We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to start the two moors way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chough's Nest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place to start the two moors way”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in the first evening of our two moors way walking holiday. We were greeted with a warm welcome and the owners were most accommodating with regards to cooking us a meal with 15 mins notice. The rooms were spacious clean and well appointed and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    44
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
134
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

John and Rose were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome from the time we arrived. We stayed in bedroom 7 which was very well proportioned and had two comfortable chairs to sit in for those times we were not exploring in and around Lynton and Lynmouth. There was plenty of tea and coffee facilities in the room and not forgetting the refreshing biscuits. We had a wonderful three course meal on our first night which was cooked to perfection. We would highly recommend the Choughs Nest to our friends and family and for those that read the trip advisor site. Theres no getting up and down at breakfast to help yourself to orange juice or cereal or being embarrassed about using the toaster, John serves it all to you. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel_F227129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This small family run hotel has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in.Set in a beautiful location and is somewhere where you are treated like a guest.The staff were very friendly and the whole atmosphere was relaxed and from a long forgotten era where customers came first.Nothing was to much trouble and the drinks in the lounge before eating was just perfect.The food was absolutely fantastic It was a pity that we could only stay two nights but we left feeling refreshed and thinking about when we can return.Long may you keep running this hotel and please dont change a thing. It is such a relief that places like this still exist -- its perfect!!!

Room Tip: number two has beautiful views and a massive bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were charmed by Lynton and the Chough's Nest. The room had a view on the shore, and it was very clean. The manager was welcoming and did not hesitate to give us tips and advice as to where to go and what to visit. The breakfast was of very good quality.

Also, although at the end of the way, the hotel is 10 feet away from a nice wall along the cliffs.

We would happily go back there for a next holiday in North North Devon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A wonderful, quiet hotel which retains it's Victorian era feel with fantastic sea view from the room we had.Owners were delightful, nothing too much trouble. Clean and comfortable facilities, great food. Close to town and local amenities and within easy reach of some fantastic walks. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A friendly, family run hotel - great food, service and views. Well appointed and clean rooms. Peaceful location but close to small town of Lynton and easy access to the coastal path and the harbour.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Nice clean very spacious room, with everything in good order and working.
Excellent attentive but still friendly service from the owners. Breakfast excellent. Amazing views over Lynmouth. The photographs on here show it exactly as it is! Lots of good walking territory in the surrounding areas, all in all we had a great time and would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rallybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chough's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chough's Nest Hotel

Property: Chough's Nest Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chough's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chough's Nest Hotel is a family-run, cliff top retreat located on the stunning Exmoor coast. The hotel features commanding views across the bay and spectacular views out to sea. High ceilings, a cosy lounge with a roaring fire in the winter and home-cooked cuisine enable you to relax in comfort. All but one of the hotel's nine well-appointed bedrooms feature sea views and all have their own unique character and charm. We offer standard double and twin bedrooms as well as superior double bedrooms and four-posters for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Chough's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choughs Nest Lynton
Chough's Nest Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing