We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB BED AND BREAKFAST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SUPERB BED AND BREAKFAST”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here during Peter and Carole's ownership and, when there was a change, we wondered whether it would be as good. We stayed with Jo and Andy in 2011 for the first time and were glad that we did so. They were very welcoming, the breakfasts were exellent and the comfort in the rooms was as good as before.
But Jo and Andy were very busy last Winter and have been upgrading the rooms. We stayed for 4 nights in July, in the same room as we had last year. What a difference! The refurbishment has included the installation of a wet room in the upgrade of the ensuite, just perfect after a hard day walking.
Woodlands is perfecty positioned as a base for walking as Valley of Rocks, Watersmeet and Countisbury are all accessible without using the car.
Needless to say, we shall be coming again next year, but for longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerAndStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
261
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We spent one night here at The Woodlands and wish we had booked longer. Andy and Jo were the perfect hosts from our welcoming cup of tea on arrival to our goodbyes when we left. Our room was very clean and comfortable which included a mini bar and fridge and the breakfast was to die for, the best ever.
It was lovely to sit on our balcony and see the deer on the hill opposite and watch the badgers feeding at night.
We fully recommend The Woodlands and will definitely be going back.
Shaun and Joy

Room Tip: Go for the Watersmeet Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

From the warm welcome from Jo and Andy, to the fantastic view from the Summerhouse room, the whole stay was great.
The room was comfortable and well equipped and the breakfast was a great start to the day.

Room Tip: Try Lily Mays and the Cottage Inn for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddy-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We found the B&B based on the tripadvisor reviews.

We stayed in July 2012 for two nights at Woodlands Guest House... and wish we stayed for longer!

We stayed in the Watersmeet room, which was a very comfortable room. The best feature was the large private balcony, which was equipped with comfortable chairs and a small table - perfect for relaxing. It had breathtaking views, directly facing the West Lyn Wooded Valley and overlooking the front garden. We both love stargazing and the balcony was perfect for this, as the area is very dark with no street lights around the area of the B&B. Nature lovers will also love this B&B as Woodlands attracts birds and badgers to their garden.The bed was very comfortable, and gave spectacular views of the surrounding woodlands. The ensuite wetroom was very clean and modern. All in all, this was a very beautiful, relaxing and homely room.

The hosts Andy and Jo were very welcoming and had very good knowledge of the area, especially the walking routes. We visited the Valley of the Rocks on Andy's recommendation and the views on this route were absolutely stunning.


The Full English breakfast served was delicious and the produce was fresh and local. Both myself and my partner don't usually like bacon, but the bacon served at Woodlands was very tasty! In addition, there was also cereal, yoghurt and fruit available as well as fruit juices.

The B&B was less than 10 minutes walk to Lynton village, so is not so far from shops, cafes and restaurants but still has a secluded feel about it which we thought was perfect. The area around Woodlands is very peaceful and quiet, and situated close to a stream.

We would definitely recommend Woodlands B&B to anyone visiting the Exmoor National Park. Woodlands served as an excellent getaway from London for us and we would definitely be returning to this excellent B&B in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend stay at this excellent B & B, having stayed here before Andy & Joe took over we can honestly say that the improvements are second to none. All bedrooms are of exceptional standard and the ones with the new walk in wet rooms are amazing, the other two are to be upgraded this winter so you really will be spoilt for choice. Andy and Joe are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The surrounding area is beautiful and fantastic walking country too, with lots of wildlife on your doorstep (we even saw a deer in the garden). We had a relaxed and stylish weekend at the Woodlands and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowshilldays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

What a perfect place to stay in. Comfort, quality and beautiful rooms. Jo and Andy could not have been more welcoming. They anticipated our every need, and always gave good advice.
The breakfast was legendary. And the badgers were the icing on the cake.
They have put so much thought and effort into making it all feel "at home."
Would vote them for best B and B!
Thanks!
Catherine and Reinhold.

Room Tip: The Watersmeet Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgeeney08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We only stayed one night but will most definitely return as this was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in.

Jo and Andy were amazing hosts and gave us loads of good tips for walking in the area which has given us an appetite to return and spend a bit more time exploring (they also have a boot drying room which is really handy)

The rooms are excellent, comfy beds, lovely interior, nice & quiet and the breakfasts are superb.

But the most memorable part of our stay was the abundance of wildlife around the house. The feeders outside are teeming with birds and they also have badgers sniffing around at night.

We have recommended this place to our friends and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmosBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 24 in Lynton
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Property: Woodlands Guesthouse
Address: Lynbridge Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is an elegant detached Victorian guesthouse situated within Exmoor National Park and very close to the North Devon coast. We are located in a tranquil wooded valley a short stroll from the famous towns of Lynton and Lynmouth. Woodlands is a special place with great comfort and is owned and run by Steve and Lesley Hawker who will welcome you with a friendly smile and will do their best to ensure you have a fantastic stay. All the bedrooms are spacious and most enjoy beautiful views over the wooded valley with its abundant bird life and the West Lyn River. All superior rooms have luxury en suite wet room or walk in power showers, underfloor heating, anti-misting mirrors and fluffy towels. The rooms are equipped with Minibars, 32" flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, toiletries, beverages and biscuits. Our spacious and relaxing Guest Lounge has an honesty bar. The breakfast menu is extensive and caters for both traditional English and healthier (inc vegetarian)options. Free parking is available in our own car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Woodlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guesthouse Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing