We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and high quality”
Review of Lee House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lee House
Ranked #9 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at this very comfortable and well-run B&B in September. Ken and Caroline are excellent hosts - friendly, welcoming and helpful. They know what they are doing and it shows.

We stayed in the charming and quiet Garden room which is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There is a large and comfortable QS bed with high quality linen, nice bathroom, and good selection of teas. We particularly enjoyed our private garden courtyard which the room opens onto. The cottage garden is lovely - a bit overgrown but delightful to sit outside and enjoy.
The guest lounge downstairs is a quiet haven with comfy sofas, maps and books to read. It was particularly useful for a husband who likes to stay up late reading!

Breakfast was delicious with a nice range of choices beyond just the usual cooked breakfast - pancakes with scrambled eggs and mushrooms, and porridge with local honey were particularly good! There was also fresh fruit salad and butter in pots (not packets!).

We enjoyed our tapas dinner at The Oak Room one night and then at the pub at Porlock Weir the second night.

Lynton is a good base for exploring this lovely part of Devon, and we would definitely stay at Lee House again!

Room Tip: The Garden room at the back is quiet, and has it's own private courtyard in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbells05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Lee House for 3 nights and were made to feel very at home. When we checked out of Lee House it was to travel down to Cornwall and stay in another B and B. I couldn't help but feel we probably wouldn't find a place where we would be made to feel as welcome as Carolyn and Ken made us. The house is in an ideal location for exploring Lynton and Lynmouth, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the hosts are helpful when it comes to recommending good restaurants and walks. All these things u would expect from a good B and B but Carolyn and Ken add a few personalised touches which make this place a little bit more special than the rest.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guineapigjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at Lee House after a day on the coast path.
Caroline and Ken made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
They were attentive, organised and friendly. The welcome was pitched just right and we immediately knew we had made a good choice.
We stayed in the Garden Room which was spotlessly clean with a comfy bed and a charming little patio. We enjoyed opening the patio door onto a crisp sunny morning as we lay in bed waking up with a coffee. A great way to start the day.
The guesthouse is well located in Lynton being literally 2 minutes walk away from a handful of restaurants and the cliff railway down to Lynmouth.
The breakfast was substantial and good quality with Ken again getting the friendly chat just right. He was able to give us info and ideas about the area.
Quite simply this is a well run guesthouse with hosts that know what they're doing. Efficient but friendly with it.
We recommend Lee House and wouldn't hesitste to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devonpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Lee House a few times and every stay has been relaxing and more than comfortable thanks to the first class accommodation and quality service from Ken and Caroline. The rooms are lovely....clean and well equipped. Breakfast is delicious with a varied menu. Lee House is in a great position, close to shops, cafes and attractions but not far for some lovely walks to the surrounding coastline. We go back for a reason!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joscutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at Lee House. Caroline and Ken are the perfect hosts, they are there to give you advice on where to go, whether it be a good long walk or trip to the local cinema. Caroline cooks a lovely breakfast and Ken prepares a delicious fresh fruit salad. We were in room 5 which was at the top of the house, it had a lovely massive bed, with an ensuite with shower and bath.
Lee House is in walking distance of all the amenities in Lynton, there are some lovely restaurants, we particularly liked eating at the Crown Hotel which served lovely meals and is in walking distance.
We would definitely return, and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 5 had a massive bed and also bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleannhowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Thank you Ken and Caroline: a fine stay in a fine house with great hosting. We enjoyed our night of relaxed luxury after campervan and found the house, room, bathroom and especially local knowledge and guidance the splendid breakfast very enjoyable indeed. We would certainly recommend to others!
All the best

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rslipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just had three nights at Lee House. Caroline and Ken are so welcoming and helpful. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean with tea and coffee in rooms and the most helpful folder full of information about the local area, places to visit and where to eat .
Breakfast is lovely with a wide choice including a cooked breakfast which is not prepared until you order so hot and perfect for the eating. A must try is Ken's fruit salad which gets your day of activity off to a healthy start . The B&B is situated a few minutes walk from the cliff railway and restaurants are close to hand. The setting is peaceful and ideal for exploring all the local landmarks. We would wholly recommend a stay at Lee house

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeSimon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Vincent House
St. Vincent House
#15 of 23 in Lynton
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#3 of 23 in Lynton
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Lynton
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Hill Guest House
0.5 mi away
Pine Lodge Guest House
Pine Lodge Guest House
#5 of 23 in Lynton
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee House

Address: 27 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £83 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lee House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award winning Guest House and featured in the Independent’s "The 50 best B&Bs," March 2011. We are delighted to be one of only a few accommodation providers in the area to hold the prestigious Silver Award for providing exceptional quality in all areas and in particular in service and hospitality. Tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Lee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing