We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chough's Nest Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sinai House(Lynton)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
152
46
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
46
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomtable servicefamily run hotellovely hotelbristol channelamazing viewsbedroom windowstunning seanorth walksmall hoteltraditional hotelbooked this hotelhosts johnan overnight stayevening dinnercooked breakfastcooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked this hotel for a few of us as my sister was getting married locally. They were very accommodating when I asked for an early check in due to the wedding happening in the village. When arrived and were assigned our room we couldn't believe our luck - the view was stunning. A very comfortable bed and reasonably sized room for the price. Staff were fabulous over breakfast and it was really yummy despite my small hangover from the night before. Well worth staying here for the views alone! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I have to agree with other comments on here this great hotel is very Boutique and so well run , so nice to see the whole family who run this place go out of there way , the breakfast was great and served to my table very rare now days , we also had dinner both nights and what can but Yum , wine list was very good and at a very fair price , we stayed in room 7 with great sea views , nice comfortable bed , 2 comfortable chairs , to relax in and read , we wish you a busy season thank you so much for 2 relaxing days

Room Tip: Good size room , if you like space Ask for No 7 , then i did not look at any others there , i had no need too
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deancummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The ways in which the owners have upgraded and now run this property put it almost in the 'boutique' hotel category. It is managed with a precision which is almost clinical and is most effective. One wondered if the proprietor is an ex-military man. We dined there and the food was very good indeed, for an establishment of its size and kind, and the wine list of a standard which surprised. The views from the North Walk on which it is situated are of course justly fabled. Sir George Newnes, the publisher who 'discovered' Lynton & Lynmouth, and whose dream it was to turn the community into a unique, classy resort, would, one is sure, approve of this hotel. The establishment is family run; for some undefinable reasons, we asked ourselves, on departure, how happy the family really is doing the job.

Room Tip: One books on the assumption that all rooms have 'the view' - that worked for us..
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladys70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Great place. Old fashioned certainly, but with charming staff and fantastic views. I booked at relatively short notice but found it a pleasant place. The proprietor was helpful in selecting local walking routes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkE1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Forget your "boutique" hotels and head for the Chough's nest. Very comfortable accommodation and lovely home cooked cuisine made for an excellent stay. Views are superb and walk to Valley of Rocks is very close by. Parking is very adjacent to hotel - not sure why some felt this an issue. Service is friendly without being overpowering. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank glawsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews