We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Lee House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lee House
Ranked #8 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
SWINDON
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent 2 nights here this week. Absolutely superb. Very clean and tidy. really good breakfast with lots of choice. The view from the room was exquisite and Caroline & Ken were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely try to book here again next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: Room no.3 has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwindonMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
209
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Two things really stood out for me about our room at Lee House. The first was that it contained what I would call 'proper' solid wooden furniture (a full matching set) which gave me lots of space to organise my things nicely, so I didn't have to live out of my bag, as is so often the case. There was something really satisfying about arriving and unpacking into drawers galore! The large wardrobe must've had about 20 hangers, meaning we could hang everything up and didn't have to fight over who got to hang their things up!
The second was that the linen and curtains were a lovely matching set, and smelt beautifully fragranced when you lay your head in the pillows. It made for a really relaxing sleep :)

Delicious breakfast and lovely hospitality throughout the stay, would definitely recommend Lee House to a friend and we will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanfield_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent 5 nights at Lee House, we were very lucky in our choice as we knew nothing of the area , so we were relying on other reviews.We had considered other guest houses which were also getting equally good reviews, however, luckily only Lee House could take us for the five nights we needed. This was a stroke of luck, the room was lovely, very clean ,bed was very comfortable sheets lovely and clean. Breakfast at Lee House is something special, all breakfasts are freshly made when you come down in the morning and order. The choices are wide and varied catering for all tastes including vegetarian and gluten free. I suspect Caroline can cater for most any request if given a little notice. All produce is sourced locally whether you are looking for a full breakfast or something not quite as large it will be superb and you will be guaranteed to be set up for the day. Most guests will return to a particular place if the food is good, rooms are nice etcetera. However,arguably just as important is the welcome you receive. Ken and Caroline go out of their way to ensure that all of your needs are looked after, they were always nice and friendly and would go out of their way to try and provide any help or assistance you might need. We have stayed in hotels, guest houses in both the UK and Europe, Lee House met all of our needs, nice people, great food, lovely rooms, excellent location in the centre of Lynton. Lee House is a superb guest house, we could not rate it highly enough.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which fronted onto the main road, this was not a problem, traffic noise was pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Huish, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at Lee House and would highly recommend it to anyone. The owners Caroline and Ken were so friendly and helpful and our room was large, clean and very comfortable.

One of the main reasons I booked Lee House was because of their great flexibility with dietary requirements. They offer a fantastic vegetarian breakfast as well as a great range of choices for non veggies. The main appeal for me was that they were also able to provide a vegan option with vegan sausage, spread, soy milk and a home made sweetcorn fritter (as well as mushrooms, beans, hash brown and tomatoes). The breakfast was so good, although I had to ask for a smaller one the second day as the portions are very generous. My wife tried 2 of the non veg breakfasts (full English and Salmon and egg bagel) and loved hers too. It is worth noting that Caroline and Ken can also cater for Gluten intolerance and had a great understanding for any dietary requests without making you feel like you are being difficult. At breakfast for example, they had already put out a jug of non dairy milk for me without having to ask and nothing seemed too much trouble. There was also a freshly made fruit salad, cereals, yogurts and toast. The tea and coffee from a local supplier was also very good and the ambiance in the breakfast room was nice and relaxed with some background music.

Location wise, Lee House is perfect for enjoying Lynton & Lynmouth. It is easy to find by the main road going through Lytnon and very close to all of the shops and the cliff-side railway, but despite being on a road and near to the shops, there was no noise even when sleeping with the window open. The only noise we were woken to was bird song. Ken very kindly helped us to plan our trips and the valley of rocks, Lynmouth and Watersmeet were all a short walk away.

Room wise, the B&B was full and so we only saw our room which was on the top floor. It was lovely and bright, very clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a bath and shower and the room had great views across the fields. We did not hear a sound from any other guests. There is a spacious car park at the back of the property (although it is worth pulling up at the front to upload bags and then Caroline or Ken will direct you to the car park as you could miss it if you did not know where you were going).

As a tip, I would recommend calling to book, not only is Caroline lovely and helpful with any queries, but you can potentially obtain a better deal than online. When I called to book, Caroline also referred me to 2 local restaurants that offered a good selection of veg and vegan options. I was celebrating my birthday during our visit and was given a lovely birthday card by Caroline and Ken which I thought was a very nice and thoughtful gesture.

Overall, very impressed, one of the best B&B's we have been to in a great location. It was our first visit to Lynton and Lynmouth but we will definitely be going back and will stay at Lee House again. I would highly recommend Lee House to anyone looking for a trip to the area, especially if you do have any dietary requirements. Thanks for a great and memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We decided quite by chance to forsake our normal trip to the hills of Mid & north Wales and instead visit Lynton. What a winning decision. Not only have we found North Devon's best kept secret in Lynton & Lynmouth we also stayed at Lee House.
A lovely property and kept to a very high standard. We stayed in "sea cliffs" and feel we had the best deal with the lovely bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and room was extremely clean and well kept. It is clear that our hosts Ken & Caroline go way beyond just supplying a room for the night. Breakfast was just the best and thanks to the local knowledge from the owners we spent 2 long and lovely days walking in the area.
Many thanks Ken and Caroline and we hope to see you again in October, all being well.
Kathy & Mark (June 22-24 2014)

Room Tip: Choose "Sea Cliffs" if you like a relaxing bath in the double ended tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uplyme, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Brilliant !!! Had the most wonderful time, breakfast superb, room superb, Caroline and Ken really are the most welcoming of hosts and we felt we had known them for years as they were so friendly. Cannot wait to go back and enjoy Lynton & Lynmouth again, and what will make it even more special is we will have such a nice place to stay again. Parking is no problem so you can walk and enjoy the fantastic views all day without worrying about parking fines.
Everything you could ask of a Quality B&B !

D&D Lyme Regis

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After staying at Lee Guest House for three nights, we realsied it wasnt enough and are planning another trip there very soon!
Ken and Caroline were very welcoming, helpful and a joy to stay with.
We stayed in room 5, which was very comfortable, bright and with a great view. Room had an en suite and all the added extras you would expect. Breakfasts were fantastic, just what you needed to start the day!
We would recommed to friends and family, this is a lovely place to stay for a holiday in Lynton :)
Parking was no problem due to their own private parking.
Ken and Caroline were very helpful with advsing places to eat and visit. They always had time to chat.

Many Thanks to Ken and Caroline, hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#11 of 24 in Lynton
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 24 in Lynton
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#3 of 24 in Lynton
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee House

Property: Lee House
Address: 27 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lee House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award winning Guest House and featured in the Independent’s "The 50 best B&Bs," March 2011. We are delighted to be one of only a few accommodation providers in the area to hold the prestigious Silver Award for providing exceptional quality in all areas and in particular in service and hospitality. Tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing