We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle”
Review of St. Vincent House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Vincent House
Ranked #14 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Right in the middle”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

A great little guest house, right in the middle of Lynton, which means you don't have to go down the hill towards Lynmouth at all, but can easily access the Cliff Top Railway, or the walking path down, and you are in range of all the little shops and restaurants that make Lynton so wonderful.
We came with our dog, George, and stayed in the Prince George room, which is very convenient for letting the hound out in the morning as it is just by the front door on the ground floor. Daphne and Peter greeted us and offered us a room upgrade on the upper floors, but we were happy with the Prince George. They then offered us tea in the garden and made us feel very welcome.
Peter and Daphne came across to us as not just wanting to please their guests, but also to sit and chat with you too. They are very knowledgable with regards to the local area and more than happy to hear how your day has been. They also cook a lovely breakfast, fresh to order, and they do ask what time you would like to eat, but only so they can make sure you get it fresh and not from under a heat lamp. Cereals, yogurts, fruit compote, juices and home made bread were also available.
The room was clean and tidy, with an ensuite and tea and coffee available. In the lounge, they also have a selection of wines, beers and soft drinks available, at very reasonable prices, which are added to your bill at the end of your stay, and comfy sofas if you would like to chill out at the end of a busy day.
Parking outside is, of course, limited, but there is a large car park about 50 metres away which costs £5 to park all day. However, you can get a day pass from St. Vincent's for £3.50 if you don't manage to park outside the house.
We really enjoyed our stay. St. Vincent's is good value, very easy to get to and a great base from which to explore the surrounding countryside. When we return, we shall certainly look to stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zippi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive and kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you and George, the dog, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
77
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here recently on a 'mini break' in the area. What a wonderful place! This is a gorgeous Georgian house in a very handy location both for the shops & restaurants and for the funicular railway. The owners are charm itself and couldn't have been more helpful. Thank You for a wonderful visit.

Michael Drain

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We both hope that we might see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We (Couple, 31 years) spent 5 nights at St. Vincent House. We enjoyed our stay very much as Peter and Daphne were very welcoming and always helpful when we needed advice on where to go or had questions about the UK in general.
The room was very clean which is the most important point for me when staying at a hotel. The room was spacious and the bathroom was ok, too (the shower worked perfectly).
There were also nice details which simply made us feel comfortable like for example the two cookies that were waiting in the room every day.
I also read the other reviews and must say that we didn't feel like we had to obey a lot of rules. They just asked if we could be careful with the linen meaning we shouldn't color the linen with pens and other stuff. And they asked us which time we would like to come for breakfast so the guests would not all arrive at once as they really cook the breakfast (eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, toast,sausages) I think it is self-evident that they have to plan ahead a little as it simply takes some time if one wants to eat it fresh and warm.
Another thing I really liked was their efforts on preparing a full English breakfast for me as a vegetarian (and it tasted great).
Another nice thing is the lounge where you can sit and just have a glass of wine and read or watch TV.
If we come to Lynton again, we will definitely stay here, only we would bookt he room directly over the phone as it seems to be easier for the hosts plus we could have asked some things ahead for example concerning the parking. But they also have a lot of useful information on their website.
It would make our review sound a bit more realistic if we could say something negative, too, but we simply can't think of anything.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room Colossus. It has a suitable bed for tall people and was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your very comprehensive and kind review. It was a pleasure having you staying here and we both hope that we will see you again. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had previously stayed at St Vincent House when it was run by different owners. Had a much better time back then. Given a very warm welcome by Peter and made to feel at home. Room was ok and had a roll top bath. Couldn't get the hand held shower to work at a suitable temperature so had to just run a bath where the hot water was scalding. Breakfast was an adventure. Breakfast was from 8.30 am to 9.30 am. We were asked to try to stagger times with other guests so that we didn't cause too much of a problem with so many people ordering breakfast in one go. We went down just after nine and there were two other couples having breakfast but then we were followed by a family of three and another couple. Daphne commented that we had done exactly what she had asked us not to do!!! Breakfast itself (once the correct orders were given to the right person) was fab. The day we were due to leave breakfast was just as chaotic as the previous day so we decided to go for a walk once we finished our breakfast to allow them time to finish serving breakfast for the other guests and then come back and pay once breakfast was over and done with. We left our bags in the room and popped up to the shop for a paper.Came back and Peter was in the garden and Daphne was by the door. We were greeted with the words "We thought you had left without paying". They had also been up to the room to check!! We collected our bags and paid our bill and left. Sadly we wont be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. The bath and shower fitting are the same as they would have been on your previous stay and we would have been happy to explain how to achieve a satisfactory temperature with the shower. There is a warning about the very hot water.
We now operate 2 more rooms than when you last stayed and this does sometimes cause some problems at breakfast if all our guests arrive at once. The comment was said in a light- hearted way and we are sorry if you were upset by this. Perhaps we should have two sessions for breakfast and ask people to come at particular time, as the previous owner did.

It is not uncommon for guests to leave accommodation without paying and it would have been helpful if you had mentioned that you were just going out briefly.

Daphne and Peter Lindsell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had a fantastic time, stayed in September and the weather was kind. Daphnne and Peter were very good hosts, with fresh daily bread and excellent breakfasts. Accomodation was very clean and tidy, room was functional and pretty, the location is centre of Lynton with parking outside the property or nearby car park. Lots of lovely walks - Valley of the Rocks, Lee Abbey all signposted. Shops to browse, cliff railway down to Lynmouth and walks along the river side. Plenty of eating houses, cafes etc. Would recommend the Greenhouse. Will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly had some lovely weather this year. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Despite arriving rather later than we said we would, we still received a warm welcome from Peter and Daphne.
Property is located in centre of Lynton, easy to find and near amenities. Some on-street free parking is available directly outside although you may have to use paid public car park if you're not using your car during the day and can't get a free-space (Peter and Daphne can offer a discounted ticket).
Period property is very pretty and is in-keeping with Lynton. Room (ours was 'Irresistable') was well equipped with comfortable bed and kept very clean. En-suite bathroom more functional than luxurious.
Good choice of breakfast, well prepared using local produce and tasty fresh home-made bread.
Peter and Daphne were most welcoming, gave good travel advice and keen and willing 'to go the extra mile' for us. We would visit St Vincent House again and would definately recommend to others.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are both very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Peter & Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We wanted somewhere to stay on our way back from Cornwall to London, with our dog, to stop over for one night. I found this place when looking at Lynton (my mum had recommended the Valley of the Rocks, which is beautiful!) and am glad I did. Very friendly hosts and very dog-friendly, as well as a lovely characterful period building with nice decoration and everything you could need in a b&b. It seemed a shame to only stay one night as it was a great place and a great area to explore (Exmoor is right there, the Valley of the Rocks, Lynmouth, Watersmeet, etc..). The place is also licensed, with a good selection of drinks and a nice lounge, so you can drink back home if you want. We ate at Lily May's restaurant about a minute walk away which was also great - dog-friendly and delicious food (homemade pies).

Room Tip: Downstairs room (Prince George) might be a little noisier than others if the place is full, but soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope that you can stay a little longer next time - we will be pleased to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#10 of 24 in Lynton
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 24 in Lynton
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent House

Property: St. Vincent House
Address: St. Vincent Castle Hill Market Street | North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Vincent House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to St. Vincent Guest House where Emma and Michael invite you to enjoy English hospitality in the comfort of their elegant Georgian grade II listed home. The hotel has comfortable and atmospheric bedrooms, six ensuite and one with a private shower room. All rooms are individually styled. Log fire. Cottage garden. Close to coastal path. Terrific value for money. Genuine hospitality. Non smoking. Children welcome but no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Vincent House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing