We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Watersmeet National Trust Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Walked from Lynmouth to Watersmeet on a rainy day. Despite the rain we sat outside but undercover at the tea room. Very good value for money - hot chocolates were delicious. Fantastic views! The birds are very entertaining taking titbits from the tables! Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    71
    21
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great surroundings”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

set in a beautiful spot along the Lyn river , a good walk but definitely worth it , lovely cup of tea .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sara232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot that is picture postcard perfect”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great spot for a cream tea, shame its all self service but only a minor point. We had one normal and one gluten free cream tea with local whortleberry jam - both were delicious, but separate pots of cream and jam for the gluten free one would have been a nice touch to make sure crumbs aren't exchanged.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stale scones”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having enjoyed our walk from lynton and having been before we where looking forward to a cream tea and when we arrived the tea room had just opened.We ordered and received our special cream tea.The tea ok but scones at least two days old!If you intend to serve stale scones at least warm them up! At least the birds enjoyed some we did not!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Stunning location, good food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is set at the junction where the two rivers merge into one wide one this lovely building is in a deep wooded valley.
With seating outside either under cover, out in the sun the inside is a cafe counter and shop.
I found the food excellent and reasonable prices, this hasn't always been the case, but now is delicious, good selection and great tea served in a teapot with hot water jug and plenty of milk. The service was cheerful and attentive.
During peak holiday times it is very busy and can be packed. The rest of the time it moves at a gentle pace. It was very quiet when I was there and lovely with the sound of the river and song birds. Do watch your food though. Those little birds are the bravest I've seen and will eat your food before you do and sit nearby watching your every move!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watersmeet National Trust Tea Rooms also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Watersmeet National Trust Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing