We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Millthorpe, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were sent here by a B&B owner in Stoford. It didn't disappoint. We didn't have a booking but we were given two rooms next to each other. My 15-year-old was very happy to have a room to herself because she was sick of sharing rooms with mum and dad. The view was unbelievable. We were given a room with a lovely little balcony. The bed was a four poster, very grand. Dinner was nice but I would have paid for the view. Breakfast was lovely as well. The owner was very helpful. All in all it was a wonderful stay. If we had longer we would definitely have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne19562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    139
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
38
387
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice room view okay if you have a neck like an ostrich, bathroom absolutely terrible, although to be fair the owner did say he was up-grading it, okay but do that before charging stupid rates! Very silly rules, 7pm all sit together in the dining room, no smoking even out-side! Breakfast was terrible too, very cheap & nasty one mushroom cut into quarters, mushy baked beans, cheap tomato. cheap bread, over-cooked scrambled eggs which were cold & leathery obviously sitting around for ages! all in all this once lovely hotel has lost everything including the fab chef, who when we last stayed provided fresh home made bread, real butter, home made jams & was fantastic, now it is just all plastic, such a shame as this was once a very lovely homely warm hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
All feedback is useful. However, as somebody who has visited on four previous occasions, this does rather seem to be a case of a very selective memory. Your comments omit any reference to the previous "tired" condition of the Hotel, and the considerable refurbishment improvements that have been made during this summer.
Any casual search on the internet, will also show that our rates are extremely competitive, being up to 30% cheaper than other Hotels in town, whilst offering at least similar facilities. Of course the Hotel is No Smoking, as per UK Law. Smoking is permitted on the lower level of the car park, or in the gardens.
The Breakfast menu has been greatly extended to that which was previously offered.
We have brought a different approach to the Hotel, to ensure a viability of operation. This includes a more rational Dining Room service We cater exclusively for Hotel Guests, not the general public. This approach is similar to many other small Hotels in town. There are a selection of Restaurants only a couple of hundred yards around the corner, to offer an alternative. You were notified of this by email, before we accepted your booking. We have had other regular Guests return to the Hotel this summer, and the new approach has been welcomed by the majority.
We will continue to upgrade the Hotel during the Winter (including bathrooms), and seek further improvements to the facilities and services that we offer. However, if you want to smoke inside the Hotel, sit down for Dinner at 9pm and still only want to pay B&B prices for a one night stay on a Saturday, our establishment will probably disappoint. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Our bedroom, room 10, was small but adequate and had fantastic views of the bay. The bed was particularly comfortable and the little extras ( tissues, bottle of water, good range of tea / coffee / hot chocolate) made it that little bit special. Breakfast was excellent and served very efficiently by friendly and knowledgeable staff. Our evening meal was okay. It was lovely to enjoy the lounge again with wonderful views. We would definitely revisit at a later date. I believe some refurbishment is taking place in the near future. Perfectly positioned to explore the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theblondespider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. Further refurbishment is now under way during the quieter months. This will include converting your room into a Suite. Several bathrooms will also be replaced during the winter. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. The fabulous views will remain unchanged !! regards BIll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I should have done this review in April but my partner had an accident and ended up in Barnstaple Hospital so I had the very comfortable bed to myself with the view of the bay, The bathroom was huge and I could relax between hospital visits, the cosy dressing gown kept me warm while I made my morning tea.
The manager was most helpful, I had to wake him in the night because I left my key in my room door.
Shame my partner missed his birthday treat. He is OK now and we will try to get back there again.

Room Tip: Book the big one looking out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. As the new owners since June this year, you will be pleased to know that the room has been further upgraded. This "Bay View" room, now enjoys a Hand carved, Mahogany 4 Poster bed, chaise longue and 32" flat screen colour TV. The room has also been re carpeted and repainted since your stay. A new bathroom is also to be installed in November. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel, so that you may try out the improvements. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed in Room 2 which is huge, very comfortable and clean with wonderful views across the bay. Breakfast excellent with good choice,dinner on the two occasions we stayed in was very good, staff very friendly and helpful. We do not normally go back to places we stay in but Bill advised us Room 2 is due a refurbishment so have booked another 3 days in May. Well done to all and really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gratin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. This winter we will be upgrading a number of bathrooms, as well as completing further refurbishment works. We look forward to seeing you again in May. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had the pleasure in staying at Lynton Cottage for a long weekend in room 6 with great panoramic views over Lynmouth bay, the room was very roomy and comfortable with a good sized bathroom and all spotlessly clean. The breakfast was wonderful with a good choice of breakfasts and staff very friendly and helpful over all a very good hotel and weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you in the future regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a great hotel from which to explore north Devon and Exmoor National Park. Our room and bath were huge and the view from our room was breathtaking! We even had our own little patio off of our room where we could sit and enjoy the view. The bed was very comfortable and everything was quite clean. The breakfasts were very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would love to go back...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKA2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next walking trip in 2014. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Hotel

Property: Lynton Cottage Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Georgian Hotel situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All rooms enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of Superior, Deluxe and Classic en suite rooms are available. Some also have Balcony, private terrace or Four Poster beds.Free WIFI access in bedrooms and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Dining Room, Bar and Guest Lounge are also available. The Hotel is situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lynton Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing