We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North Walk House a great place to stay!!”
Review of North Walk House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Walk House
Ranked #13 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Langham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“North Walk House a great place to stay!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

John and I stayed only for two nights - not nearly long enough!! Such a welcoming place. Everything was perfect, from the breakfasts to the evening meal. Meals are taken around a great big table which makes everyone talk to the person next door - great fun. We met some great people there. Sarah and Ian are the very best hosts, making everyone feel at home. Although we don't walk a lot I heard tell of some wonderful walks nearby. If thats not enough - there is also Rosie, who loves everybody!!

P.S. Our room had a wonderful view of the sea and sunsets.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be great - no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
101
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in a lovely single room whcih was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The single room has an impressive garden view of the steep and lush elevation and woodland pathway at the back of the house. Mom and Dad had a lovely twin room which had two large double windows, a window seat and unbeatable views of the terrace and out to the sea. Sarah and Ian are wonderful hosts and welcomed us with smiles and home made flapjacks to go with the speciality teas and coffees and hot chocolate in our rooms. The en-suite has a gorgeous rainfall shower, fab bath sheets and lovely soaps and shower gels. This was Mom and Dad's 4th visit and my 1st. There is a gorgeous sitting room with a very comfy sofa, fresh flowers in vases and sea views. There are plenty of books, games and maps and photographic history books for the local area. The house retains lots of original features and is a lovely place to sit and relax. The dining room with the huge farmhouse kitchen table also has sea views. We made the most of the lovely weather and had breakfast on the terrace on our last morning. The food at North Walk House is divine and I will be contacting Sarah for the recipe for the home made granola! There was an excellent menu for breakfast including fruit salad, yoghurt, fruit juices, Aga baked eggs, kippers, smoked mackerel, full English, toast and preserves, pots of tea and coffee and if you choose to stay for dinner, you will be equally impressed with the menu. I had sea bass with chilli and ginger and a sumptuous and velvety chocolate mousse. The wine selection is excellent and there is also an honesty bar. The area is stunningly beautiful and the other worldly Jurassic coast line and the Valley of Rocks makes for wonderful walking right outside the front door. Take a wander along the coastal path and see the wild goats grazing and walk down to Mother Meldrum's Tea Room for some home baking. Take a steep walk down to Lynmouth or hop on the funicular railway for a slice of history. The Cliff Railway opened on Easter Monday 1890! http://www.cliffrailwaylynton.co.uk/ Will I go back? Definitely! Should you go? Absolutely! You just need to decide whether to book a room in the house or the self catering studio. Thank you Sarah and Ian for making this special treat a memorable one! and it was great to finally see the garden path that I'd heard so much about :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya29band
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colyton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at North Walk House. Sarah and Ian offer wonderful hospitality - welcoming and attentive. The room was perfect with an uninterrupted sea view and the food, both at breakfast and evening meal, was excellent. The location is beautiful - perfect for walking, relaxing and exploring the area. We could not fault it in any way and are looking forward to going back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My partner and I stayed at North Walk House for one night. We had a wonderful stay and Ian and Sarah were the perfects hosts. It was like a home away from home for us. The highlight of our stay was the amazing breakfast which consisted of Aga baked eggs. This is one of the many things we have taken away with us (and tried to recreate at home). Unfortunately, it is not the same.

We would book again for the food alone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I loved this place so much I stayed twice during May alone! Perfect setting and beautiful location for exploring the National Park, the coast or merely walking in the nearby surroundings. Ian and Sarah are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and their cooking is supreme!
I highly recommend a visit to both North Walk House and Exmoor/North Devon. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have stayed at North Walk for six years, but have stayed in Lynton for much longer. We are keen walkers and North Walk House is a perfect location for doing this, being on North Walk which becomes the coast path a few hundred yards to the West. This means no passing traffic, so another tick in the box if you seek peace and quiet. The location is close to the top of the zigzag to and from Lynmouth, and a short uphill walk into Lynton centre. So all facilities are within easy reach, providing you are fit enough to handle a hill or two. If not, the Cliff Railway is nearby and you should ride on this at least once during your stay. Ian and Sarah are the perfect hosts, being welcoming and attentive at all times. Breakfast is excellent with a good choice, and my wife rates the smoked salmon and scrambled egg as the best anywhere! We prefer to eat in at night, because historically it's been quite hard to find a decent restaurant to our taste in the town. More recently things seem to have improved with new eating places opening up. There is a varied menu selection available, and I suggest you try the crumble, which I enjoyed each night of our stay. We managed breakfast on the terrace one morning when the sun was out and the sky was blue. A fantastic way to start the day. Meals are served round a large farmhouse table, so you have the opportunity to talk to other guests, something we quite enjoy doing. The rooms are very good with all the usual facilities, and Ian & Sarah are working through with upgrades, year on year. The views across the Bristol Channel are excellent from a very high vantage point, and Foreland Point/Countisbury is over to the East. Lynton is a walkers paradise with a vast selection of coastal, moorland or river valley walks. We reckon it must rank amongst the best locations for walking in the UK, for this diversity. Take the bus (service no 300 Minehead) and get off at County Gate to enjoy some of the best walks Exmoor can offer. The bus is a part open topped vehicle (previously a double decker) when the weather permits, and is well worth doing. Timed at 11.00hrs from Lyndale car park, it's probably half an hour later than ideal, but that's manageable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Loved the 2 night stay at this lovely B&B... The owners, Ian and Sarah, are very helpful, friendly, and jovial. We absolutely loved the place and their company. Both of them are very caring and excellent in cooking. The views from the lounge and garden area are unparalleled and simply awesome. I worldly highly recommend this B&B to everyone - fully satisfied customer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirishNayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Walk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Walk House

Property: North Walk House
Address: North Walk House North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Walk House is a beautiful Victorian house in Exmoor on the South West Coastal Path, especially loved by walkers and foodies. Our ethos has been to create a warm and welcoming environment where guests feel relaxed and experience the finest quality food and wine in a natural and comfortable atmosphere, with original work by well known local artists and artisans. Our meat is all Organic and Local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your North Walk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Walk House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing