We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and peaceful”
Review of Lee House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lee House
Ranked #12 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing and peaceful”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Had a lovely weekend here with Caroline and Ken making you feel very welcome, even before you left home. Was a long drive down and were so friendly arriving and over breakfast, like friends had known for years. The garden room was comfy, clean, tastefully decorated, loved the wallpaper and small terrace. (Perfect weather too for sitting out morning/evening). Lynton and Exmoor are so peaceful and great place to view night sky, which makes you forget the background noise and street lights of home. Breakfast was delicious and generous, having tried both the full english and scrambled egg & mushroom pancakes. Also not sure how finished it with the mouthwatering fruit salad and locally sourced yogurts on offer too. Would recommend to anyone wanting a stay in North Devon with beautiful scenery to discover just a short walk away. Will definitely return. Thank you Caroline & Ken :-) Dan & Paul

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D-unit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
203
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

returning for the 4th time I can not praise this B&B enough. Maintained to the highest standards. Comfy stylish room and the 10 min walk to breath taking views is beyond all expectations. The fruit salad to die for go ken go. As for Caroline darling a wonderful breakfast after Kens fruit salad of course! See you very soon I hope if we can manage to secure a room for July! Cant wait to get back and enjoy all that Exmoor offers. Potter family

Room Tip: Ask Caroline for your best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenP129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Returning for a second time, I cannot praise Ken and Caroline for their warm welcome, clean and tidy rooms and wonderful breakfasts.

They go the extra mile to make their guests feel as though Lee House is a 'home from home'.

No doubt I'll be back very soon - to me, Lee House is synonymous with Lynton, and long may it remain so!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a super B&B maintained to the highest standards by the owners the delightful Ken and Caroline. The rooms are of a good size and the private parking a real bonus. The breakfast choices were wonderful with the full English being a real winner. If you are looking to stay in the Lynton area then look no further.

John and Linda

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent B&B in a very vibrant location in Lynton ideal for exploring the scenic town and Exmoor national park. Warm welcome and great hospitality by Ken and Caroline. Breakfast was individually cooked and very delicious. The room was lovely, warm and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Private Car Park in addition to road side parking. Stayed in the top floor of this lovely B&B. The ensuite bathroom was a little bit small and water pressure in the shower was very low. Otherwise, it’s a very comfortable and high quality B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned home after spending 3 nights with Ken & Caroline at Lee House. What a friendly, warm welcome to North Devon!

Our room was beautiful, tasteful, clean, practical and very comfortable. A great size, we could imagine spending a week there with no trouble at all. The bathroom was super-clean, modern and smart.
Great shower!

Breakfast each morning was amazing! Good choice of cereals, muesli, fruit salad & local yogurts. We sampled most of the cooked options including the Full English, Vegetarian Breakfast, Savoury Pancakes and Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs! All lovely, good sized portions and a great start to our day!

We were doing a smallholding course at nearby Hidden Valley Pigs with Simon & Debbie Dawson...which was brilliant by the way! Each day Ken & Caroline spent time asking us how we were getting on and spoke to us about the local area.

I would recommend this guest house to those looking for a comfortable base to explore Exmoor and North Devon. It's a home from home. We felt thoroughly relaxed throughout our stay. We will be returning very soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vblightpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Excellent place to stay in Lynton and to explore the great landscape. The rooms are spacious, modern and very calm. Individual breakfast, freshly cooked and very delicious. Warm welcome and great hospitality. Private Car Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 24 in Lynton
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee House

Property: Lee House
Address: 27 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lee House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award winning Guest House and featured in the Independent’s "The 50 best B&Bs," March 2011. We are delighted to be one of only a few accommodation providers in the area to hold the prestigious Silver Award for providing exceptional quality in all areas and in particular in service and hospitality. Tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing