We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed here at and of August 2012 with a friend to visit around the area. This was a lovely stay. The room was very clean and comfortable with proper duvets on the bed rather than sheets and blankets. Upon arrival was bought up a tray of tea and biscuits. The breakfast was very good and nothing was too much trouble for them, Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife stayed with Jo and Andy back in May and thought it was so good that we decided to use Woodlands as our base with friends for a weekend break to North Devon.

The owners really do set themselves very high standards and the accommodation, breakfasts and welcome are first rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have been very fortunate in being able to spend yet another short break at Woodlands and as usual nothing could be faulted. I can only reiterate what has already been said. We were staying at the same time as John Sanders (previous reviewer) and must agree it is as if we have known Jo for years, she is so friendly and caring.
I have rated location as excellent as it is for us, but the steep drive may cause problems if you have mobility issues.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmcLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We are a spanish couple and we visited woodlands guesthouse in this past august. Spacious, nice and clean room. The couple owners are really helpful. They helped us with a wheel puncture calling the insurance policy car for us. They made reservation for dinner in a good and cheap place (lilys restaurant, one of the best home-made cooking in england) They advice us some routes round Exmoor national park and they love learn spanish language and our culture. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crisgadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Having stayed in and around Lynton/Exmoor for well over 50 years I feel a little qualified to comment. Jo has turned what was already an excellent guest house to near perfection. Having just revisited, it was just like coming back to stay with ones favourite relative/friend. She is so knowledgeable about the area and nothing in help or catering is too much trouble. Much good been said in other reviews that I can only endorse without repeating.
John Sanders

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjohns180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Of all the many and varied hotels and guest houses that we have stayed at in during our holidays in the UK this one beats the lot! What with a superking size bed,brand new wetroom,mini bar,a superb full English to start the day,Jo's ever-helpful manner:what more could one ask for? In addition the bird,squirrel and badger watching was just brilliant. Well done,Jo and Andy,hope to see you again when we're in Lynton.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Had a two night stay at Woodlands and wished it had been for longer, everything from the moment we got there was perfect, Jo was there to greet us and told us all about the area, she was so helpfull. The room was amazing, never stayed anywhere so clean, comfortable and with every little extra they could think of in the room, lovely bathroom with lots of nice smellys and fluffy towels....the bed was HUGE and the Views are amazing, watching the Badgers from our balcony on both evenings was so special...This is the perfect place to stay to walk into Lynton and Lynmouth...the valley of rocks and much, much more....I am one of the most fussy people when it comes to staying somewhere but I cannot find a single falult with this place, it was perfect......Breakfast was lovely...can recommend Woodlands to anyone, in fact I already have to loads of our friends.....thanks Woodlands for a lovely stay, look forward to coming back Angie and Dave x

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandAngie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.6 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
201 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Address: Lynbridge Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £74 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is an elegant detached Victorian guesthouse situated within Exmoor National Park and very close to the North Devon coast. We are located in a tranquil wooded valley a short stroll from the famous towns of Lynton and Lynmouth. Woodlands is a special place with great comfort and is owned and run by Steve and Lesley Hawker who will welcome you with a friendly smile and will do their best to ensure you have a fantastic stay. All the bedrooms are spacious and most enjoy beautiful views over the wooded valley with its abundant bird life and the West Lyn River. All superior rooms have luxury en suite wet room or walk in power showers, underfloor heating, anti-misting mirrors and fluffy towels. The rooms are equipped with Minibars, 32" flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, toiletries, beverages and biscuits. Our spacious and relaxing Guest Lounge has an honesty bar. The breakfast menu is extensive and caters for both traditional English and healthier (inc vegetarian)options. Free parking is available in our own car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Woodlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guesthouse Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing