We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“andy and jo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for two nights the weekend after Easter and completely felt at home from the moment we walked through the door. Andy and Jo are very welcoming and build a rapport easily. We stayed in the Cleeves room and the wet room is great as is the room itself. Andy and Jo are very knowledgeable on what to do and where to go plus the best way to go, thanks for the advice on the best way to Barnstable Andy. Will definitely be back, veg sausages in tow!! Great sense of humour too.

Tracy and simon

Room Tip: Any room all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were lucky enough to break down outside of Woodland's Guest house. We went in for a cup of tea. Both Andy and Jo took good care of us, and went out of their way to help us with all the car chaos. We were given a tour of the Guest house which was beautiful - we will definitely stay here next time we come to Lynton. Thank you Andy and Jo! Good luck with everything. Jess & James

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for one night over a Easter. Andy & Jo could not have been more welcoming, offering us tea & shortbread in the newly decorated lounge after showing us to our room. We stayed in the Watersmeet room which is tastefully decorated with a balcony & great wet room.

It was a Sunday & Jo talked us through local dining options & booked us a table at the Greenhouse. We were grateful for this help as people were being turned away. It's an easy ten minute walk into Lynton.

On Monday we wanted to walk to Watersmeet & Andy gave us great directions over a very enjoyable breakfast. It is a fantastic walk directly from the guesthouse & back via Lynmouth alongside the river.

Highly recommended - thank you Jo & Andy for being great hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Depac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I are so pleased that we booked our stay at the Woodlands Guest House over Easter. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jo and Andy who own this lovely establishment and immediately welcomed us by offering drinks. This personalised approach stood out after a four hour drive.

Car Park: The hotel houses a small car park for approx. 4-5 cars across the road from where the hotel is situated. No issues with parking and was safe.

Guest House: Has recently undergone refurbishment and it shows! Entrance, dining room, sun lounge, sitting/reading rooms are all clean and decorated to a high standard.

Bedroom: We opted for the 'Watersmeet Room' and were impressed. We often stay in 4 or 5 star hotels and I am often critical; not this time! This room was on par if not better. It consisted of a L shaped balcony so we could have a drink and watch the sunset/sunrise, had a large comfortable firm bed, high ceiling, large sash windows, underfloor heating to wet room and even an anti mist mirror in the bathroom. This is a high spec room as shown on the website and I was advised that all rooms followed this standard.

Breakfast: Made to order, dietary requirements accommodated, sausages/eggs sourced from a local farm and was delicious. Every morning we were fed well in readiness for the long walks ahead of us.

Verdict: Jo and Andy truly understand the value of customer service by putting themselves in the shoes of their guests. It for this reason we will be recommending to our friends and family. We wish them all the best in their business and hope to be back soon!

Kind Regards,

Sundip & Katya

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny2inho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We absolutely loved Woodland. Hosts, accommodation and breakfast were fantastic. Bags of atmosphere and lovely, clean rooms. We were made to feel very welcome and whilst a chat with our hosts was always on the cards, their presence was completely unobtrusive — this is how to run a B&B.

Room Tip: At the front — the view is truly heart-stopping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EverHopefulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the excellent Woodlands Guest House Lynton.
The house is beautiful and the location is excellent.
The road in front of the house allows easy access to Lynton Town and Lynmouth Harbour and the other way to Exmoor and beyond.
It is not only the beautifully decorated house and sumptuous breakfasts that makes you want to go back as quickly as possible but the excellent hosts Andy and Jo with their natural humour, local knowledge and good fun

Room Tip: Our favourite the Countisbury Room but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonjan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

lovely hosts very friendly ,spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished , superb breakfast, we hope to go back, plenty of walks in countryside, birds to watch, and badgers feeding in the garden, thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.6 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
13.8 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Address: Lynbridge Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: £76 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is an elegant detached Victorian guesthouse situated within Exmoor National Park and very close to the North Devon coast. We are located in a tranquil wooded valley a short stroll from the famous towns of Lynton and Lynmouth. Woodlands is a special place with great comfort and is owned and run by Steve and Lesley Hawker who will welcome you with a friendly smile and will do their best to ensure you have a fantastic stay. All the bedrooms are spacious and most enjoy beautiful views over the wooded valley with its abundant bird life and the West Lyn River. All superior rooms have luxury en suite wet room or walk in power showers, underfloor heating, anti-misting mirrors and fluffy towels. The rooms are equipped with Minibars, 32" flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, toiletries, beverages and biscuits. Our spacious and relaxing Guest Lounge has an honesty bar. The breakfast menu is extensive and caters for both traditional English and healthier (inc vegetarian)options. Free parking is available in our own car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Woodlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guesthouse Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing