We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at woodlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staying at woodlands”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Having stayed in and around Lynton/Exmoor for well over 50 years I feel a little qualified to comment. Jo has turned what was already an excellent guest house to near perfection. Having just revisited, it was just like coming back to stay with ones favourite relative/friend. She is so knowledgeable about the area and nothing in help or catering is too much trouble. Much good been said in other reviews that I can only endorse without repeating.
John Sanders

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjohns180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
271
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Of all the many and varied hotels and guest houses that we have stayed at in during our holidays in the UK this one beats the lot! What with a superking size bed,brand new wetroom,mini bar,a superb full English to start the day,Jo's ever-helpful manner:what more could one ask for? In addition the bird,squirrel and badger watching was just brilliant. Well done,Jo and Andy,hope to see you again when we're in Lynton.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Had a two night stay at Woodlands and wished it had been for longer, everything from the moment we got there was perfect, Jo was there to greet us and told us all about the area, she was so helpfull. The room was amazing, never stayed anywhere so clean, comfortable and with every little extra they could think of in the room, lovely bathroom with lots of nice smellys and fluffy towels....the bed was HUGE and the Views are amazing, watching the Badgers from our balcony on both evenings was so special...This is the perfect place to stay to walk into Lynton and Lynmouth...the valley of rocks and much, much more....I am one of the most fussy people when it comes to staying somewhere but I cannot find a single falult with this place, it was perfect......Breakfast was lovely...can recommend Woodlands to anyone, in fact I already have to loads of our friends.....thanks Woodlands for a lovely stay, look forward to coming back Angie and Dave x

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandAngie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Woodlands is in an impressive location on the hillside, a few minutes walk up from Lynton village. After the previous owners retired, Jo and Andy took over and went on a mission to create the perfect place to stay. They succeeded in spectacular fashion.

It is not often I fall in love with a Guest House, and even rarer that I feel I can call one "perfect". Even the very good ones usually have minor annoyances, too small to mention in reviews, but still noticed - things like nowhere to put your soap, or lack of coathangers.

At Woodlands, even the most jaded and choosy traveller will fail to find even such minor issues, such is the attention to detail. Everthing is where you need it to be, and during our stay of 3 nights we wished for nothing.

Despite the size of the property, from the outside the house has a "cottage" feel to it when approached from the steep driveway leading up to it from the road. Lush gardens and a beautiful conservatory create a rural charm. Once inside, understated luxury and amazing style take over, yet somehow the house manages to feel homely and warm at the same time. I have seen places decorated by teams of professional interior designers - Woodlands was decorated by Jo herself, and it puts them all to shame.

There is underfloor heating, a dedicated room for boots and wet walking gear, a small room fridge with a very reasonably priced mini bar (the property is licenced) and free WiFi. There is also satelite TV, but we loved the fact that it was a small and unobtrusive screen (the size of an average computer monitor) that didn't dominate the room. The bed is King-sized and very comfortable, and everything is so clean that it feels you're the first person staying there, ever.

There is a good range of breakfast items including fruits, cereals and the ususual cooked supects. Everything is prepared fresh, including proper coffee (cafetiere). Dietary requirements can be catered for if you let them know in advance.

The minor road leading past the house sees little traffic during the day, and none at all at night time - it is very quiet and peaceful. We stayed at a weekend when the house was (unusually) empty but even fully occupied it's hard to imagine anything would disturb your sleep - this is a proper house with proper walls.

We stayed in the Watersmeet room, which has access to a generous balcony, perfect for a morning coffee in the sun, or watching the Badgers after sunset. It's inland, but the views of the hillside opposite with it's lush forest and bird life more than compensates for the sea views many people look for.

It's 10min walk to the village with it's restaurants, pubs, the seafront and other tourist attractions, and there is also a very good pub a few minutes walk down the road from Woodlands. Jo (besides being a fantastic host) is also a gold mine of information on walks, restaurants, things to do and general information on the area. We followed her advice on walks and the best places for dinner and had a great experience every time. Jo even booked tables for us.

Surely, I hear you cry, all this amazing luxury comes at a price?

Well, yes - a very reasonable one. Woodlands offers a reduced rate for stays of 3 nights or more - for us this worked out at 65.- per night. Compared to large hotels chains like Hilton this is amazing value for this kind of standard.

If you're on holiday in the Exmoor area, Woodlands really is the perfect place to stay. That's perfect without the apostrophe. If you travel on business and expect to work it might be less ideal, since there is no mobile phone reception and (at least in our room) there wasn't a desk. However Jo is extremely helpful and would probably be able to sort out something.

This was our first time at Woodlands, and we sincerely hope we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: The Watersmeet room is simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrekkerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

we would like to thank Andy andJo for making our annivrsary weekend so special we were treated like a king and queen.We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms it was done to a very high standard we loved the wet room! we cant wait to return to such a warm and wellcoming place,
peter and beverley.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed with a friend for 3 nights occupying 2 double rooms at a very keenly-priced single-occupancy rate. The rooms were newly refurbished and were to a very high standard including minibar, stylish wet-room and extremely comfortable beds.
Breakfast was well cooked and served in a lovely room with views across the valley.
The owners are friendly, knowledgable and helpful offering to book restaurants and making recommendations on the best places to eat and visit.
In many ways, the accommodation was equal to a 4* business hotel but with the personality and charm of a family home. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pevsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

SUPERB accommodation, Andy and Jo very friendly and welcoming. Seeing the badgers right
under our bedroom window just topped off what was a relaxing and very enjoyable short stay.
Will definately be back. Kim and Martin

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 24 in Lynton
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 24 in Lynton
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Property: Woodlands Guesthouse
Address: Lynbridge Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is an elegant detached Victorian guesthouse situated within Exmoor National Park and very close to the North Devon coast. We are located in a tranquil wooded valley a short stroll from the famous towns of Lynton and Lynmouth. Woodlands is a special place with great comfort and is owned and run by Steve and Lesley Hawker who will welcome you with a friendly smile and will do their best to ensure you have a fantastic stay. All the bedrooms are spacious and most enjoy beautiful views over the wooded valley with its abundant bird life and the West Lyn River. All superior rooms have luxury en suite wet room or walk in power showers, underfloor heating, anti-misting mirrors and fluffy towels. The rooms are equipped with Minibars, 32" flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, toiletries, beverages and biscuits. Our spacious and relaxing Guest Lounge has an honesty bar. The breakfast menu is extensive and caters for both traditional English and healthier (inc vegetarian)options. Free parking is available in our own car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guesthouse Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing