We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”
Review of North Walk House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Walk House
Ranked #13 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Welcoming”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Great views, good rooms and very welcoming hosts. We ate in the evening--fish cooked in the Aga. Beautifully cooked. The breakfast porridge was excellent and the full English perfect with top quality ingredients. Best I have eaten for a long time.Welcoming fire and homemade cake in the pleasant lounge.
Lynton/Lynmouth are charming. Quiet but a great walking base. North Walk House is right on the South West Path.

Room Tip: We saw 3 rooms all very nice with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Controlfreak71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in early September and had a fantastic time. Sarah and Ian were really welcoming and knowledgable about the local area as well as providing delicious food (although we didn't have dinner here so will have to go back to sample Sarah's cooking!). Ian's breakfasts were terrific and really set us up for the day. The honesty bar was great too as the pubs in Lynton aren't the best for a cosy pint or glass of wine after dinner. Our room was Framboise which has magnificent coastal views. It really felt more like being part of a private house-party than staying at a B&B and we will most definitely be back in the future. We've been recommending North Walk House to all our friends but I think we'd better stop or we won't be able to get a booking when we want one!

Good luck to Ian and Sarah with the refurbishment and building works.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here recently & as the reviews are so glowing, thought we would be ok in the small apartment which is self catering. To be fair, the weather was poor & we felt North Devon not to be our sort of place so judgement a bit coloured. On the positive side, the bed was comfy with lovely white immaculate sheets. There was a washer & dryer - very usefull but the rest of the place was not what we expected at all. Disappointingly it was very poorly furnished & a bit tatty. Also room quite dirty as well which isn't acceptable. Crockery dated & ill equipped kitchen really for 21st century. I somehow expected something more contemporary! The people running the place were very nice & maybe the b&b is much better but just be warned - luxury this aint !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sheenakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthWalkHouse, Owner at North Walk House, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for the feedback about our self catering Studio apartment, although we were very disappointed that the weather and area have coloured our guest’s opinion. It is always sad when the inclement weather means we need to turn on the heating in August, as we had to during their visit. We want everybody to enjoy their stay in our lovely house and apartment and try hard to make sure that people are comfortable. It is a shame that our guests did not bring some of their concerns to our attention until now. This would have given us an opportunity to understand the problems better, and to try and address them. It is impossible to correct things for a guest after the event; we would not be offended, only pleased that we are given the opportunity to make a stay more comfortable.

Cleanliness is something that we take very seriously and checks are made to ensure that the rooms and Studio apartment are very clean and fresh before guests arrive. We will make sure that our efforts are redoubled. Our offer to service the apartment on a daily basis was not taken up, but the couple and their dog seemed to enjoy their stay.

If they were looking for luxury in contemporary surroundings, I am not sure that this is what we illustrate on our website. The Garden Studio is comfortable, and very pleasantly situated with views of the sea from the terrace outside the front door. We are located in a beautiful area, one which many people enjoy. Personal likes vary widely and styles of crockery and expectations of furniture obviously do not suit everybody, it depends on what guests like. Please have a look at our website, read the description, and look at the pictures to make your own decision about what we have to offer. A phone call to speak to us directly is always encouraged if you have any queries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed four nights at North Walk in September 2012 in the Framboise room. The room is generously furnished (an armchair each, for example) with a comfortable bed and lots of nice finishing touches: bath robes, bottled water, home-made flapjacks replenished daily, etc. There is a breathtaking sea view from the bay window and an en suite with an excellent walk-in shower.

Three aspects in particular made our stay at North Walk one of the most enjoyable breaks we have ever had. Firstly, the welcome from hosts Ian and Sarah. They consistently seemed to enjoy having guests rather than simply regarding it as a money-making exercise. Whether it was Ian’s helpful advice in planning a day's walking or Sarah’s administration of coffee and home-made cake when we returned exhausted in the evening, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Secondly, the use of locally produced seasonal food together with the couple’s skills in the kitchen resulted in a series of delicious meals both at breakfast and in the evening. By asking guests to make their choices a little in advance of the evening meal, Sarah is able to provide an excellent range of dishes to suit meat-eaters, fish-lovers and vegetarians alike.

Finally, the location of North Walk means that as well as being a short stroll from Lynton and a funicular ride from Lynmouth, it is possible to do some glorious walks right from the door. We managed three full days of varied walking (coastal, woodland, moorland, riverside) without once getting in the car.

Overall, North Walk is the best B&B we’ve stayed at in the UK and the equal of any elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Was feeling very stressed and run down so booked myself and partner a couple of nights at North Walk House. Best decision I ever made. It was replenishing for the soul and I came home feeling happy and refreshed.

What to expect;

- Excellent quality food. All organic/free range/ local. Everything down to the table sauces are excellent quality
- Good quality ‘smellies’ in the bathroom- shower gel etc looked too nice to use!
- Clean room with crisp linen
- Sea views (and the sound of the sea!)
- Very friendly and helpful owners- we did feel like guests in their home
- A big table you share with other guests in the dining room which was a nice touch and helped you get to know others, share experiences and day out ideas
- Communial sitting room with comfy sofas
- Home made cake treats left in your room - always a winner
- 3 course dinner- spoilt for choice and was very yummy. Partner said it was the best beef hes ever had.
- Breakfast- so much to choose from I wanted to eat everything (cereal, museli,yogurt, fruit salad, toast, english brekkie/other hot food choices)
- Lovely local walks, with wild goats and an abundance of wildlife
- Town within walking distance, or get the cliff railway down to Lynmouth. Good chippy, restaurants, pubs, shops and things to do.

Owners Ian and Sarah- we know you’ll see this- we cant wait to see you again! Hope to visit again in the Spring, thankyou for a lovely holiday x

Room Tip: We had the Vert Or room which had super views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xJulesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

North Walk House deserves it's place is in the Sawday's guide to special places to stay - British B&B. We had a warm welcome, and tea on the terrace looking out down the coast. We stayed in a reasonably priced double with a fantastic sea view which was clean and airy. The optional evening meal we took one night was delicious, the breakfasts were excellent. The house is conveniently placed 10 minutes walk from Lynton town centre. We'd recommend the Oak Rooms tapas there. Lynmouth 500ft below can be reached by fenicular railway. Definitely worth a walk along the coast path next to the hotel. Valley of the rocks is a beautiful spot. Otherwise lots to see and do nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Arriving weary from our car journey from London, we were given a warm welcome from Ian & Sarah, baggage carried to our rooms and shown round the hotel. I was immeadiately impressed with the "honour bar!" Sitting on the side of a cliff overlooking the sea and Lynmouth Bay, a stones throw from the coastal path we knew we had arrived in heaven. Sarah runs a delightfully clean & comfortable "home from home" using crisp white Egyptian cotton sheets tucked away in the linen cupboard under the stairs. The two happily slave over their AGA to provide scrumptious organic breakfasts, which is sourced locally. They also provide dinners 2/3 evenings a week. Ian will happily suggest suitable walks for those who want to explore the countryside up to a day or an hour. There is a Victorian sitting room overlooking the sea with an open fire in the winter, games, books and TV for rainy days. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 243Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.0 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 24 in Lynton
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Walk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Walk House

Property: North Walk House
Address: North Walk House North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Walk House is a beautiful Victorian house in Exmoor on the South West Coastal Path, especially loved by walkers and foodies. Our ethos has been to create a warm and welcoming environment where guests feel relaxed and experience the finest quality food and wine in a natural and comfortable atmosphere, with original work by well known local artists and artisans. Our meat is all Organic and Local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your North Walk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Walk House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing