We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful suprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Croft House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Croft House
Ranked #16 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful suprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I did not expect Croft House to be SO beautiful! The welcome tea, the beautiful and spacious room with all those nice details, the high quality products in the bath room, the excellent dining tipps by Helen, the perfect bed, the yummy breakfast. Whenever I'm thinking back to my hiking trip in South England, it's Croft House that comes up as the ideal & most beautiful B&B ever

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was our first stay in Lynton and the Croft House was adorable. Rooms are comfortable and beautiful. Breakfast was excellent. And Helen was a great help in helping us get to the Coastal Walking Path (only 5-10 min walking away!) and dinner just a few steps away. Rooms come with a DVD player and a couple DVDs which was a nice was to unwind in bed.

Make sure to drive a couple minutes down the road to Lynmouth, nice afternoon trip.

We would return given the chance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We'd booked a last minute break here, and were made extremely welcome and comfortable, even though we were held up in traffic and arrived late. I can't rate Helen's service more highly, she attends to every detail. Our room was comfortable and well-furnished, the bed felt just like home, and on request we were given feather pillows which we prefer. Breakfast was generous and excellent - we are non-meat eaters but were as well provided for as the carnivores, with proper vegetable sausages rather than vile soya 'pretend meat' ones. In addition to fruit, cereal, good yoghurt, toast, local honey and home-made preserves. Yum!

One particularly delightful feature of the house is a pretty secluded garden where you can relax after a hard day's rock scrambling. We were lucky to have a room overlooking it, an extra pleasure. The street was quiet, and though there is no private parking we found no trouble parking on the street nearby. I wouldn't hesitate to come here again, and will be happy to recommend it to friends.

We found a lot in the area to like - many beautiful walks across Exmoor and along the clifftop; and a vintage funicular down the cliff to Lynmouth for beach and river scenery. But we didn't find much we wanted to do indoors during wet spells, had we been there longer time may have hung a little heavy. Maybe that's just us - we are city folk used to large museums and art galleries! When the sun was out, it was wonderful.

Room Tip: Helen is quite clear about the respective advantages of the rooms she has; make your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SundriedRaisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

The owner was extremely helpful and welcoming. The room was lovely and the breakfast was delicious. The owner gave us lots of helpful information about the area and helped us to arrange luggage transfers for our next days walking. Nothing was too much trouble and I recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186370anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We were welcomed by Helen with a nice pot of tea and some biscuits. I like this sort of attention to detail. Our room was nicely decorated and spotless, the bed was very comfortable and the shower facilities looked brand new. We had three lovely nights and three great breakfasts: Full English of course!

I have no hesitatin in recommending Croft House to anyone and would have loved to stay longer.
Lynton is a lovely spot for walking, antique shopping, coffee drinking (we did quite a bit of this) and
great resteraunts.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Charming house, very nice room, comfortable beds, very good breakfast and most of all very welcoming, helpful and friendly host, who had great tips on day tours and restaurants. Definitely recommendable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AijaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

My husband and I had a two night break to celebrate my birthday and enjoy the bank hols weekend. This is our second visit to Croft House and was just as perfect as before. Helen is very hospitable with nothing being too much trouble. From her recommendations we had two very special meals out. One being Lynton Cottage Hotel and St. Vincents restaurant, both were gorgeous. Helen recalled it was my birthday and left chocolates in our room, a lovely thought. We are definitely going to return again, a perfect gem!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#5 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft House

Property: Croft House
Address: Lydiate Lane | EX35 6HE, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing