We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B”
Review of Lee House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lee House
Ranked #12 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Waiblingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“B&B”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

During our hiking tour on the Costal Path we stayed 3 nights in the Lee House with Caroline and Ken. The room was very nice, bathrom was "brandnew". Breakfast was excellent, especially the freshly prepared fruits !
Both are very friendly, make you feel really welcome in their location!
The house is very close to the restaurants and shopping facilities and in case of any questione you will be directed by Caroline and Ken in the right direction!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
203
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Recently stayed at Lee House with some chums, and had a thoroughly lovely time. Ken and Caroline are very approachable and helpful. The rooms we had were spotless clean and my bed was so comfortable that I had trouble getting out of bed in the mornings! The breakfast was gorgeous, and certainly set us up for the day. I've never been made to feel so welcome when staying at a B&B before, and it was a shame we had to leave at the end of our stay. We'll definitely be back. 10 out of 10 :-D

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is the 2nd time I've stayed with Ken and Caroline, I just love it at Lee House.
My last stay was last year, though it only feels like a couple of weeks ago.
Ken and Caroline make you feel so welcome and more than happy to make recommendations for restaurants, places to go, local events, etc. They really do help you get the most out of your holiday. Internet access in my room wasn't slow at all, but I do know that signal access can be a bit iffy in our beautiful rural parts UK, so I'm aware this isn't guaranteed.
The rooms are light, airy, clean, plenty of storage, tea & coffee facilities, tv, electric shower, towels, comfortable beds.
I must thank both Ken and Caroline for reading my mind. I really needed a room with a bath after spending a long week horse riding over the moors. One final word... STAAARFISH! he he

Room Tip: I have only stayed in two different rooms - 3 and 5. 3 has a little balcony, 5 has a bath. Both ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at Lee House. Ken and Caroline were very welcoming and they run a very efficient operation. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order every morning! The rooms are light and clean with plenty of storage available - plus tea/coffee facilities. The location is fab for all the local restaurants and also a minute walk from the cliff railway to get down to Lynmouth. We had never been to this area of Devon before but we felt in safe hands as soon as we arrived as Ken explained there was cream tea round the corner. It's the perfect spot for a few days away which is exactly what we wanted. Chilled and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just had a lovely four night break at Lee House. A lovely clean, homely, comfortable B & B with great breakfasts, something different every day. Ideally located to leave the car behind and walk from the door. Good eating places also within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at Lee House. Ken and Caroline are the most wonderful hosts. The room was excellent. Comfortable, clean, everything you would want. The breakfast and the choices of breakfast was unbelievable. Breakfast slots so that everything was cooked especially for you. Nothing pre-cooked. There was as much or as little as you wanted. The full English would keep you going all day and the smaller breakfasts (your choice) were just as generous.

Room Tip: If our room is anything to go by then any room would be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed in this B&B on a three night break at the end of June 2013. We booked by phone and were given a choice of rooms by Caroline. She did need to describe the rooms as we were able to look at them on their excellent website at the same time as booking. The accommodation charges were good vfm and in line with what was being charged by others.

The room (Valley View) was spacious, comfortable, quiet, spotlessly clean and radiator warmth was available if we needed it.. The view across to the glorious Exmoor hills was splendid and we were not troubled by any traffic noise.

The breakfast was probably amongst the best we have ever had - the food ranged from porridge to smoked salmon all cooked to order and pleasingly free from unnecessary oil or fat.

What makes this place extra special is the warmth and friendliness of the owners Caroline and Ken. They took a genuine interest in what every guest was doing each day and were generous with their hints and tips. When we left they both came to bid us goodbye and we think they did that for all guests.

Room Tip: Elderly guests may want to avoid second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 24 in Lynton
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee House

Property: Lee House
Address: 27 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lee House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award winning Guest House and featured in the Independent’s "The 50 best B&Bs," March 2011. We are delighted to be one of only a few accommodation providers in the area to hold the prestigious Silver Award for providing exceptional quality in all areas and in particular in service and hospitality. Tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing