We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Highcliffe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highcliffe House
Ranked #1 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I have just come back from a two night stay at the highcliff house, Lynton..
From the moment you turn up the steep little road you know it's leading to something special. The house itself and views are breathtaking, inside it is spotless, comfortable and very welcoming..the owner mike greeted us, showed us around and then when we were settled served up a lovely cup of tea with scones. We stayed in the myrtle berry room with its own private balcony overlooking the sea.... Breakfast was very nice, and nothing is too much trouble.. Also if you need any advice on local walks or attractions mike is the one to speak to.
In all honesty we could not find any faults at all in our stay here, and if we are ever in the area again this would be the first place we would call.

Room Tip: We had the myrtle berry room with its own balcony overlooking the sea, from what we could see this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Mike & Karen, thanks for leaving such a lovely review.

Lynton is becoming quite the destination with some excellent restaurants, cafes and shops opening up. This is one of the reasons Highcliffe House now offers breakfast only, the local restaurateurs are doing such an incredible job.

The views and scenery are as spectacular as always. We would love to welcome you back to Highcliffe House to experience the changes for yourself. And booking direct with us is the best way to ensure you're getting the best possible price for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Lets keep this short and sharp...

Positives...
- Absolutely lovely couple run it.
- Really accommodating.
- Spotlessly clean.
- Excellent breakfast menu selection and beautifully made. (even fresh croissants)
- Lovely views right across Lynton to the sea.
- Great homely, quaint & comfortable rooms. (nice personal touches - great lamp!)

Negatives...
- Nothing... I literally mean nothing! It was Perfect.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view. One doesn't but they will tell you when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen & Mike, thanks for writing such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It was our first visit to Devon arriving in from a long journey from the north west coast of Ireland. We couldn't have been more warmly welcomed. The decor, furniture and ambiance a treat. Karen and Mick have put their souls into making Highcliffe House a holiday retreat to remember fondly. the breathtaking views are matched with a delicious breakfast fare. Lynton and North Devon a must see holiday destination..(from someone who lives in one of the most beautiful places in Ireland.)

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a sea view to maximise the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryHireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. North Devon really is amongst some of the most beautiful places.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from a great stay at Highcliffe House. We stayed in myrtleberry, the room was large and had a balcony with fab views, the bed could not have been more comfortable. The breakfasts were great, amazing choices. Mike was a good source of advice for suggestions for walks and drives. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We returned to Highcliffe for a birthday treat for my husband.As always a very warm welcome
From Karen and Mike,this is a lovely house and breakfast served in the unique dining room
Looking out to sea with stunning views of the coastline made us realise why we keep
Returning.The rooms are all beautifully furnished and decorated .everywhere is spotlessly
Clean,such a special place to really relax and enjoy after exploring this stunning part of the world.

Room Tip: Every room at Highcliffe is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBestest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. North Devon really is amongst some of the most beautiful places. We'd love to welcome you back to experience some of the newness we've brought to Highcliffe House; from the new garden terrace to the lighter, brighter dining room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This B&B is fantastic - the view is to die for, the rooms are beautifully furnished and spotless, and Mike and Karen are warm, friendly and extremely helpful hosts. Not to mention, the breakfasts are delicious - cooked to perfection, and the breakfast room looks out over the bay and Lynmouth below. Mike was full of useful directions for stunning walks and drives. The lounge is cozy and, if you're having a quiet evening in, it's well stocked with the latest DVDs. The honesty bar is a fabulous idea for guests to enjoy a quick drink when returning from a busy day or for a nightcap. Karen and Mike also helpfully suggest a range of local pubs and restaurants that offer good food (we opted for The Oak Room which does great tapas, and the Rising Sun in Lynmouth is a lovely cosy pub with great food and drinks on offer). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HB525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review and recommendation. North Devon really is amongst some of the most beautiful places.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome and a lovely cream tea. Nothing is too much trouble for this couple, Mike and Karen and their attention to detail superb. Often where we stay they seem unable to produce a poached egg how I like them, which is cooked so that the yoke is soft but not runny! This was no problem for them, and the breakfast choice amazing with both quality and quanity.
I can not recoomend this place highly enough and thank them for our lovely couple of days.

Room Tip: they all have a superb view and luxury furniture and fittings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Broughton, Owner at Highcliffe House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

On behalf of the previous owners, Karen and Mike, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Lynton
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Lodge Guest House
Pine Lodge Guest House
#5 of 23 in Lynton
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highcliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcliffe House

Address: Sinai Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £112 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highcliffe House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highclife House stands 600ft above Lynmouth Bay with panoramic views of Lynton, the Exmoor and North Devon coastline. This romantic luxury guesthouse is exclusively for adults offering Bed & Breakfast in a boutique style. Stay at this 5-star, award winning B&B where you can experience the peace and tranquility of this unique National Park with its wooded valleys, waterfalls, dramatic coastline and miles of beautiful walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Highcliffe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highcliffe House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing