We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can we say!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Vincent House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Vincent House
Ranked #16 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What can we say!!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had previously stayed at St Vincent House when it was run by different owners. Had a much better time back then. Given a very warm welcome by Peter and made to feel at home. Room was ok and had a roll top bath. Couldn't get the hand held shower to work at a suitable temperature so had to just run a bath where the hot water was scalding. Breakfast was an adventure. Breakfast was from 8.30 am to 9.30 am. We were asked to try to stagger times with other guests so that we didn't cause too much of a problem with so many people ordering breakfast in one go. We went down just after nine and there were two other couples having breakfast but then we were followed by a family of three and another couple. Daphne commented that we had done exactly what she had asked us not to do!!! Breakfast itself (once the correct orders were given to the right person) was fab. The day we were due to leave breakfast was just as chaotic as the previous day so we decided to go for a walk once we finished our breakfast to allow them time to finish serving breakfast for the other guests and then come back and pay once breakfast was over and done with. We left our bags in the room and popped up to the shop for a paper.Came back and Peter was in the garden and Daphne was by the door. We were greeted with the words "We thought you had left without paying". They had also been up to the room to check!! We collected our bags and paid our bill and left. Sadly we wont be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. The bath and shower fitting are the same as they would have been on your previous stay and we would have been happy to explain how to achieve a satisfactory temperature with the shower. There is a warning about the very hot water.
We now operate 2 more rooms than when you last stayed and this does sometimes cause some problems at breakfast if all our guests arrive at once. The comment was said in a light- hearted way and we are sorry if you were upset by this. Perhaps we should have two sessions for breakfast and ask people to come at particular time, as the previous owner did.

It is not uncommon for guests to leave accommodation without paying and it would have been helpful if you had mentioned that you were just going out briefly.

Daphne and Peter Lindsell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
74
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had a fantastic time, stayed in September and the weather was kind. Daphnne and Peter were very good hosts, with fresh daily bread and excellent breakfasts. Accomodation was very clean and tidy, room was functional and pretty, the location is centre of Lynton with parking outside the property or nearby car park. Lots of lovely walks - Valley of the Rocks, Lee Abbey all signposted. Shops to browse, cliff railway down to Lynmouth and walks along the river side. Plenty of eating houses, cafes etc. Would recommend the Greenhouse. Will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly had some lovely weather this year. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Despite arriving rather later than we said we would, we still received a warm welcome from Peter and Daphne.
Property is located in centre of Lynton, easy to find and near amenities. Some on-street free parking is available directly outside although you may have to use paid public car park if you're not using your car during the day and can't get a free-space (Peter and Daphne can offer a discounted ticket).
Period property is very pretty and is in-keeping with Lynton. Room (ours was 'Irresistable') was well equipped with comfortable bed and kept very clean. En-suite bathroom more functional than luxurious.
Good choice of breakfast, well prepared using local produce and tasty fresh home-made bread.
Peter and Daphne were most welcoming, gave good travel advice and keen and willing 'to go the extra mile' for us. We would visit St Vincent House again and would definately recommend to others.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are both very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We wanted somewhere to stay on our way back from Cornwall to London, with our dog, to stop over for one night. I found this place when looking at Lynton (my mum had recommended the Valley of the Rocks, which is beautiful!) and am glad I did. Very friendly hosts and very dog-friendly, as well as a lovely characterful period building with nice decoration and everything you could need in a b&b. It seemed a shame to only stay one night as it was a great place and a great area to explore (Exmoor is right there, the Valley of the Rocks, Lynmouth, Watersmeet, etc..). The place is also licensed, with a good selection of drinks and a nice lounge, so you can drink back home if you want. We ate at Lily May's restaurant about a minute walk away which was also great - dog-friendly and delicious food (homemade pies).

Room Tip: Downstairs room (Prince George) might be a little noisier than others if the place is full, but soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope that you can stay a little longer next time - we will be pleased to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moseley, Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Booked a night at the St Vincent at short notice. Didn't do as much research as usual.
Nice old house in the centre of Lynton. On booking we were asked what time we were going to arrive. When we said 7pm we were told they usually did check in from 2pm to 6pm. We duly arrived at 7pm to a friendly greeting from Daphne. We were told not to bring any of our own alcohol into our room, not to use any hair products that might stain the bed linen and not to arrive at breakfast at the same time as the other guests. Our room the Prince George was immediately off the hall and hence felt public. We found ourselves whispering. The room was ok, rather compact and lacking any finesse e.g. disposable plastic glasses in the bathroom. We couldn't get the TV to work. At breakfast there were 2 other couples and another 2 groups arrived shortly after us. Daphne appeared and said. I told you not to do this and all come at the same time. The breakfast was good if a bit chaotic with orders mixed up. When full they really need extra help to serve breakfast. Is in reality a guest house.

Room Tip: Do not book the Prince George room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneRHARVEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are both sorry that your stay at St. Vincent House was less enjoyable than we would have liked. It is a pity that you did not mention any of the issues that you have highlighted during your stay. The television, which was mentioned when you were leaving, was found to be working perfectly. It is not possible to hear conversations occurring within Prince George outside. We are sure that each of these problems could have been rectified if they had been mentioned at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

After searching the internet for a weekend get away with our dog we finally found St Vincent House in the lovely village of Lynton. Daphne and Peter were brilliant hosts - making us feel very welcome - nothing too much trouble for them. Everything you needed was there to hand and if not I am sure they would have found it for us. Lovely clean rooms, breakfast cooked to order and very filling . We will be back - thank you both

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

From the moment of arriving I felt at home. Peter and his wife were most welcoming and friendly and could not have been more helpful and considerate with a wealth of local knowledge they were eager to share. The room was clean, airy and well maintained. The breakfast, included in the price, first rate. I cannot say one bad thing about this guest house, superbly located to explore the area of Lynton and Lynmouth and surrounding area. Even their dog was friendly !! Booked for one night, stayed for two..........Thanks for a great stay - well done !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lofty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to chat with you and we very much hope that we will see you again. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#5 of 24 in Lynton
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
South View B&B
South View B&B
#10 of 24 in Lynton
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent House

Property: St. Vincent House
Address: Market Street | North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Vincent House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to St. Vincent Guest House where Emma and Michael invite you to enjoy English hospitality in the comfort of their elegant Georgian grade II listed home. The hotel has comfortable and atmospheric bedrooms, six ensuite and one with a private shower room. All rooms are individually styled. Log fire. Cottage garden. Close to coastal path. Terrific value for money. Genuine hospitality. Non smoking. Children welcome but no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Vincent House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing