We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I are so pleased that we booked our stay at the Woodlands Guest House over Easter. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jo and Andy who own this lovely establishment and immediately welcomed us by offering drinks. This personalised approach stood out after a four hour drive.

Car Park: The hotel houses a small car park for approx. 4-5 cars across the road from where the hotel is situated. No issues with parking and was safe.

Guest House: Has recently undergone refurbishment and it shows! Entrance, dining room, sun lounge, sitting/reading rooms are all clean and decorated to a high standard.

Bedroom: We opted for the 'Watersmeet Room' and were impressed. We often stay in 4 or 5 star hotels and I am often critical; not this time! This room was on par if not better. It consisted of a L shaped balcony so we could have a drink and watch the sunset/sunrise, had a large comfortable firm bed, high ceiling, large sash windows, underfloor heating to wet room and even an anti mist mirror in the bathroom. This is a high spec room as shown on the website and I was advised that all rooms followed this standard.

Breakfast: Made to order, dietary requirements accommodated, sausages/eggs sourced from a local farm and was delicious. Every morning we were fed well in readiness for the long walks ahead of us.

Verdict: Jo and Andy truly understand the value of customer service by putting themselves in the shoes of their guests. It for this reason we will be recommending to our friends and family. We wish them all the best in their business and hope to be back soon!

Kind Regards,

Sundip & Katya

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny2inho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We absolutely loved Woodland. Hosts, accommodation and breakfast were fantastic. Bags of atmosphere and lovely, clean rooms. We were made to feel very welcome and whilst a chat with our hosts was always on the cards, their presence was completely unobtrusive — this is how to run a B&B.

Room Tip: At the front — the view is truly heart-stopping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EverHopefulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the excellent Woodlands Guest House Lynton.
The house is beautiful and the location is excellent.
The road in front of the house allows easy access to Lynton Town and Lynmouth Harbour and the other way to Exmoor and beyond.
It is not only the beautifully decorated house and sumptuous breakfasts that makes you want to go back as quickly as possible but the excellent hosts Andy and Jo with their natural humour, local knowledge and good fun

Room Tip: Our favourite the Countisbury Room but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonjan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

lovely hosts very friendly ,spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished , superb breakfast, we hope to go back, plenty of walks in countryside, birds to watch, and badgers feeding in the garden, thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The building is beautiful. It has been exquisitely renovated and decorated with a perfect balance between modern taste and 19th century charm. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of a lush hillside across the ravine. At night the sounds of the adjacent river enhanced what was a relaxing and peaceful sleep. By day we were only a short walk from Lynton and Lynmouth and the many wooded and seaside trails in the area. Andy and Jo are tremendous hosts who really make you feel at home. They are friendly, welcoming, easy-going and very knowledgeable about the area. They also serve a delicious breakfast! Our stay at the Woodlands not only enhanced our trip to the Lynton & Lynmouth area, but truly was a special and memorable experience in its own right. We will undoubtedly be back there, hopefully, many times over.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at Woodlands for a long weekend. Our hosts Jo and Andy were so warm and welcoming we were treated like friends rather than paying guests thoughout our stay. Our room was spotlessly clean and huge as was the wet room. Unfortunately we didnt get to sit out on our balcony much because of the weather was pretty wet but the views from it were absolutely stunning. The location of the b&b is brilliant for walking, we didnt even need the car for some walks just literally stepped out the front door. It was also only a ten minute walk to town so was really convenient for restaurants, pubs, the harbour etc but was lovely and quiet at night Thank you so much for our lovely stay and we very much hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We visited Woodlands a few montha ago with my husband's elderly mother. We were made to feel really welcome and Andy made such a fuss of Mum. We returned on our own last week to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was yet again a wonderful stay.
This time we had the same room with the wonderful vie across the Lyn Valley. The weather was reasonably kind to us and we spent a really good few days.
Jo and Andy are investing their time as well as their money in making Woodlands even better with big changes planned for this winter. Even now their friendly style and warm welcome make you happy you took the trouble to drive all the way here. We are already looking forward to coming back again next year. Thanks Jo and Andy for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Croxy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
17.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Lodge Guest House
Pine Lodge Guest House
#5 of 23 in Lynton
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#11 of 23 in Lynton
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Address: Lynbridge Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £76 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is an elegant detached Victorian guesthouse situated within Exmoor National Park and very close to the North Devon coast. We are located in a tranquil wooded valley a short stroll from the famous towns of Lynton and Lynmouth. Woodlands is a special place with great comfort and is owned and run by Steve and Lesley Hawker who will welcome you with a friendly smile and will do their best to ensure you have a fantastic stay. All the bedrooms are spacious and most enjoy beautiful views over the wooded valley with its abundant bird life and the West Lyn River. All superior rooms have luxury en suite wet room or walk in power showers, underfloor heating, anti-misting mirrors and fluffy towels. The rooms are equipped with Minibars, 32" flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, toiletries, beverages and biscuits. Our spacious and relaxing Guest Lounge has an honesty bar. The breakfast menu is extensive and caters for both traditional English and healthier (inc vegetarian)options. Free parking is available in our own car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guesthouse Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing