We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Vincent House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Vincent House
Ranked #14 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
New Milton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Despite arriving rather later than we said we would, we still received a warm welcome from Peter and Daphne.
Property is located in centre of Lynton, easy to find and near amenities. Some on-street free parking is available directly outside although you may have to use paid public car park if you're not using your car during the day and can't get a free-space (Peter and Daphne can offer a discounted ticket).
Period property is very pretty and is in-keeping with Lynton. Room (ours was 'Irresistable') was well equipped with comfortable bed and kept very clean. En-suite bathroom more functional than luxurious.
Good choice of breakfast, well prepared using local produce and tasty fresh home-made bread.
Peter and Daphne were most welcoming, gave good travel advice and keen and willing 'to go the extra mile' for us. We would visit St Vincent House again and would definately recommend to others.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are both very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
74
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We wanted somewhere to stay on our way back from Cornwall to London, with our dog, to stop over for one night. I found this place when looking at Lynton (my mum had recommended the Valley of the Rocks, which is beautiful!) and am glad I did. Very friendly hosts and very dog-friendly, as well as a lovely characterful period building with nice decoration and everything you could need in a b&b. It seemed a shame to only stay one night as it was a great place and a great area to explore (Exmoor is right there, the Valley of the Rocks, Lynmouth, Watersmeet, etc..). The place is also licensed, with a good selection of drinks and a nice lounge, so you can drink back home if you want. We ate at Lily May's restaurant about a minute walk away which was also great - dog-friendly and delicious food (homemade pies).

Room Tip: Downstairs room (Prince George) might be a little noisier than others if the place is full, but soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope that you can stay a little longer next time - we will be pleased to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moseley, Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Booked a night at the St Vincent at short notice. Didn't do as much research as usual.
Nice old house in the centre of Lynton. On booking we were asked what time we were going to arrive. When we said 7pm we were told they usually did check in from 2pm to 6pm. We duly arrived at 7pm to a friendly greeting from Daphne. We were told not to bring any of our own alcohol into our room, not to use any hair products that might stain the bed linen and not to arrive at breakfast at the same time as the other guests. Our room the Prince George was immediately off the hall and hence felt public. We found ourselves whispering. The room was ok, rather compact and lacking any finesse e.g. disposable plastic glasses in the bathroom. We couldn't get the TV to work. At breakfast there were 2 other couples and another 2 groups arrived shortly after us. Daphne appeared and said. I told you not to do this and all come at the same time. The breakfast was good if a bit chaotic with orders mixed up. When full they really need extra help to serve breakfast. Is in reality a guest house.

Room Tip: Do not book the Prince George room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneRHARVEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are both sorry that your stay at St. Vincent House was less enjoyable than we would have liked. It is a pity that you did not mention any of the issues that you have highlighted during your stay. The television, which was mentioned when you were leaving, was found to be working perfectly. It is not possible to hear conversations occurring within Prince George outside. We are sure that each of these problems could have been rectified if they had been mentioned at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

After searching the internet for a weekend get away with our dog we finally found St Vincent House in the lovely village of Lynton. Daphne and Peter were brilliant hosts - making us feel very welcome - nothing too much trouble for them. Everything you needed was there to hand and if not I am sure they would have found it for us. Lovely clean rooms, breakfast cooked to order and very filling . We will be back - thank you both

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

From the moment of arriving I felt at home. Peter and his wife were most welcoming and friendly and could not have been more helpful and considerate with a wealth of local knowledge they were eager to share. The room was clean, airy and well maintained. The breakfast, included in the price, first rate. I cannot say one bad thing about this guest house, superbly located to explore the area of Lynton and Lynmouth and surrounding area. Even their dog was friendly !! Booked for one night, stayed for two..........Thanks for a great stay - well done !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lofty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to chat with you and we very much hope that we will see you again. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

As regular visitors to Lynton we were in need of a dog friendly guest house as our previous accommodation no longer accepts dogs. This was a special long weekend visit to celebrate my wife's birthday and from the moment of our arrival we were made to feel like old friends. We had booked the ground floor "Prince George" room which proved most useful when our jack russell terrier Millie need to go out at 6.00am! Breakfasts can only be described as "sumptuous" a truly "all day breakfast" as you don't need another meal until dinner time. A speciality of the establishment is the home made bread and the home made ice cream - the latter is probably the best that I have ever eaten. As the St Vincent House provides evening meals if ordered in advance, this meant that we could eat in, secure in the knowledge that our little dog was only a few steps away across the hall.

Car parking can be a problem in Lynton but we never had any problems in securing on-street parking only a few yards away. For visitors who, like us, have national bus passes the bus stop for buses to Barnstaple, Ilfracombe and Minehead (via Lynmouth) is only 100 yards away. The trip to Minehead is particularly spectacular along the moorland road which follows the coast for much of the way.

We will make the St Vincent House our regular "port of call" when visiting North Devon and we are really looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Prince George is ideal for dog owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philbennett1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Recently returned from a 6 night stay at St Vincent House. We were made to feel welcome from our arrival when, despite the rain, Peter had saved a parking space for us and helped with our considerable baggage. Peter and Daphne (and Zak the dog) proved to be good hosts, our room Colussus and the bed were very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. St Vincent House is in the centre of Lynton, close to the Cliff Railway, and on 2 days, we were able to enjoy good walks with our dogs without using the car at all. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4622steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again. You will be very welcome. Peter, Daphne and Zak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
South View B&B
South View B&B
#10 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent House

Property: St. Vincent House
Address: Market Street | North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Vincent House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to St. Vincent Guest House where Emma and Michael invite you to enjoy English hospitality in the comfort of their elegant Georgian grade II listed home. The hotel has comfortable and atmospheric bedrooms, six ensuite and one with a private shower room. All rooms are individually styled. Log fire. Cottage garden. Close to coastal path. Terrific value for money. Genuine hospitality. Non smoking. Children welcome but no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Vincent House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing