We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ingleside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ingleside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

Just back from a couple of days in Lynton staying at Ingleside & would like to say how much we enjoyed the stay..Diane & Keith were excellent hosts,the hotel is ideal for the centre..& meals ,both evening & breakfast ,spot on

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southside58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

We have just got back from a lovely 4 night stay at Ingleside. Our room - Foreland Point - was, although a tad small, absolutely charming and perfect for a short break. Both the room and bathroom were spotless. Our room had a bath and shower but the shower is hand-held and the water-pressure was not great, couldn't be bothered with fiddling around with it so we resorted to baths, but this certainly didn't spoil our time there. The breakfasts were nice and filling - a perfect way to start the day and set us up for the days walking! We had dinner there one night and it was good home cooking.

The Guests' lounge is really comfortable and welcoming. There are plenty of books, puzzles and games to occupy lazy, rainy afternoons.

Keith and Diana are lovely hosts, knowledgeable about the area and keen to suggest things to do and walks to take. They are lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the country and I'd like to thank them for allowing us to share it with them.

  • Liked — Warm, homely atmosphere
  • Disliked — The ring around the bath when it hadn't been cleaned one day
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2007

We were delighted by the welcome given by Keith and Diana and the friendly and personal service they gave us throughout our 3 night stay. Our room was spotlessly clean, and comfortable with a spectacular view and through the hotel were personal touches, such as books,, local pictures etc.giving the place character. We didn't have dinner as there are several good restaurants on the doorstep but enjoyed the quality breakfasts.
We will return.

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2006

We stayed for 4 Nights. Room was excellent, Great Food. The proprieter made us welcome and could not do enough. Can't wait to return again next year.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2006

Had a wonderful stay at Ingleside. The rooms and linen were clean and fresh and I had a new ensuite! The hosts couldn't have been more welcoming.

There was a wide choice for breakfasts and the evening meals were splendid, all home cooked.

I really liked the area, lots of walking and the coast is spectacular, so I wil be staying at Ingleside again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2005

From the web site the rooms looked lovely, so we booked for a few nights.

On arrival we were hit by the smell of plug in air freshners, which were sending out over powering chemical smells in every room. Our room was adequate and clean, but didn't live up to the standard we anticipated from the website.

We were advised by the hosts that the front door shut at 10.30, and should we wish to stay out longer we would have to request a key.

Breakfast was 8.30 sharp, where accidently sat at a table allocated to another couple. This didn't impress the land lady, and she slammed our room number down on the table. Breakfast was adequate.

The hotel was clean, but totally lacking in atmosphere, and a touch regimental.

We have no plans to return.

Helpful?
15 Thank tabitha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingleside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleside Hotel

Property: Ingleside Hotel
Address: Lee Road | on the side of Hollerday Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ingleside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ingleside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingleside Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing