We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sinai House(Lynton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
323
151
21
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
151
21
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedlewis suitestunning viewsdining roomevening mealground floorcomfortable bedthe cliffbristol channelhuge bedroll top bathoverlooking the seaself cateringwonderful hotelweekend breaktea and coffeehigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Fabulous hotel, superb sea views looking over the bay, our room was huge with a king size bed and loads of space, excellent breakfasts, super evening meal, friendly staff, lovely walks to Lynmouth, Watersmeet and Valley of the Rocks, will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We've just got home from a last minute break at the Lynton Cottage Hotel - booking was simple, finding the place was easy, we received pleasant welcome and service throughout our stay was friendly, breakfasts were great. The hotel does have stunning sea views, although we booked the only room without a sea view - instead it overlooked the Lyn Valley and it was a beautiful and interesting view, we didn't feel we'd missed out at all on the viewing stakes! The room was spacious, really comfortable and full of character, though needed a lick of paint in places. We didn't use the bar, dinner restaurant or other public spaces so can't comment on these. Overall we though we'd had excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If you're not too worried about a sea view, the Cottage Suite offers good value and a super view of the Lyn Valley.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingtoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for the second time. Previously we stayed under temporary management and they were very good too. The new management are well organised, and the refurbished rooms are very nice. Views across the bristol channel to Wales are superb. Can be a little foggy first thing in the morning.The Breakfasts are very good with lots of choice. The evening meal is also good, but I do feel there should be more choices. We stayed 3 nights and felt we would be repeating the menu after a couple of nights.However, the quality of the cooked food was excellent. Its not the cheapest hotel on the block, but I feel the management are trying hard. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms. All have sea views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have rolled out a new menu for this season. As with anything new, there have been one or two hiccups. However, the menu is now fully complete and in operation. There are a minimum of ten main courses offered, so that Guests eating in every night may have plenty of choice. Most of our competitors will offer no more than five choices. Our aim is to offer a quality product and service, and our renovation programme remains intense but discrete. We do hope that you will come and visit us again to see the next batch of improvements. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lynton Cottage Hotel for three nights, our room had recently been refurbished but was a little on the narrow side but it did have great views. The breakfast was excellent with the two ladies running the restaurant and bar very friendly and efficient. We had dinner at the hotel one evening and found it fine, nothing special but tasty. The hotel has an excellent position.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Most of the rooms in this 200 year old building are of an individual character. Your Classic grade room was one of the smaller rooms, but indeed the views over Lynmouth Bay are excellent. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after spending 5 nights at Lynton Cottage Hotel. We occupied the only ground floor room which is spacious and comfortable and ideal for me with poor mobility. The hotel has quite superb views over Lynmouth below and the wonderful Exmoor coastline. Indeed the position of the Hotel is probably the best in Lynton. A superb place to stay in Exmoor. Peacefully quiet. We stayed on a B&B basis and will do so again. John

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnbarbara66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our Ground floor room is proving increasingly popular. As the Hotel stands higher than the car park at the front, the same magnificent views can be enjoyed from this floor level, as well as those higher in the building. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews