We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for great walking in North Devon”
Review of Lee House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lee House
Ranked #9 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A good B&B with friendly and helpful owners and excellent breakfasts. We were there for two nights during which we did some super walking along the North Devon coast. The owners were attentive and knowledgeable in providing further information and advice about where we wanted to walk, how to get there, further options etc.

The bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfortable but I can't bring myself to give the full five stars because our room was in the attic and the water pressure was low, resulting in a weak shower which took an age to deliver hot water. So if you go there avoid the top floor.

Room Tip: Do go, but avoid the attic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolineinlynton, Owner at Lee House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We enjoyed meeting you and value your comments.

Providing the best holiday break for our guests is always our top priority and whilst we were disappointed we didn’t quite achieve the coveted 5 star rating on this occasion, we were sorry to learn about the low water pressure in your en-suite. It was a shame we weren't advised about this at the time, as we would have liked the chance to put it right during your stay. It was a localised problem, which none of our other guest rooms experienced and has been rectified.

We work very hard to give all our guests a comfortable stay and are delighted you enjoyed the other aspects of your room, the attentive service and our hearty breakfasts, and found our knowledge about the area helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to do some of the other many walks available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

Comfy bed, clean room, delightful breakfasts and friendly service. What more can you ask for from a B&B? The walk from the village to the Valley of Rocks - across the top and back around the coastline - is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Appledore,we were welcomed by Ken who showed us to our room. The room although not large was spotless, nicely furnished with everything we required and most important a really comfy bed. The bathroom also was spoltessly clean.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice to suit all tastes. Lee House is perfectly situated for exploring Lynton and adjacent Lynmouth.
Would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area, apologies Ken for taking so long to write this review (we stayed 28th September) but better late than never!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillyNewportGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Great place to stay when visiting the North Coast of Devon. The house looks modest from the outside, but hosts Ken and Caroline have made it very comfortable. They provided excellent breakfasts (especially the eggs with salmon), and were accommodating to American tastes. We spent three nights there and their dinner recommendations in Lynton and Lynemouth on all three nights were terrific. Our room and bathroom were nice sized. Only quibble was with the shower in our room. The suitcase heater seemed to be undersized, so less water coming out than preferable, but that was a minor inconvenience. Bed was very comfortable. The Lee House is within easy walking distance of a spectacular part of the North Coast Trail and the Valley of the Rocks, as well the cliff railway to Lynemouth. Good base of operations, and great value for the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

just spent a midweek break at Lee House and found it to be the best Bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. the rooms were spotlessly clean and comfy and Ken and Caroline were realy helpfull in advising where to visit; must also add the breakfasts were something else,realy good
fresh fruit salad and jogurt and then a full english what a start to a days walking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozzyandgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I have just spent a weekend at Lee House with a friend to relax and unwind. Lee house is a perfect place to do this, comfy rooms, superb breakfast catering for all needs especially important as my friend is a vegetarian and a warm and friendly welcome from Ken and Caroline. A great base to explore Lynton and Lymouth for quaint shops and of cause the cliff railway then onto Watersmeet for a cream tea, if you have room following your scrummy breakfast at Lee House.
We would definately visit Lee House again and will pass on the information to all our friends

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulagravy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Despite it being late in the season and only staying for two nights, we received a warm and personal welcome, which was just the right balance of professional friendliness and carefully considered organisation. A very pleasant environment was augmented by excellent breakfasts, with impressive attention to detail, including cinnamon sprinkled on porridge, particularly fine smoked salmon on generous helpings of scrambled egg, and freshly made fruit salad (that didn't include any tinned 'bits'). A really good breakfast is an essential part of a quality guest house experience and this was well up to scratch. With late summer sun highlighting the stunning scenery and much up hill and down dale exercise ensuring a good night's sleep, a truly welcome break with plenty of scope for repetition!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memorytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Lynton
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Lodge Guest House
Pine Lodge Guest House
#5 of 23 in Lynton
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Vincent House
St. Vincent House
#15 of 23 in Lynton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#3 of 23 in Lynton
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee House

Address: 27 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £83 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lee House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award winning Guest House and featured in the Independent’s "The 50 best B&Bs," March 2011. We are delighted to be one of only a few accommodation providers in the area to hold the prestigious Silver Award for providing exceptional quality in all areas and in particular in service and hospitality. Tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Lee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing