We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm friendly welcome awaits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm friendly welcome awaits”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel the weekend of the 19th July. This hotel has recently changed hands, and after reading some of the reviews we felt we had to add our own.

The hotel is located in the most picturesque part of Lynton with fantastic views. Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome from Bill, the owner. The hotel has a nice family atmosphere about it and we felt very relaxed straight away. We stayed in room 20 which has a balcony and a lovely view of the bay. The room was well equipped and has a lovely comfortable bed. Even though the weather had been really hot, the room was surprisingly cool and airy. Considering this hotel had only been under new management just over three weeks we thought they had done really well, especially as it is the height of the season.

The meals are taken in the dining room which has a lovely sea view. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice. Evening meals were hearty English fayre and considering the short time since taking over the hotel a good experience. Having run a guest house myself I am only to aware of how challenging this can be, especially doing evening meals.

We had the pleasure of meeting some of Bill's family (helpers) who like Bill add to the friendliness of the hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel to all. We shall definitely be going back.

Room Tip: room 20 and the Bay room (6) are our favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    145
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
397
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Have just spent 2 lovely days at Lynton Cottage Hotel and what a fabulous break. The views from our room were fantastic. When we arrived we found we had been upgraded to a superior room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and filling with a great variety of choice. Thank you for an excellent stay and can't wait to come back again. Carol and Dave White, Bristol

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Two nights in a comfortable room with lovely views across the Bristol Channel.
Very comfortable bed! Adequate bathroom that I gather is in line for refurbishment. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice from menu. Comfortable restaurant with sea views.
Dinner had to be pre booked by 5pm with sittings between 6 and 7.30. For a hotel this isn't good enough. We were the only diners on the first evening with another couple who came in on the second night. Food was adequate and served up on the plate without side dishes. Fine for pub or cafe but not for hotel. Didn't think much of desert choice
too many nursery puddings so chose to go without.
Hope Bill gets the dining experience sorted out as he has the potential for a desirable hotel in a peaceful and great location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. A swift refurbishment has recently been completed, including quality beds, with further improvements scheduled. Lynton is a very small town, and both Hotels and Restaurants are very modest sized establishments compared to the big cities. It is therefore common policy to operate a pre order system for dinner, and most establishments will close their doors to new diners by 8pm. In common with the new trends in London, we have chosen to do away with some of the silver service fripperies. This allows us to maintain good value for money and have a varied menu that is price competitive. Side dishes, particularly sauces, are provided if appropriate to the course selected. The Menu is being developed as we settle into our new home, but will remain traditional West Country fayre. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Exmoor. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Spent two days at Lynton Cottage Hotel, what an amazing view of the bay. Super hotel in brilliant location and warm welcome from Bill. Our room had a sea view, was beautifully furnished and so quiet! Great choice for breakfast, and evening meal. Fantastic! We look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous sea views!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank richlightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. As part of our refurbishment of the premises, all the rooms have new beds and quality mattresses, to guarantee our Guests a good nights sleep. C.S.Lewis visited here in August 1925, and wrote, "The view from the balcony was beyond anything I have seen". We look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Went to the Lynton Cottage Hotel last weekend during the heat wave; the hotel’s natural air conditioning via the open windows provided a gentle sea breeze leaving the bedroom well aired and comfortable. Food is fine and traditional, breakfast very filling and meals are enjoyed overlooking the sea - great views. Hotel is clean and tidy, much has been repainted and the carpets look new - I understand this is work the new owners have had done; I found the staff very caring and helpful. The hotel has a decent car park and you can get to Lynmouth by the water powered cliff railway which is a few minutes stroll from the hotel. Great location for a base to visit N.T. Watersmeet and Valley of the Rocks. Sitting on the terrace with coffee and cake watching ships and boats on the sea is very relaxing as was a wander around the garden.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. All of our rooms do have a Sea view, apart from The Valley Suite. By 2014 this should also have a balcony and a premier view. The view from the majority of the rooms, as well as public areas, can reliably be described as panoramic. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worle, Weston-Super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We went for a weekend break for our silver wedding anniversary, we had room 6 and it was beautiful, the views were stunning I was so pleased we picked this lovely hotel. The family and staff were all so pleasant and friendly it was hard to believe they had only been there for 3 weeks.
The food was really good and the hotel was very clean new carpets everywhere and new very comfortable bed, I had never stayed in a four poster before. I would like to thank them for a really good time and would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great, large bay window so panoramic views of the Bristol Channel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Bay View room is our premier room, but all rooms enjoy similar views. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had reserved a doubleroom with an extra bed for our teenage daugter and was stunned when we entered the Bay Room with an outstanding panorama view of the Bristol Channel and the coast of Wales. Very good new beds and mattresses! Very clean and spacious bathroom. Bill and his family and staff were all very friendly and eager to serve us - and at the same time kept an army of workers busy refurbishing and restoring the place indoors as well as outdoors. Amazing how much they had accomplished in only 2 weeks. This will be the best hotel in the area!

Room Tip: We had the Bay Room, very spacious and with panoram windows towards the sea and Wales. But all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvarTonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The majority of the refurbishment has now been completed, with only minor works continuing unobtrusively in the background. We look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 23 in Lynton
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments

Property: Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Country House situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. Comprising 10 luxury self catering Apartments. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All Apartments enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of one bed, two bed and three bed are available. Several have Balcony or private terrace and some Four Poster beds. Free WIFI superfast broadband and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing