We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slept like a baby! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I treated ourselves to a night away and stayed in the C S Lewis suite at the Lynton cottage hotel. The bed was a king size and soooo comfy. The bath in the en suite was deep and also very lovely. Could have done with bubble bath. The views are nothing short of outstanding. It certainly is a beautiful place and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. Our C S Lewis Suite is proving very popular. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lynmouth and Lynton are very beautiful with Watersmeet stunning beyond belief! But the other jewel in the crown is this Hotel. Recently and in our opinion lovingly refurbished and updated, a stay here is a holiday in itself. The bathroom to the C.S.Lewis Room is truly inspired and as special as something out of a Grand Design! The bed was huge, the rooms were warm, comfortable and very private and the views were stunning...
Breakfast was delicious and the staff were charming - what more could you ask for?
We will return for a longer stay...

Room Tip: The view from the C S Lewis room is among the best we have ever seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Bill gave us the huge room no. 4 with a private terrasse. The view from the big window is unforgettable. We very much enjoyed this cosy romantic cottage with a lovely restaurant and a lot of small sitting rooms with victorian furniture. The Czech lady who serves in the restaurant is a very friendly and always smiling woman.

Room Tip: As we were travelling with a child, we very much liked that room no. 4 is very big and there was eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fausta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. Due to the age of the Building, most of the rooms have an individual character, and we can offer facilities to suit most Guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent two nights at Lyndon Cottage Hotel in mid May and we can highly recommend it. We stayed in the lovely bay View room. The view from the 3 floor to ceiling windows, across the bay and down into Lyndmouth, was stunning. The facilities in the room were also very good....I particularly appreciated the large mugs provided for tea and coffee.....much better than the little tea cups you usually get! There were plenty of tea bags, coffee hot chocolate and milk sachets. A complimentary bottle of water was an added bonus. The four poster bed was extremely comfortable and there was plenty of cupboard and draw space. The bathroom was clean and also contained lots of complimentary extras. Breakfast was delicious and served in the dining room with great views. All staff members were friendly and helpful. We are lookinf forward to coming back in the future for another stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed here just for a couple of nights for my partner's 40th Birthday and were very pleased we did! On entering our room the views were simply breathtaking. Almost immediately we decided we would definitely be back for longer next time!

The owner had given me some good advice previously on how to arrange a special something to be waiting for us in the room for my partner's big day. Exmoor Flowers, just one minute walk from the hotel, did a wonderful job and the owner's assistance could not have been better and was much appreciated. His speed of response to my initial request for help via email a few weeks before our stay was phenomenal!!

The room had a large, really comfy four-poster bed, wardrobe, desk, flat screen tv on the wall and a couple of chairs which was all we needed. Everything was clean and well maintained. The shower was a good pressure and the towels white and fluffy. What more could you ask for? I stay in a lot of hotels (never less than four star) with my work (3 or 4 times a month) and so am not easily impressed. The Lynton Cottage Hotel impressed me hugely. The owner even let us have a look at a couple of unoccupied rooms to give us a better feel for the hotel with a view to bringing family here for my 40th next year - there is nowhere else I'd rather spend it.

Now, breakfast... What can I say? Other than: "6 stars"!!! The waitress was fantastic and the food delicious. I had a full English one day and eggs benedict the next and am already looking forward to our next stay to try other options. It was all cooked beautifully and tasted superb and I really do mean superb.. There was also a selection of yogurts and cereals as well as juices and tea and coffee and lovely toast!! The breakfasts set us up perfectly for the day ahead. I would like to mention the service again too as it was truly top class: calm, efficient and friendly. We didn't get the waitress' name but she was fabulous!

The location of the hotel is second to none. You literally walk down the drive and are in amongst the delights of Lynton and just round the corner from the funicular railway to Lynmouth or you can walk it, as we did, taking in the stunning views on the way. I love this part of the world and it makes me so proud to be English when I see what this great country can offer the world. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Friendly, helpful staff. Breathtaking (there's that word again!) views. Super comfy rooms. Delicious breakfast (we didn't have dinner so can't comment but the menu looked excellent!). Fantastic location. Total peace apart from the sea... What more could you ask for? We have already booked for four nights in September and are planning our next stay after that. We may even pop down again before September for a three night break as the hotel has great offers available for certain dates so why not?!! I sound like I'm on commission - I'm not!!! I just love this place.

If you want wild nights out and late night drinking in the bar then this is not the place for you and nor should it be - and what are you doing in Lynton in the first place??!!! And those that have complained about that aspect are surely missing the point. This had everything we needed and more and we can't wait to get back on the M5 and head south!!

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so special.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gflyer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We recently stayed during the May Day Bank holiday. Our third visit to the Hotel. We had the Sanford Room which is very big, and has a fantastic wooden Four Poster bed. Beautiful views out of the window, that looks directly out over the Bay. We had dinner in the Restaurant and had a sea view table. The menu has a good collection of fish courses. The staff were very polite and helpful, and we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If the weather is reasonable open a window and let the sea breeze in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your return stay. It was nice to see you again. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I spent a few days in the Lynton Cottage last month and it was a lovely peaceful hotel.The rooms are very nice and spotlessly clean.The views out to sea are amazing and the hotel owners are very helpful
I would really recommend a stay at this hotel
Mike Fitzgerald

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views so don't worry about getting a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. The sea views are indeed amongst the best in North Devon. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £59 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Country House situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. Comprising 10 luxury self catering Apartments. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All Apartments enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of one bed, two bed and three bed are available. Several have Balcony or private terrace and some Four Poster beds. Free WIFI superfast broadband and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing