We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely impeccable service”
Review of North Walk House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Walk House
Ranked #13 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely impeccable service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I can only wholeheartedly recommend this b&b. Its rooms are tastefully decorated and some of them have a stunning view on Bristol Channel. On a clear day you can see all the way to Wales!
Sarah and Ian are wonderful hosts always ready to help and advise. The breakfasts are varied and keep you going well into lunchtime. On days when dinner is served, you should not miss it. Succulent dishes are mostly based on local and organic produce. Glutenfree guests feel wonderfully treated here and other dietary requests are catered for.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PekkaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at North Walk House - a lovely Victorian house impressively furnished with every comfort and query catered for. The food was delicious, the bed luxurious (need a duvet like this) fab coastal walks, one starting from Ian & Sarah's garden, a terrace of bright flowers overlooking the sea - generous and welcoming hosts. Lots to explore in this area. We'll be back and hope it will be soon.

Room Tip: Our room was a generous size with lovely views of the sea. The bathroom was modern & well equipp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD99_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We only stayed one night but will definitely return for longer next time. Very homely with great character and country style - the photos on the website are a good guide. Rooms are clean, well appointed and a reasonable size - we stayed in the smallest which had a double aspect and did not feel cramped at all. Sarah bakes wonderful treats which you find left in your room or served with tea and her home made granola at breakfast is the best we've ever tasted. Breakfast (cooked by Ian with organic eggs & bacon) is served communal style at a large kitchen table overlooking the hillside garden and Lynmouth Bay. The views are spectacular - the whole place is truly a little gem - it's more like being at home except that you're away (if you see what I mean!). Definitely on our top ten places of anywhere we've stayed recently.

Room Tip: Vert / Or although smaller, has a a great double aspect overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianarayfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just back from 3 nights in North Walk House and I wanted to pinch the duvet. These were the best 3 nights sleep I've had in a long time in the cosiest bed imaginable. So excellent nights ... and excellent days walking on Exmoor and the coast path and a fascinating morning with the Exmoor Explore tour when we saw a huge stag and a buzzard and had a wonderful time. Thank you, Sarah & Ian for a great weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. The full sea views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianarayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived on 24th September for a 5 day family holiday. The welcome was very warm and friendly and continued throughout our stay. We also had the family black Labrador, Bailey with us who really enjoyed his stay!! We cannot express how much we loved this place, Sarah and Ian, the owner's, were brilliant hosts, nothing was too much trouble and we will definitely return in 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneTolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Why this establisment is no 25 is beyond me. Its location is ideal, on the coast path. The fine accomodation is informal, warm & welcoming. The hosts go out of their way to ensure you feel at home andhave everting you need. Breakfast & Dinner are provided if required and all the food is locally sourced. We had a sea view, 5 ft bed, en suite, tea & cake on arrival. Free wifi and car parking and you can leave the car if you wish because Lynton & Lynmouth are easily reached on foot and you take the cliff railway if you wish. This is the place, don,t say you wern,t told.

Room Tip: Phone direct for the best deal, not the internet booking agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cousteaucalypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I agree with most of the other reviews, very nice room, free wi-fi, great breakfast and the evening meal was well worth paying for, lovely fresh food and beautifully presented. The walk from the hotel along the path to the Valley of the Rocks before the evening meal was spectacular and well worth the effort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkey_Baster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.0 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 24 in Lynton
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Walk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Walk House

Property: North Walk House
Address: North Walk House North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Walk House is a beautiful Victorian house in Exmoor on the South West Coastal Path, especially loved by walkers and foodies. Our ethos has been to create a warm and welcoming environment where guests feel relaxed and experience the finest quality food and wine in a natural and comfortable atmosphere, with original work by well known local artists and artisans. Our meat is all Organic and Local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your North Walk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Walk House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing