We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chough's Nest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights celebrating our anniversary, when we arrived at the hotel the fresh air and hypnotising views were the first thing that caught our eyes! the lovely family who runs the place welcomed us with the nicest of smiles straight to our lovely room, which was specious, nicely decorated, and spotless clean! and the views from the room... wow! absolutely takes your breath away. the great location provides a great start to explore the area but also close enough (5 minuets walk) to the main street with shops and restaurants.
The breakfast & dinner served in the hotel is top quality and delicious, we couldn't wait for dinner to be served every night (pre-book your dinner table, you won't regret it!) overall our stay was fantastic and we will deff come back again, thank you! :)

Amber & Mashy, London

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberv333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    44
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
134
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Excellent stay at Choughs Nest. Wonderful walks along the south coast path. John and Rose and their daughter made us very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Even supplied gluten free and dairy free products for my dietary needs. Nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal we had was 1st class. Amazing sea view from the bedroom. So peaceful and relaxing. Would definitely go back for more walks and excellent hospitality. Thanks so much for a great short break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 150Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

Rose and I are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay at Chough's Nest and we are glad you enjoyed the food and found the hotel peaceful and relaxing.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from two nights at The Chough's Nest. Booked this hotel on the strength of previous reviews and are so glad we did. The location and view - well it doesn't get any better than this! Yes there are only 9 parking spaces but some other establishments didn't even have a car park. Saying that we had no problem in parking. Breakfasts were very good. Had dinner here on both nights and again excellent. There is a good wine list. We and another couple wanted the Shiraz on the first night which they didn't have but John made sure he had it for the next night. The only tiny niggle is that dinner at 7 is a bit too early for us but that is a personal choice and in no way reflects on our stay which was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of tea, coffee & milk in your room. Had a fabulous walk on the second day to Valley of the Rocks and Lee Bay - amazing views. All in all a very relaxing break at a really good well run family hotel. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Booked the Choughs Nest as a base for a walking weekend. John must be the most attentive host I have experienced. Nothing was too much trouble, great local knowledge on the walks and both he and Rose very charming and friendly. Drove us to our start point for the walk and recommended a pub to watch the rugby. Hotel has great views, excellent food and nice facilities. Plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your walking break and that you enjoyed our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chough's Nest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

magnificent view to the see, cozy room, very friendly and familiar atmosphere, good food, close to the cliff-railway, one of the most beautiful sections of the costal path nearby (we walked about 12 km in direction of Parlock up to the Rhododendron Wood which was in full bloom) and many other beautiful walks around.

Room Tip: no special tip, all rooms seemed to have seeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronikaStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review telling us how much you enjoyed the food and hospitality at Chough's Nest.

We are pleased to hear that you liked your stay and enjoyed the walks along the Exmoor coast.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I first stayed at Chough's Nest in 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. They say never go back but 2013 was just as good. The accommodation is excellent, the food superb and the hosts charming. I certainly hope to return.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John_SAmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to see you again and we look forward to your visit next year.

Rose, John & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have been to this hotel twice now and have been impressed both times. The location is a steep 10 minute walk from Lynmouth and a 5 minute shuffle from Lynton, but the views are the best around and you are right on the coastal walking path.
Really friendly family that run the hotel, excellent food and lovely spacious rooms. This is one of the those hotels that you come back to whenever you can - just excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRONG_WAY_DOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased to hear that you liked your stay and enjoyed the views and the hotel's location on the coast path. It is a steep climb up the hill, but as you say " the views are the best around".

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chough's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chough's Nest Hotel

Property: Chough's Nest Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chough's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chough's Nest Hotel is a family-run, cliff top retreat located on the stunning Exmoor coast. The hotel features commanding views across the bay and spectacular views out to sea. High ceilings, a cosy lounge with a roaring fire in the winter and home-cooked cuisine enable you to relax in comfort. All but one of the hotel's nine well-appointed bedrooms feature sea views and all have their own unique character and charm. We offer standard double and twin bedrooms as well as superior double bedrooms and four-posters for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chough's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choughs Nest Lynton
Chough's Nest Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing