We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brill holiday !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another brill holiday !”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just returned from another fantastic stay at Woodlands. greeted like old friends, couldn't be made more welcome. When you arrive you know you can relax in the peace and quiet, rest assured you will be well looked after with home comforts and freshly cooked breakfasts.
All you will see in this quiet location are the variety of small birds visiting the feeders and the sound of the river Lyn.
Andy and Jo will share with you the love and passion they have for the area and they get out and enjoy it too ! They told us where we could see peregrins fly and guillemots swimming and diving. Andy was also able to recommend to us an honest and reliable garage when our car started to play up, so all was well. Our personal tip for evening meals is to try the Bath Hotel restaraunt in Lynmouth. Not top for atmosphere but great food, service and value. We went every night !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
260
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A 3 night stay here was totally enjoyable. From the many different bird species including a buzzard to a badger running along the front of the house at night to the wonderful breakfasts provided by Andy and Jo. Please tap into their local knowledge to make the most of your visit. While we were there we also visited the cinema which is a real throwback to a bygone age.

Room Tip: watersmeet room has a good sized balcony for morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianMollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Not having stayed in all the B&B's in the south west I can’t say this is the best however it can’t be far from the top, the rooms are immaculate- ideally equipped and tastefully furnished, the breakfasts were brilliant with the bacon and fresh strawberries particular favourites of mine. Jo and Andy make this B&B the true gem that it is with their friendly and very personal approach, on arrival Jo made us tea and coffee while Andy helped with our bags in the drizzle, somehow the next couple of hours disappeared as we awaited other members of our party discussing places to eat, good walks and in particular the tea rooms of note. These discussions were revisited and refined over the three nights of our stay! This meant that we could take advantage of their local knowledge and love of the area to ensure that we had an amazing short break. We look forward to revisiting in the future and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastrofans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Woodlands guest house during a visit to the Exmoor national park. The B&B is situated on an elevation overlooking a vallley. It is is within walking distance from Lynton and within easy reach of different walking trails like the Watersmeet and Valley of the Rocks.
We stayed in the newly refurbished Cleeves room which was beautifully decorated. It has all the necessary facilities - a small tv, a small fridge stocked with water and beverages, bathrobes, towels, toiletries, a welcome extra fleece blanket when summer isn't really like summer. The wet room was also very luxurious.
Andy and Jo were wonderful hosts. They are passionate about the area and are eager to share it with you. We were helped with planning our day, suggested walking routes, provided hand drawn maps, books and binoculars. They are very fond of the badgers that visit their garden at night and Andy even called us down to watch them feed one.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Woodlands guest house and have never felt more at home at another guest accomodation. Would definitely love to return there some day.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhiviya X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have just stayed at this delightful guest house. Thanks to Andy and Jo for making us feel very much at home. We arrived just as they were about to go for Sunday lunch but they still took the time to settle us in and make a reservation at a local cafe for us. Wonderful surroundings with great views, pity we missed the badger! The best scrambled eggs ever. Thanks again for the best B&B we have stayed at.
Lorraine & Michael.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lormic1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weybread
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at this very impressive bed and breakfast for 4 nights and were very impressed right fromthe time of booking when we were sent a very informative email with lots of walks and restaurants for us to look up and look forward to. We were met at the door by Andy and Jo with fresh coffee and shortbread which was very welcome and given more information on walks and places to eat. We had a wonderful bedroom with a verandah overlooking the forest, it was large and spotless and very comfortable with everything we needed. There was not a bath(which we were told about when booking) but a wet room which was more than large enough. The towels were large and soft and the hot towel rail meant that they were cosy and warm. The breakfasts were delicious in particular the bacon and the coffee and they were served by a very cheerful Andy. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet, peaceful and superior bed and breakfast. We felt welcome and very well looked after. Andy and Jo were great hosts and run Woodlands beautifully, an excellent base for exploring this very scenic part of the country.

Room Tip: Ask for the watersmeet room it is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyWeybread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have just returned from our first stay with Jo and Andy. I doubt it will be out last.
From start to finish we were treated wonderfully. Spotless comfortable room. Freshly cooked,tasty breakfast. Tips on places to eat and places to visit. Friendly hosts who are happy to 'go the extra mile' An all round excellent experience. See you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croxy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 24 in Lynton
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Property: Woodlands Guesthouse
Address: Lynbridge Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is an elegant detached Victorian guesthouse situated within Exmoor National Park and very close to the North Devon coast. We are located in a tranquil wooded valley a short stroll from the famous towns of Lynton and Lynmouth. Woodlands is a special place with great comfort and is owned and run by Steve and Lesley Hawker who will welcome you with a friendly smile and will do their best to ensure you have a fantastic stay. All the bedrooms are spacious and most enjoy beautiful views over the wooded valley with its abundant bird life and the West Lyn River. All superior rooms have luxury en suite wet room or walk in power showers, underfloor heating, anti-misting mirrors and fluffy towels. The rooms are equipped with Minibars, 32" flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, toiletries, beverages and biscuits. Our spacious and relaxing Guest Lounge has an honesty bar. The breakfast menu is extensive and caters for both traditional English and healthier (inc vegetarian)options. Free parking is available in our own car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guesthouse Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing