We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lee House, Lynton - FANTASTIC B & B”
Review of Lee House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lee House
Ranked #8 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at Lee House. Ken and Caroline are the most wonderful hosts. The room was excellent. Comfortable, clean, everything you would want. The breakfast and the choices of breakfast was unbelievable. Breakfast slots so that everything was cooked especially for you. Nothing pre-cooked. There was as much or as little as you wanted. The full English would keep you going all day and the smaller breakfasts (your choice) were just as generous.

Room Tip: If our room is anything to go by then any room would be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed in this B&B on a three night break at the end of June 2013. We booked by phone and were given a choice of rooms by Caroline. She did need to describe the rooms as we were able to look at them on their excellent website at the same time as booking. The accommodation charges were good vfm and in line with what was being charged by others.

The room (Valley View) was spacious, comfortable, quiet, spotlessly clean and radiator warmth was available if we needed it.. The view across to the glorious Exmoor hills was splendid and we were not troubled by any traffic noise.

The breakfast was probably amongst the best we have ever had - the food ranged from porridge to smoked salmon all cooked to order and pleasingly free from unnecessary oil or fat.

What makes this place extra special is the warmth and friendliness of the owners Caroline and Ken. They took a genuine interest in what every guest was doing each day and were generous with their hints and tips. When we left they both came to bid us goodbye and we think they did that for all guests.

Room Tip: Elderly guests may want to avoid second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Myself and my fiancee have just returned from four nights in Lee House b&b and we had such an amazing time we didn't want to leave. Ken and Caroline are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Prior to arriving, I spoke to Caroline on the phone asking for advice on a few things to do while we visited Lynton and her suggestions helped us have a fantastic time. We arrived early and they were more than happy for us to leave our luggage and park the car in their parking area behind the house so we could venture into Lynmouth.

Once we were shown to our room, we were over the moon with what greeted us. The room was spotless, and furnished to a very high level. The bed was very comfortable, as soon as our heads hit the pillows we were dead to the world! The rooms are cleaned daily with any of the complimentary tea making facilities replaced ready to refuel after a hard days walking. The selection at breakfast was very good, something to suit everyone's tastes and even willing to take requests (scrambled egg with salmon on toast, without the salmon........ So scrambled egg on toast :-) ).

Next time we go to Devon we will not hesitate staying here again. The high level of service and such a great location make this an absolute winner and we will be recommending them to all our friends and family.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this great B&B in the lovely village of Lynton. From the moment we arrived our hosts, Ken and Caroline, were so welcoming. The room was spotless, a great size and had a stunning view. As for breakfast each day was perfect, with a fantastic variety of cooked options that tasted great. We would gladly recommend Lee House and will definitely be looking to stay here again.
Hannah and Paul

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lovely place to stay for short break. Good food. Excellent comfort. Go and come as you please. Excellent hosts. Stayed 14th/15th June. Came from Exeter. 25th wedding anniversary celebration. Thoroughly recommend. Parking available - a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What this cute little B&B doesn't offer just isn't worth having. From the moment I arrived to the moment I reluctantly left my needs were catered for to the highest of standard. Ken and Caroline are great fun and go over and above their call of duty at every level. I travel all over the UK with work and have stayed at so many mediocre places in the past, at Lee House however the welcome was warm and that extended throughout my stay. The breakfast was wholesome and hearty and would set Jeff Capes up for the day, it was cooked to perfection and served with a smile what more could you ask for. My room was cleaned to a military standard as was the rest of the house and I couldn't help but fall in love with it. I will stay here every time I visit the Devon, I would rather drive to my destination and be happy in the knowledge that I am in the best b&b in the County. Thank you Caroline and Ken. A very satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAURA0981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Ken and Caroline entered into the spirit of our celebration of our Golden Wedding with an anniversary card on our breakfast table. The welcome was warm and friendly, our room (east Lyn) was excellent with a lovely view, the advice on how to spend the time (not easy in a cold and windy June) was knowledgeable, and the breakfast left us wanting nothing else all day. We went to Lee House because it was recommended for coeliacs, and they certainly understood and catered for a gluten-free diet with good knowledge of the performance of local restaurants in catering for the diet as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 23 in Lynton
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 23 in Lynton
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Lynton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee House

Address: 27 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £81 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lee House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award winning Guest House and featured in the Independent’s "The 50 best B&Bs," March 2011. We are delighted to be one of only a few accommodation providers in the area to hold the prestigious Silver Award for providing exceptional quality in all areas and in particular in service and hospitality. Tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing