We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a balcony room for two, for weekend break. Nice hotel with stunning sea views and to a good standard. Our room's bathroom was dated, but the manager said it is due for refurbishment shortly after our stay. Dinner in the evening was nice, a little expensive for what we had, but again a stunning view (next to open patio door) made it worth the money.

We originally booked a different weekend, but had to change due to my daughter falling ill and the manager was very accommodating.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Both of our Balcony rooms now have refurbished bathrooms, which we completed soon after your stay. This year, we have now completed the refurbishment of 14 of our 17 bathrooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very nice, great views, staff very helpful, new owners ( a year) sorting out refurbishment but not intrusive in any way. Will be a quality hotel. Highly recommended. Food Good but could be a little better. Value for money yes.

Room Tip: Go for the room with a balcony, only has two,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannerman8807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Balcony rooms are always popular, especially in the glorious weather that we have been having this summer. The two Ground floor rooms with private terraces, also offer a similar atmosphere. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We only decided to go to Lynton last minute so we looked into hotels in the area and booked a great deal with Lynton Cottage Hotel only a few hours before our arrival. Upon arrival we were stunned by the breathtaking views from the front of the hotel and from our room. The room was comfortable and clean and there was chocolate brownie biscuits and hot chocolate in our room which I was very pleased about! Couldn't have asked for any more for the price we paid and the girls at breakfast were lovely, very kind and friendly. The only downside was a man upon checkout (possibly the manager) who made us feel uncomfortable about the rate we received....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, General Manager at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry if you misunderstood the joke that I made at my own expense. I will try and contain my humour more carefully in future. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at Lynton Cottage Hotel for a couple of nights in recent good weather. Booking a balcony room was therefore a good move. The position and views from the hotel are magnificent.

I think the hotel is described variously as luxury and country house style but I'm not sure it fits my idea of either of those descriptions. However, it is clean, comfortable and very pleasant. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and it was a perfectly acceptable meal for the evening of arrival but not fine dining and we ate in Lynton on the second evening. To be fair to the owners, I think they make it very clear on their website that you have to pre-order food and you get exactly what they describe so no complaints there.

I know the hotel is gradually being refurbished and there are areas which are clearly in need of redecoration. The ground floor restaurant and bar look good but the upstairs corridors really need redecorating as did the en suite in the balcony room (which I understand was about to be re-tiled). The room itself was fine. A note of caution would be to speak to the hotel in advance about room choice if you have any mobility issues. The stairs to upper floors are steep and narrow and could be difficult for some folk.

The staff at the hotel were lovely and really made an effort to be helpful and hospitable. I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AJWM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have now refurbished both of the Balcony bathrooms since your recent stay with us. We took on rather a large project when we took over a year ago, and have focussed on those areas that would have most impact upon our Guests. We are awaiting the end of the summer before the final round of renovation which will include the corridors, to avoid discomfort or inconvenience to Guests from the smell of wet paint.
We have moved deliberately away from the previous operators fine dining experience, in favour of a more relaxed atmosphere, promoting local Exmoor produce.
Most establishments in Lynton tend to have the similar Victorian steep staircases, because of all being built during the same era. Our stairs to the first floor are more generous being from the Georgian era, with two half landings to make for easier ascent. Our Ground floor rooms are booking far in advance, because of those Guests needing easier mobility arrangements. For other Guests however, the second floor of the West Wing, offers the most magnificent and far reaching sea views because of the extra elevation. The option of a Balcony on the second floor, one of the few in Lynton, is a very attractive proposition, and the room has been fully booked four months in advance this summer.
We continue to seek new ways to enhance the facilities for our Guest enjoyment, and 2015 includes some exciting projects to further open up different areas of the Hotel to the magnificent views. We hope you will come back and view these at a later date. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our second stay at this lovely hotel. They have the most comfortable beds ever. The new menu is rather nice. All the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the walk down to Lynmouth. We enjoyed the breakfasts which set us up for a good walk. We didn't use our car at all as there is also a good bus service into neighbouring towns. I'm sure we will be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, would just depend on whether you can manage stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. This summer, we have introduced a second Ground floor bedroom, which is a large Suite with a large wet room. This is already proving extremely popular for those of our Guests who prefer to avoid the stairs. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely small hotel - wonderful view from spotlessly clean bedroom - breakfast excellent - service very good - all in all a great find. The walk to Watermeet was 4 miles there and back but was worth it - National Trust serving good food and coffee and abundant birds to see in their garden.

Room Tip: Most rooms have wonderful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wow! We enjoyed a night in the bay view suite and what a great choice! We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and wanted it all to be about us! From the moment we arrived and were greeted warmly...this may have been something to do with lucky Dave, ask the owner...we enjoyed beautiful views, a lovely bottle of fizz and the comfiest bed EVER! Breakfast did not disappoint either, lovely prompt, polite service and with a smile, we really couldn't have asked for more...but if we had I think they would have provided us with whatever we needed. Thank you for a fab 24 hours which was all about us! Hope to visit again soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Lucky Dave is always welcome !! regards Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments

Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: £74 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Country House situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. Comprising 10 luxury self catering Apartments. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All Apartments enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of one bed, two bed and three bed are available. Several have Balcony or private terrace and some Four Poster beds. Free WIFI superfast broadband and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing