the shop one afternoon when I needed some rolls. A small site set right alongside a river, a somewhat cold dip but it was April. Perfect great value site for all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

A lovely little camp site catering for basic needs, in a lovely location, camping next to the river, toilets and showers clean, staff friendly, overall a nice place to stay, check in was very easy, very basic shop but still has the essentials

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank linzbug171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.8 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Lyn Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Lyn Holiday Park

Address: Lynbridge, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lynton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being the closest campsite to Lynton and Lynmouth, Sunny Lyn Holiday Park is situated in a beautiful wooded valley in Exmoor National Park with the West Lyn River running alongside. Our Park is located within walking distance of both Lynton and Lynmouth centre's. Lynton has stunning views across Exmoor and out to sea and Lynmouth is a fishing port with a picturesque harbour. Both Lynton and Lynmouth have numerous shops, bars and restaurants. ​ Sunny Lyn offers a variety of accommodation options comprising: camping, touring caravans/motorhomes pitches, lodges, static caravans and apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Lyn Holiday Park Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing