We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Not our normal choice of hotel; we usually stay in big chains but this has been a pleasure worth repeating. We stayed in Room 2 which was enormous; full of character and has the best bathroom ever!! The room was well equiped with a massive bed and stunning coastal views. It's location lends itself well for walkers as The Valley of the Rocks and Watersmeet are fairly closeby. The hillside train between Lynton and Lynmouth was closed for the Winter so getting between the 2 locations proved challenging with some fairly steep and long hills. This didn't prove a problem because breakfast was a treat with sooooo much choice on offer and dinner was a well cooked with a good selection of wines. The hotel is still undergoing some renovations but this certainly didn't spoil our few days and we may return later next year when more of it has been completed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: If walking upstairs is a problem; ask for the room downstairs otherwise Room 2 has a stunning view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. Room No. 2, is named the C S Lewis Suite, after the man himself, who visited here in 1925. This is the sort of room, where one doesn't draw the curtain at night time, and wakes up to a stunning view from pillow level. Our major renovations, and those most visible to Guests, are now reaching a conclusion. We look forward to seeing you again next year. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    142
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
392
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in room 4 which is on the ground floor terrace next to the dining room. The room was huge and decorated to a high standard with a beautiful view. Although we were next to the dining room and there were several guests staying in the hotel at the time we could not hear anyone having breakfast in the morning- so the recently constructed wall to soundproof the room has clearly worked.
All the staff were very friendly,polite and attentive- you could not ask for better hosts. The bed and facilities were very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and our only regret was that we stayed mid week rather than the weekend as we would have loved to have sampled the dinner menu.
The hotel is perfectly situated to go on several of the walks from Lynton and it was great to come back in the afternoon and chill out looking over that fabulous view. There is also a very comfortable lounge room with lots of sofas, games, books and free wifi. Everywhere was very clean. It was great value hotel and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

WOW! I had seen the room I booked on the website so I knew it would be good but when we entered it took my breath away! It is stunning! Ok, I very rarely stay in Superior rooms but even so, this room and indeed, the inside of the Hotel is fabulous! We had the ground floor room with private terrace which is next door to the dining room so maybe not so private but I would not hesitate to book it again. Huge room, fabulous (new) ensuite bathroom and views to die for! I think all the rooms have fabulous views of the Countisbury headland and South Wales Coast. As we are from South Wales it was interesting to see the coast from the other side. First season for the proprietors and they are doing a great job, I look forward to returning to see the finished product. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for dinner on the two nights we stayed(sunday/monday) but we knew that beforehand. If the breakfast is anything to go by then I am sure we missed a treat! Well recommended and I wish the owners much success for the future, we shall be back. Loved it.

Room Tip: our room, room 4, had the french windows on to private terrace which I loved, fab room. However, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Ground Floor Terrace Room is indeed the largest in the Hotel, and is approximately 6 metres by 5 metres plus the bathroom. This is the first of six bathrooms to be refurbished this November. The bedroom was refurbished in June. The terrace outside is private to the room, and we have placed signage accordingly, so that this is respected. From next year, we will also be ceasing to offer Cream teas etc to outside visitors. The Hotel will be exclusive to Guests only. So no need to worry about invasion of privacy. After your visit, we have just constructed a new wall between the Dining Room and the bedroom. This now provides a sound proof lobby and more discretion, so again, this has added a large degree of privacy.
This room is also highly popular with families, as two single beds can be accommodated without crowding the room. For Guests with mobility issues, this is also an advantageous room and the views are indeed breath taking. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for the weekend to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary.We had the family room (the cottage suite)It was a large room with beautiful beams and a bed to die for!!! The sofa was an extra bonus! There was a roll top bath with shower attached and everywhere was very clean.No sea veiw but the room over looked the valley and the gorge.The breakfasts were very good with lots of choice!!The manager and staff were very friendly and would definately recommend this hotel. The valley of the rocks is a great place to walk and Lynton and Lynmouth are nice little devon towns.We shall return!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucreciamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Cottage Suite is our only room without a Sea View, but it is very large and certainly has plenty of character. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

After researching far and wide on the internet, pleased with our choice of getaway hotel. Proprietors obviously working incredibly hard to bring the hotel up to date, very successfully. Our room (Number 2) was perfect. newly refurbished; brand new bathroom of high quality; sea view, from bathroom, bedroom AND sitting room windows. Fabulous! Great situation to explore both Lynton and Lynmouth- a tranquil, beautiful place to visit in the autumn. Thank you William

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our "C.S.Lewis Suite" is proving to be one of our most popular rooms, especially after the refurbishment. We are upgrading all of the bathrooms in the Hotel at present. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was just a quick night away for my wife and I and I am really pleased we chose this hotel. The room was great, really spacious and comfortable with a fantastic view. I would highly recommend booking the evening meal as the food was very good and the staff were very helpful and there when needed but not in your face, I cant stand being asked if the meal is ok every 10 mins!
So, TOP MARKS for the Lynton Cottage Hotel, and I would hope to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Despite the weather (which we were prepared for!), this was a great place to stay for a weekend walking and catching up with friend from America. She was missing the Autumn colours so North Devon was perfect. We dined in the hotel one night which was great. Delicious food, good prices and very friendly staff. Breakfast was substantial with a good range of options. Our room (twin No 9) had a sea view and a nice area with comfy chairs to relax and enjoy it. It was clean, warm and the beds were really comfy. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Renovations are underway, but what we saw was impeccably finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are busy with further improvements during the winter, and have just finished replacing 5 bathrooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Hotel

Property: Lynton Cottage Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Georgian Hotel situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All rooms enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of Superior, Deluxe and Classic en suite rooms are available. Some also have Balcony, private terrace or Four Poster beds.Free WIFI access in bedrooms and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Dining Room, Bar and Guest Lounge are also available. The Hotel is situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lynton Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing