We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Effort”
Review of Southcliffe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southcliffe
Ranked #4 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extra Effort”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The tourist office in Lynton sent us to Southcliffe and we were very grateful. David and Ceri worked hard to make us feel very welcome. We appreciated the parking space, the good breakfast, the host's suggestions for things to do, and the fairly spacious room. Ceri even gave us a choice of duvet or sheet and blankets on the bed, which we appreciated. They provided lots of little extras that made our stay pleasant, such a facial tissues, soap, etc. The lounge room was comfortable and welcoming. The location was great for exploring Lynton and the surrounding area. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
346
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

me and my husband was looking to get away for a few days and after reading reviwes on trip advisor we decided to go with southcliffe and i say we made a really good choice..
from the moment we got there till we left we got fantastic hospitality from david and ceri...i loved how david was so helpful in telling us all about lynton where to go and what to do...breakfast was amazing too cooked by ceri...and the room had everything thing that u could need i was amazed at how they both have taken care of the tiniest detail..very nice get away i would recommend it to everyone and if i get the chance again i will come back too..thank u david and ceri

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maryam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the moment we arrived, and until our departure, Ceri & David could not have done more for us, beginning with help to unload the car, followed by a welcome drink and cake. Our room was light, airy, and uncluttered, (exactly what you want after a long, tiring, day of walking), and both it and the en-suite were spotlessly clean. The quality and presentation of Ceri's cooked food was superb, and we were so impressed by our first evening meal, that we decided to eat in on every night when there was the option to do so. Southcliffe is ideally situated for walkers, with the coast path from Lynmouth only a few minutes to the East, and a short ten minute stroll to the West brings you to the entrance to the Valley of the Rocks, a truly magical location, especially when the sun is setting. David was extremely helpful with information about walks, trails, and footpaths, and there are numerous maps and laminates to peruse prior to setting off on one. Our week at Southcliffe was probably our best-ever experience in over 20 years of staying in b&bs, enhanced greatly by the kindness and generosity of Ceri & David, and we came away feeling we had said goodbye to a couple of friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Southcliff is an ideal starting point for many hikes and sightseeing near the coast with interesting scenery and breathtaking views. Lynton is a nice, romantic place with good restaurants. The hosts of Southcliffe (Ceri ans David) were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the service very accommodating. We had six nights, have felt very comfortable and were very satisfied. We can recommend this B & B without restriction.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfried H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our first return visit to Southcliffe since David and Ceri took over, and we couldn't have asked for a nicer stay. David and Ceri gave us a very warm and friendly welcome, and went out of their way to make sure our week with them was everything we could have wanted. Our room was spotless and very comfortable, as were the public areas in the guest house. We really enjoyed our breakfasts and evening meal, and appreciate the special effort to make sure our dietary needs were always catered for. It was always lovely to chat to David and Ceri, and great to feel that Southcliffe remains a home from home, where we look forward to staying again next year, for the seventh time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggie_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our third holiday at Southcliffe. Good to meet the new owners who proved to excellent
hosts. The was spotless as previous, food excellent,David and Ceri were most helpful when
my partner became slightly unwell, nothing was too much trouble. We are thinking of returning
again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave030238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We booked on a whim the Friday of bank holiday weekend at the beginning of May and were unsure what to expect. Needless to say we need not have worried. The room was wonderful, the owners Ceri and Dave were magnificent and the food, both the breakfast provided and the evening meal should you decide to eat there, was delicious.

Avoid the pizza place in town though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 23 in Lynton
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#3 of 23 in Lynton
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 23 in Lynton
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliffe

Property: Southcliffe
Address: 34 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southcliffe 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southcliffe is a small guest house owned and managed by Charlie and Jane Foulis. Their individual style, along with their attention to detail, ensures all guests enjoy the friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The distinctive Victorian house is perfectly situated to explore Exmoor and the North Devon coastline by foot or by car. Breakfast and evening meal menus are varied and imaginative, both with a variety of vegetarian options. Private, off-road parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Southcliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcliffe Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing