We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lee House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lee House
Ranked #9 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A must stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

From the moment of arrival we knew we had hit the jackpot. Caroline and Ken greeted us both like we where some long lost family member and where over the moon to see. What a lovely welcome after a long car journey in the rain.

They have all the time in the world for you. We soon discovered they have an excellent sense of humour too, what more can you as ask for?

The rooms are spotless and have everything you need and you are guaranteed a perfect nights sleep.

The breakfast is excellent, no matter what you chose. I'd certainly go for the fresh fruit salad, its 100% fresh not out of a tin. The cooked breakfast is faultless, perfect thick bacon, tasty sausages etc. I feel I must mention the coffee too, many B&B's offer coffee that tastes of water, not here. The coffee was perfect, so much so we had long relaxing breakfasts talking to Ken and Caroline.

If your wondering what to do just as Ken or Caroline. Ken said you could spend a week here without the car, plenty of walks and things to do. He certainly was not wrong. A must is the valley of the rocks. They are keen walkers so you can be assured there knowledge is second to none.

In summary if your looking for a B&B in the Lynton area then there is only one choice, it's the Lee House. We've been to many and this is the first I actually think people should know about. Hence my first review.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
200
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Would like to thank Ken and Caroline for making us feel very welcome with our short stay.
We were welcomed from the moment the door opened.
Both Ken and Caroline were excellent hosts, very knowledgeable about the local area and had many suggestions for things to do if needed.
The food was first class and varied, the room was clean, spacious and very homely.
All in all the whole experience was excellent and Lee house is definitely well worth the stay, and if we ever visit the area again, there will be only one place we will stay.
Thank you
Kay and Ali

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I attended a friends wedding in lynton and booked a weekend stay at lee house,well i have to say it was the best b&b that i have ever had the pleasure to stay in.Firstly and foremost i found the host and hostess to be extremely pleasant and polite,also very helpful with the local sites.If and when i visit the area again i will have no doubt as to where i will be staying,it's 5 stars from me and they are well deserved.P.S. you have to try their full english breakfast (it's faultless)

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet-comfortable and clinically clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This was our second holiday at Lee House and we were not disappointed, in fact better than ever. We were booked in for four days and were so comfortable we stayed seven. Our room was at the front of the house and had the weather been better we could have taken advantage of the balcony and sat in the sun. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and we were served a first class breakfast (cooked by Caroline and served by Ken) after a good night's sleep in the super comfy King size bed. Caroline and Ken make excellent host and hostess and the whole atmosphere is so relaxed. There are plenty of good walking places and we also took a couple of bus rides into Barnstaple and Minehead. Hopefully we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret186418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

What a joy! good hosts, good food great room.
execeptionally clean.
Superb food loved it!
Great location to visit North Devon.

We arrived early evening and we were greeted with a cup of tea and an biscuit before being shown to our room. We slept with out interuption no noise. Lovely comfortable bed. Breakfast exeptional and the tea was heavan. Caroline and Ken were helpful and knowlegable about the area. We spent a great couple of days out in lynmouth, ilfracombe and St martins . We visited Barnstaple and a great trip to Bude good icecream all round. A walk down the Bude canal to work up an appitite. Then back to Lee house for a wonderful hot bath and sumptious evening.
We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms will be great I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenP129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

A good B&B with friendly and helpful owners and excellent breakfasts. We were there for two nights during which we did some super walking along the North Devon coast. The owners were attentive and knowledgeable in providing further information and advice about where we wanted to walk, how to get there, further options etc.

The bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfortable but I can't bring myself to give the full five stars because our room was in the attic and the water pressure was low, resulting in a weak shower which took an age to deliver hot water. So if you go there avoid the top floor.

Room Tip: Do go, but avoid the attic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolineinlynton, Owner at Lee House, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We enjoyed meeting you and value your comments.

Providing the best holiday break for our guests is always our top priority and whilst we were disappointed we didn’t quite achieve the coveted 5 star rating on this occasion, we were sorry to learn about the low water pressure in your en-suite. It was a shame we weren't advised about this at the time, as we would have liked the chance to put it right during your stay. It was a localised problem, which none of our other guest rooms experienced and has been rectified.

We work very hard to give all our guests a comfortable stay and are delighted you enjoyed the other aspects of your room, the attentive service and our hearty breakfasts, and found our knowledge about the area helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to do some of the other many walks available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Comfy bed, clean room, delightful breakfasts and friendly service. What more can you ask for from a B&B? The walk from the village to the Valley of Rocks - across the top and back around the coastline - is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Lodge Guest House
Pine Lodge Guest House
#4 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee House

Property: Lee House
Address: 27 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lee House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award winning Guest House and featured in the Independent’s "The 50 best B&Bs," March 2011. We are delighted to be one of only a few accommodation providers in the area to hold the prestigious Silver Award for providing exceptional quality in all areas and in particular in service and hospitality. Tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing