We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST PERFECT”
Review of Ingleside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ingleside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JUST PERFECT”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

After searching for days for the perfect place we found it here. Keith and Diane are the perfect hosts. After sightseeing the most amazing views. Here was a peaceful place to stay just what was needed a lovely break to recharge the batteries. Breakfasts were wonderful great start to the day. Rooms were spotless and the bed was amazing. The room was wonderful too. We will definatley stay again. I could go on but well one word PERFECT thank you Keith and Diane :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazbot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

...though you will want to stay longer! There is so much to do in Lynton/Lynmouth if you like walking, taking the cliff railway and cream teas! ;) Our stay was for 2 nights, with breakfast cooked fresh on the Aga each morning. The Breakfast selection was the norm (cereals, cooked brekkie, toast etc - just what was needed!) with pancakes made to order (they're yummy!). I'm a foodie, so this set me up for the day!
Out room was on the top floor, 3 flights but it wasn't hard to access. The room had a high qulity finish, with ensuite bathroom- lovely. The room never too hot - the sash window saw to that. Great views over Lynton. Very comfy bed but my sleep quality could be improved by changing the pillows over - I find it difficult to get the right support unless the pillows are synthetic and don't require plumping (which these seemed to require).
Diane and Keith are very welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. Keith lent us a map with a recommendation for a short walk, which didn't disappoint. We also left our car in the car park on check out day so we still got to enjoy our morning in Glyn Gorge without worrying about parking issues.
Overall the Ingleside Hotel will not disappoint! With a great lounge for relaxing, jigsaws and books a plenty, you can be sure to have something to do in the rain (if you dont want to venture out!), and when it sunny there is outside seating to enjoy the Lynton village views.
I would definitely return to stay here :)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! The top
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosiepUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights as a weekend away. We were very pleased with the accommodation. We stayed in the Lyn valley view room, which has amazing views of the valley, its also a very spacious room with comfy arm chairs and a decent bed. The whole guest house has wifi, which is excellent as Vodafone have no signal at all in the area!

The location is really central and the cliff railway is 5 mins away, which takes you down to Lynmouth, which is lovely. There are a number of good walks around too,

The breakfasts were tasty and the owners friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be looking to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DobsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst attending a wedding on the Saturday. Diana & Keith could not be more accommodating, friendly or helpful. The room was fantastic, spotless, full of character and far better than we expected for the cost. The breakfast did not disappoint either. They could charge a lot more than they do.
We are already planning our next stay!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We spent 4 nights at Ingleside and we had the evening meals as well.
Everything was "top class", the food ,the environment ,the rooms, and Diana and Keith were delightful hostess and host, always willing to go the extra mile to please.
This was one of the best walking breaks we have had.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grooby186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The rooms are comfortable with an excellent bed and well appointed ensuites. The comfortable sitting room was a great way to relax and had a delightful jigsaw to tempt the relaxing traveller. The town is a two minute walk down the hill. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Having stayed in other guest houses in Lynton we found 'Ingleside' about 5 years ago and have not looked back. We visit Lynton with another couple for a 3 night stay every year and 'Ingleside' is always spotlessly clean, with excellent home cooked dinner and breakfast with friendly hosts Diana & Keith. Yes access to the car park is acute but if your up to driving in the area you will be OK. My pal and I love the bread and butter pud fantastic, I think Keith's Mum cookes it specially for us, well I'de like to think so.

Room Tip: All spotlessly clean, rooms at the front have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobbler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingleside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleside Hotel

Property: Ingleside Hotel
Address: Lee Road | on the side of Hollerday Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ingleside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ingleside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingleside Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing