We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very well looked after.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chough's Nest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“We were very well looked after.”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We had a really good three night stay. Service was very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. It's a pity trip advisor doesn't rate the food. Both breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. Very good vegetarian menu as well, much better than most places offer. We came away rested, relaxed and very well fed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    45
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
139
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover Hampshire UK
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This little family run hotel is superb. The owners go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible even running you to places instead of getting the bus at no extra charge. This is the nicest place we have stayed in Room was superb Beds very comfy and spotlessly clean. The food was gorgeous with a varied menu so you could have something different every night. Best breakfast ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeanddavid_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We have stayed in this hotel many times. The current owners who have been here five years, work as a family and make the stay a very pleasant one. They are friendly and knowledgable about the area. The food is very good indeed and the hotel is very comfortable and clean. All the bedrooms have exceptional views as does the dining room. We particularly like the fact that you really don't have to use the car as there are splendid walks in all directions. Plenty of car parking space.

Room Tip: We stayed in room three which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend to do some walking and relaxing.
Room had amazing sea views, was large and spacious and very clean and tidy. It was one of the best rooms i have stayed in!
Service at breakfast and dinner was first class and the owners made you feel incredibly welcome and at home. Food and service matched a top restaurant.
Advice on walking and routes was spot on.
Could not fault anything. Must stay here if looking in Devon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireALewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Great location, very comfortable big bed. A fantastic view. great shower.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarebmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The hotel was lovely, serene and the service excellent. We had a room with a four-poster bed with great views, despite the weather. We wanted to go somewhere to eat in the evening and were recommended number of places and the owner even gave us his o/s map to help us get there. As it was out of season, we had to give notice to eat in the hotel and as we prefer to get out to eat, looking at the menu, it would have been worth booking ot eat there.
The breakfast was great - overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The gentleman checking me in was very friendly and helpful, and the rest of his family were pleasant too. Lovely room with great views across the bay to Countisbury Point, and also across the Bristol Channel to Wales. Very peaceful and relaxing location, with the distant lapping of the sea the only sound.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chough's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chough's Nest Hotel

Property: Chough's Nest Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chough's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chough's Nest Hotel is a family-run, cliff top retreat located on the stunning Exmoor coast. The hotel features commanding views across the bay and spectacular views out to sea. High ceilings, a cosy lounge with a roaring fire in the winter and home-cooked cuisine enable you to relax in comfort. All but one of the hotel's nine well-appointed bedrooms feature sea views and all have their own unique character and charm. We offer standard double and twin bedrooms as well as superior double bedrooms and four-posters for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chough's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choughs Nest Lynton
Chough's Nest Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing