We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five nights in April '14” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynton Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Five nights in April '14”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after spending 5 nights at Lynton Cottage Hotel. We occupied the only ground floor room which is spacious and comfortable and ideal for me with poor mobility. The hotel has quite superb views over Lynmouth below and the wonderful Exmoor coastline. Indeed the position of the Hotel is probably the best in Lynton. A superb place to stay in Exmoor. Peacefully quiet. We stayed on a B&B basis and will do so again. John

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnbarbara66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our Ground floor room is proving increasingly popular. As the Hotel stands higher than the car park at the front, the same magnificent views can be enjoyed from this floor level, as well as those higher in the building. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    138
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
383
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We recently had a short stay ay the Lynton Cottage, we have visited this hotel many times in the past. This was the first visit under its new management.
The newly refurbished parts of the hotel are very well done, and very comfortable. The breakfasts are very tasty with a good selection. If the evening meals were as good as the breakfasts, it would be lovely. However the evening meals are very disappointing, and in our opinion its not worth eating in the restuarant. We were unfortunatley not the only people to complain about the evening meal, considering the order for the meals has to be in by 5pm, you would expect something a little more than whats currently on offer.
The bar closes early with last orders at 10pm, we always enjoy a coffee & whisky after dinner. The whisky ran out on the Friday, with no replacement for the Sat night.
We still had a lovely stay, & enjoyed everthing else about the hotel. Just a shame about the meals.
Unfortunately, unless the standard of the meals improves, this will have been our last visit.
It does feel more like a bed & breakfast than a hotel. Which is fine for some, but not for us.

Mike & Gina.

Room Tip: Pick a refurbished room, when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We did take note of your comments at time of check out, as well as giving a discount against the cost of your stay. The weekend in question was the first on a new seasons menu, and there were issues with the vegetables. This has now been corrected, to the satisfaction of subsequent guests. We trust that you found the menu no less interesting, although very different, from what would have been offered on previous visits. The third party comments referred to are inappropriate to be posted here. There were other issues with these Guests in question, which is why the whiskey ran out and was deliberately not replaced by us the following evening. Last orders is 10pm and will remain so. It is not a problem for Guests to get an after dinner drink and coffee etc, as indeed your party did on both evenings. The Guest lounge is available for Guests to sit in, after the bar is closed at 10.30pm. Our marketing policy is to promote a "Country House Hotel" within a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, very much in keeping with what Exmoor is all about. Hotels who run late bars, always have problems with noise complaints. Our concern is for the peaceful enjoyment of the Hotel by the majority of our Guests. This remains paramount amongst our priorities. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We found the location absolutely wonderful with fantastic views. The rooms are decorated and furnished to an excellent standard with enormous beds which guarantees a great nights sleep. The dining room, bar and lounge were again decorated and furnished to an excellent standard. However all of this was slightly over shadowed by the gentleman who appeared to be the owner. We had to presume this because he never introduced himself to us and we soon discovered why, he had the charisma of a breeze block. The girls who served breakfast and dinner were very friendly and polite. Unfortunately the quality of the food at dinner was poor. The food was in total contrast to its high quality surroundings and it came as a complete shock to our party, three of the four mains course meals returned in full!. We were given a £30 discount on departure but no apology, surprise surprise

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the ground floor. It has a nice little terrace and fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are pleased you found the quality of the rooms to your satisfaction. All of the team here are quite hospitable including myself. However, when a member of your party starts an argument within three minutes of arrival in reception, the level of my welcome is certainly going to diminish. This theme continued during your stay with other members of the party either drinking too much, or pressurising a member of my staff to serve drinks after last orders. This weekend was the first on a new menu. This is based on home cooked dishes of local produce. There was an issue with the vegetables, which we have now corrected. We market our business, as a quiet Country House Hotel. I would advise on your next visit to Exmoor, that you seek an establishment that operates a late night bar. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for a three night break lovely room with fantastic views (once the fog lifted) very comfortable bed, wonderful breakfast. Lynton and Lynmouth are both lovely villages with plenty of quirky little shops and places to eat and drink, we particularly recommend The Village Inn in Lynmouth. Very central for lots of North Devon attractions. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had 3 nights here recently and think the hotel represents excellent value with a warm and comfortable welcome. Our only quibble would be that, as we were there early in the season, the menu was the same for 3 nights. A variation of 2 dishes in each course would be good. The hotel has been & is being excellently refurbished and the owners have achieved an enormous amount since they took over last June. The views are stunning, the bar and lounge very comfortable and the Bay View Room which we occupied, was large with a big bed and stunning views right over to Wales. The hotel is perfectly situated for either beach or walking holidays and the owners and staff couldn't be more welcoming or more helpful.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra for the Bay View Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have just introduced a new menu, that focuses on the fish and game products of Exmoor. Many of these are homemade dishes. When complete, there will be a minimum of ten main dishes available. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Easy to see this must be the highest quality place to stay in Lynton/Lynmouth, these twin village share charming - with a good selection of cafes and restaurants - attractive river and estuary and splendid sea views/
The hotel is a gem, has been updated and continues to improve.
Comfortable big beds, excellent bathrooms, gorgeous views, good staff, sittting areas with views.
In a good way, this does not seem anything like most of the rest of English coastal areas.
Excellent place to relax, re-charge or walk (walking amongst exceptional sea or inland views)
Surfers appear to like it too -- a good sign

Room Tip: Website shows rooms well. As always the bigger rooms are best, but all look very good. I am dissa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerEllman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your second visit with us.The age of the building, and the manner in which it has been developed over the decades, means that most of our rooms have their own individual character. It is challenging to portray all of the rooms within the limitations of a website, but we hope that we give a feel for what is available. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked this hotel out of the hat so to speak a couple of weeks before our 41st wedding anniversary.We were looking for somewhere a little bit special but not too formal.We were looking for a nice quiet place to relax and be together for our anniversary. We wanted a hotel with friendly owners and staff that couldnt do enough for you, We wanted a nice room with a lovely sea view and king size bed and a restaurant that does great food. If this is what you are looking for you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Hotel

Property: Lynton Cottage Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Georgian Hotel situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All rooms enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of Superior, Deluxe and Classic en suite rooms are available. Some also have Balcony, private terrace or Four Poster beds.Free WIFI access in bedrooms and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Dining Room, Bar and Guest Lounge are also available. The Hotel is situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lynton Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing