We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another super stay at Highcliffe House!”
Review of Highcliffe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highcliffe House
Ranked #1 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We returned to Highcliffe for a birthday treat for my husband.As always a very warm welcome
From Karen and Mike,this is a lovely house and breakfast served in the unique dining room
Looking out to sea with stunning views of the coastline made us realise why we keep
Returning.The rooms are all beautifully furnished and decorated .everywhere is spotlessly
Clean,such a special place to really relax and enjoy after exploring this stunning part of the world.

Room Tip: Every room at Highcliffe is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. North Devon really is amongst some of the most beautiful places. We'd love to welcome you back to experience some of the newness we've brought to Highcliffe House; from the new garden terrace to the lighter, brighter dining room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

This B&B is fantastic - the view is to die for, the rooms are beautifully furnished and spotless, and Mike and Karen are warm, friendly and extremely helpful hosts. Not to mention, the breakfasts are delicious - cooked to perfection, and the breakfast room looks out over the bay and Lynmouth below. Mike was full of useful directions for stunning walks and drives. The lounge is cozy and, if you're having a quiet evening in, it's well stocked with the latest DVDs. The honesty bar is a fabulous idea for guests to enjoy a quick drink when returning from a busy day or for a nightcap. Karen and Mike also helpfully suggest a range of local pubs and restaurants that offer good food (we opted for The Oak Room which does great tapas, and the Rising Sun in Lynmouth is a lovely cosy pub with great food and drinks on offer). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HB525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review and recommendation. North Devon really is amongst some of the most beautiful places.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome and a lovely cream tea. Nothing is too much trouble for this couple, Mike and Karen and their attention to detail superb. Often where we stay they seem unable to produce a poached egg how I like them, which is cooked so that the yoke is soft but not runny! This was no problem for them, and the breakfast choice amazing with both quality and quanity.
I can not recoomend this place highly enough and thank them for our lovely couple of days.

Room Tip: they all have a superb view and luxury furniture and fittings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived on Sunday October 13th at around 3pm to a lovely cream tea reception.

When we arrived we were shown the basics of the house & room by Mike then left to scoff cream tea's in the breakfast room studying the beautiful view down to the ocean and accross to Exmoore.

Our room (Myrtleberry) was beautifully presented and clean and offered a fantastic view.
The room had all you would expect of a 5* including large TV, Wi-Fi, bottled drinking water, good quality tea and coffee (with cafetiere and tea pot) and luxury bed linen.

Breakfast choices were exceptional and had everything from traditional english to fish. The cold buffet was also lovely with fresh fruit & cereal etc. You could have anything you wanted from the breakfast menu (I even mixed and matched) and you left your choices outside your room the night before, this ensured you didn't have to wait when you went down in the morning.

The facilities of the B&B were also excellent and included a stylish lounge where you could borrow DVD's to take to your room. The bar had seating next to a fire and included quality beers, wines and spirit's and the drinks were added to your room bill.

Our hosts were very welcoming, warming and also helpful recommending things to do around the area.
I have noticed a lot of reviews about Mike's unhelpful/negative attitude but I oppose these comments completely. Yes I get the impression he likes things to run like clockwork, but this is the reason why this place is 5 star! We had many conversations with Mike and we found him chatty, kind and helpful.

We will definately recommend Highcliffe House to anyone and will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a supportive and detailed review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Well what can I say I surprised my wife for our first anniversary and never thought our honeymoon could of been beaten in the UK "correction" Highcliffe House is amazing- we are still currently in the Myrtleberry room and its a fantastic big room overlooking the Bristol channel it is immaculate in every way-Karen and Mike are great hosts- Mike served the best English breakfast I have ever had and I look forward to another Sunday morning "I'm sure Karen cooked it" we will be again and I recommend to everyone.

Mike & Georgina Hicks 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikehicks11041985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We first stayed here at the beginning of July for our wedding anniversary and loved it so much that we returned again in August for another two nights. Highcliffe House is just such a relaxing place to be. We stayed in the Myrtleberry and Cleaves rooms and both were lovely, the Myrtleberry had the edge because of the French doors onto the balcony.
The facilities and little extras from Karen and Mike, like the clotted cream scones on arrival, bottles of water and tea/coffee/biscuits in all the rooms, really does make a difference to your stay.
Breakfast was freshly prepared and always delicious. The fresh fruit and yoghurt plus the excellent selection of juices surpasses some of the finest hotels I've stayed in.
The views across the sea and hills and down to the town below are wonderful and we lost all sense of time whilst there. We are thinking of an excuse to go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. North Devon really is amongst some of the most beautiful places - what other excuse is needed? We'd love to welcome you back to Highcliffe to experience the new features that've been added.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just stayed at Highcliffe House for a week. The house itself is beautiful and in a great position with superb views over Lynton and Lynmouth, the Bristol Channel and beyond. The rooms are a good size and beautifully furnished and decorated. We stayed in room Chiselcombe. The bed was big and very comfy with great quality bedding. I slept like a log. Breakfast choice is very good and plentiful and beautifully cooked. The breakfast room is a conservatory overlooking the Bristol Channel, superb. The two lounges are just as well furnished and decorated very stylishly again with great views. We had a fantastic stay at Highcliffe House and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it. You will find cheaper accomodation in Lynton but you do get what you pay for. I would certainly love to stay there again. The only thing I would mention is that Lynton is a beautiful old town but clearly not built with motor cars in mind. Highcliffe House has parking for several cars but access is via a very narrow steep road, can be tight to get in and out of. Didnt cause us any issues but may worry nervous drivers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. Since your review, Highcliffe now has parking for 10 cars, which makes our guests stay even easier than before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Lynton
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highcliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcliffe House

Address: Sinai Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £113 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highcliffe House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highclife House stands 600ft above Lynmouth Bay with panoramic views of Lynton, the Exmoor and North Devon coastline. This romantic luxury guesthouse is exclusively for adults offering Bed & Breakfast in a boutique style. Stay at this 5-star, award winning B&B where you can experience the peace and tranquility of this unique National Park with its wooded valleys, waterfalls, dramatic coastline and miles of beautiful walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Highcliffe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highcliffe House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing