We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay View Room, Breakfast & Bill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bay View Room, Breakfast & Bill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We visted Lynmouth last year for a few hours on our way to Fowey.

It is a lovely place, quite quiet and a nice spot to spend a few days walking and relaxing.

So we decided to incorporate it into our Devon and Cornwall road trip this year and splahed out on a night in the magnificent "Bay View Room" .

It has huge french windows all the way around a large bay, providing a wonderful vista out to sea and a 6ft - 4 poster carved bed and well appointed bathroom.

We had a wonderful nights sleep with the windows wide open and the view whilst sitting up in bed drinking coffee in the morning could have kept me there all day, unfortunately as we were traveling to a wedding we had to get ready rather too quickly !

Bill has only owned the hotel with his wife for just over two months now and the renovations and redecorations go on, but without impact on the guests.

The rooms that have been decorated already are lovely, with new beds, mattresses, bedlinen, towels etc.

The staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The breakfasts were well cooked and offered a good selection.

I wish Bill and his family every success in their new venture, the hotel when finished will certainly be a credit to them.

Our thanks for a lovely stay.
Helen & Allan Player

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have wonderful sea views, check out the pictures on the web site and then you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePlayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Bay View is our premier room. We are fortunate that most rooms enjoy the same views, and indeed one can sit in bed and look at the wonderful view from most. We have also rolled out the same quality of beds and mattresses to all rooms, regardless of grade. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    139
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
38
387
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable break at this very comfortable hotel, our room was extremely clean with fantastic views over the bay from three windows in our room. The English breakfast was extremely good as was the service from both the staff and the owner Bill. We would certainly visit again if we return to Lynton.

Both Lynton and Lynmouth which is at the bottom of the cliff are very pretty places to visit especially if you are looking for a relaxing break, plenty of lovely walks, great scenery, lovely old pubs and quirky and interesting individual shops to look around. We would certainly recommend a stay at the Lynton Cottage and Lynton and Lynmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Firstly the place is completely renovated. The new owners have done a great job. Surely they have best view in town. The rooms are clean and spacious. The service was very very good. breakfast had a wide choice. View from the room was unbeatable. Just a walking distance from main market place. The valley of rocks is a 15 mins away... a scenic walk. The town is a sleepy town. everything shuts at around 8. If u want to have dinner at hotel plz inform then well in advance around 5 in the evening should be good.

The best place is its lounge and garden area. Well maintained and colorful flowers made it a place to remember. Must visit if you are in lynton.

Room Tip: Take a corner room for 180 degree view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myxpressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We believe we have the best view in town, and this can be enjoyed from all the rooms in the Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It took me too long to reach the place, because I was using the public transportation, which is not really good in these kind of places. The journy was long, however, I forget the long way when I reached the place and step on the hotel intrance. The view is unbelievable, something I have never seen. The most peaceful place I ever visit. It is the best for who is thinking to have a relax break enjoying the nature. The hotel location is perfect. resturants and supermarket are close. It is also two minutes walk to the railway station which takes the guests down the hill to Lynmouth village. Tourist information is also very close. And Valley of the rocks is easy to reach by the amazing views while walking.The hotel itself is so clean, comfortable, and the staff are friendly. The place is really recommended when the weather is pleasant and warm.

Room Tip: I think most rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The views from our Hotel are always a delight to our Guests, and we are pleased you found them so to. thank you for photographing the falcon. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked this hotel very last minute. Having never been to the area before we were not disappointed at all. The hotel is under new management and progress on updating areas has worked. Over time this place, I'm sure will be unbeatable when fully completed. Our room No3 was narrow but long with double windows looking directly over the town of Lynmouth below and Wales in the distance. It was clean and comfortable with all new beautiful white bedding offering good value for money. Breakfast in the morning offers you a varied menu that has been one of the best I had in all my hotel visits. The staff are really friendly and helpful. My husband and I didn't have dinner at the hotel but I'm sure it would not have disappointed. We would recommend the local Fish and Chips in Lynmouth, they were super. This place is a retreat, great for those who love peace and quiet and enjoy long walks. I definitely want to revisit!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is under new management and renovation work is being done while they have guests. The new owner came from Shirley Solihull which is where we live and so made for interesting conversations. Breakfast was very varied and seemed to cater for most tastes. The views from our room was amazing, we had a balcony with chairs and a table. Once this hotel is finished I am sure that it will be a very special place going from the renovations so far in the bar and reception area. There is no traffic to worry about and is very peaceful. I love Lynton & Lynmouth so i am bias :)

Room Tip: The corner room had a balcony so that yu can sit out and see the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrays796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. Since your visit in the early days of our takeover ( 9 weeks now !), much has been completed. Our refurbishment efforts are now targeted discretely in the non public areas of the building. In the winter we will start the next project. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Really nice hotel with an A star view, don't think it can be beaten from another property in the town. Bill has taken over in the past few months and breathed new life into the hotel. The bedrooms have been reinstated, very comfortable. Very good choice for breakfast, will keep you going for the rest of day. There is ample parking in front of hotel, the town is a stones throw away as is the cliff railway and fantastic costal walk, which is must do on your visit. When visiting the area again this will be our go to place.

Room Tip: All rooms I think have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. All of our rooms do have the same magnificent sea views, excepting two. One of these has a part sea view, and we have a planning application in to add a balcony to the other. Because the views take in not only the sea, but with part of the coastline to one side, this makes it a very special spot. Our Guests happily spend hours just taking in the view. An excellent way to unwind from the day to day pressures of life. We look forward to seeing you again next year. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Hotel

Property: Lynton Cottage Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Georgian Hotel situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All rooms enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of Superior, Deluxe and Classic en suite rooms are available. Some also have Balcony, private terrace or Four Poster beds.Free WIFI access in bedrooms and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Dining Room, Bar and Guest Lounge are also available. The Hotel is situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lynton Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing