We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!”
Review of St. Vincent House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Vincent House
Ranked #13 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Hosts were very welcoming and the guesthouse was incredibly dog friendly! Very useful if you want to go walking with your dog. Rooms were very clean, well kept and cosy. The house has a lovely feel to it. Breakfast was amazing, homemade bread and homemade fruit compote. All food was sourced locally and good quality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure looking after Logan. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We intended to stay here for a couple of nights for a birthday weekend away. Unfortunately the day before, there were unprecedented levels of snow in the South West. The A39 into Lynmouth was closed, as were most of the smaller roads in the area. As the met office issued an amber alert and recommended cancelling all non-essential travel, and as more snow was forecast for the following days, we had to cancel our trip.

In such unusual and extreme circumstances we would have expected some understanding from the owners. We tried to rearrange our stay for another weekend when we could safely get there, but this was unacceptable to the owners (despite being mostly unbooked for the following months) and we had to pay 100% cancellation fee, which was the total cost of the booking.

This total lack of understanding and empathy from the owners is very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aled B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
We are sorry that the guests felt dissatisfied as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We do feel, however, that the cancellation was made unreasonably late.

We were surprised that the booking had not been cancelled in the days before arrival in view of the weather forecast, but having spoken on the phone with the guests in the morning of the arrival day, they told us that they would be coming and we discussed a route which would enable them to reach us. We made final preparations, such as lighting the fire in the lounge and turning up the central heating. The guests then decided not to come and cancelled 3 hours before they were due to arrive.
It was unfortunate for the guests that they had booked through an agency which takes full payment rather than with us, where a one night deposit is taken, which can be transferred at our discretion.

Peter and Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Very nice hosts Peter and Daphne (and their cute dog). We stayed in the Orion room, overlooking the little garden, very comfortable. We ate dinner there one evening and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Orion room was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. Hope to see you again. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

For a comfortable stay in Lynton: clean and comfy rooms, good food - homemade bread and icecream - and very helpful and hospitable hosts - there is no need to look further... Thank you Daphne and Peter!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumthemarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
We are both glad that you had a lovely stay. Hoping that we shall see you again. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Peter and Daphne who made us tea on our arrival and sat us in front of a nice open fire. Just what we needed after a rainy day driving down!
Our room, Victory was everything we expected and it was such a luxury being away and having time to appreciate a bath. The room was warm and had plenty of character and was very quiet (no street noise at all). Just off the main road we found it easy to find (driving up from Lynmouth it was easy to spot) and did not need a sat nav. Peter's breakfasts were delicious (especially the confit de fruits - yum yum!) There was plenty to see and do in Lynton especially if you are a walker and Peter & Daphne were very informative about local walks and wildlife. There is also a folder in the rooms advising local walks, duration and ease of walk etc - very helpful. Although we do not have a dog - four legged friends are also made extremely welcome here and this added to the atmosphere.All in all a very enjoyable stay with very gracious hosts. We also found the people of Lynton extremely friendly. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: If you like to have a bath choose Victory or Irrestible. Although right at the top of the house it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
We are both so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Many years ago I happened to drive along the A38 from Barnstaple to Bristol and looked down on Lynton and Lynmouth. That brief view made me promise myself that, one day I would return and stay. Luckily, we booked the St Vincent purely by chance. The twin towns are wonderful places and our stay at St Vincent only served to enhance the experience.

Other recent reviewers have already commended the warmth of the welcome, the absolute cleanliness of the rooms, the helpfulness of Peter and Daphne, the comfort of the beds and the excellence of the breakfasts. And all I can do is add my agreement. Everything is just as it should be.

It really is such a pleasure to stay in a place where you get such personal treatment rather than the 'just another customer' approach of bigger (and some smaller) hotels.

Like LouiseB, we stayed in 'Irresistible' . Daphne is mortified that the spelling on the tag of the door key is incorrect but this dates from before her time and, quite frankly, is probably the only fault to be found with the place! The bed is huge, comfortable and wonderfully snug and the en suite bath is equally large, warm and inviting. The centre piece of the house, a beautiful georgian staircase, is a positive pleasure to climb!

The whole atmosphere is very relaxed and we enjoyed our stay immensely. A real quality experience from first to last.

Room Tip: Not a room tip, but do try the Cinema in Lynton. It doesn't matter what the film is, the pleasur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
We are both very glad that you had a great time. Some useful tips for other guests.
Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Welcoming hosts, who were friendly and attentive but not over the top or too intrusive. On arrival, Peter took us and our luggage to our room and then made us a cup of tea, which was lovely after our journey and which firmly placed the emphasis on a warm welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were holidaying with our 5 yr old son and a special effort was made to accommodate him, for example, toast 'soldiers' with his breakfast. He certainly felt at home as he wanted to go downstairs in the morning to watch Cbeebies on the TV in the guest lounge on his own! Breakfast was great. Our poached eggs were perfectly cooked and together with the fresh home bread, yoghurt and fresh fruit and dried compote, made breakfast a real treat. A good, comfortable B&B, which offers lovely breakfasts and friendly hosts.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Cbeebies certainly seemed to be a hit! Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#12 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent House

Property: St. Vincent House
Address: St. Vincent Castle Hill Market Street | North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Vincent House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to St. Vincent Guest House where Emma and Michael invite you to enjoy English hospitality in the comfort of their elegant Georgian grade II listed home. The hotel has comfortable and atmospheric bedrooms, six ensuite and one with a private shower room. All rooms are individually styled. Log fire. Cottage garden. Close to coastal path. Terrific value for money. Genuine hospitality. Non smoking. Children welcome but no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Vincent House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing