We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, well-run hotel with fabulous views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chough's Nest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well-run hotel with fabulous views”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend at the end of April and were very satisfied with our choice. The atmosphere in the hotel is traditional, quiet and relaxed and our bedroom was clean and comfortable with fabulous views. The food was excellent with its emphasis on locally- sourced produce - the lamb and beef were especially good. The location was also wonderful with its easy access to the coastal path and riverside walks. We would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morwenna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    44
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
134
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Chough's Nest many times since we went there for our honeymoon over thirty years ago. We can't decide whether we've been there eight or nine times over the years. We must like it! We would have been more except on one occasion we wanted to go it was full and on another, we had booked but were advised not to go because of the foot and mouth outbreak.
The most remarkable thing about Chough's Nest is its location, perched high above Lynmouth Bay with views across to Countisbury Hill and, on a clear day, all across the Bristol Channel to South Wales. Lynton is a great place from which to venture into Exmoor and the "English Switzerland".
Like the proverbial favourite pair of slippers, Chough's Nest is comfortable without being ostentatious; good enough to relax in. Nothing over-elaborate but everything you need for a good holiday. There are roughly nine bedrooms, all are a good size, well decorated and the beds are comfortable. Enjoy a good cooked breakfast in the dining room whilst savouring the view. If I have one gripe it is that the menu for evening dinner is a bit limited and has to be pre-booked. However, there are some really good restaurants in the twin towns of Lynmouth and Lynton to explore.
We feel very welcome at Chough's Nest and so do a lot of other guests, it seems, as many return several times. The consequence is a very relaxed atmosphere. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Choughs Nest. The room (no 3) was amazing with views over the bay. So comfy. John looked after us so well and even opened our champagne for us on our return from an evening out. Super breakfast. Warm and welcoming. We will return. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JITLP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed at the Choughs Nest for one night at the end of March 2014. It was my birthday and one night each year myself and my boyfriend look to have a night away together somewhere low key to take time out to relax . Lynton/Lynmouth was a fabulous choice and Choughs Nest fitted this perfectly. Breathtaking views from our lovely room (no 1 with 4 poster) a real home from home, could have taken the comfy bed home with me! Lovely breakfast.
Owners were really lovely and welcoming and friendly and happy to chat. Very picturesque area. Had a really nice evening meal down in Lynmouth at a place called Rock House hotel. Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Chough’s Nest and that you found the Four Poster Bed in room one to your liking.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards Rose and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Chough's Nest is a delightful hotel owned by a lovely and most attentive couple. The views from the front are stunning and room 2 is fabulous - spacious, tasteful and comfy with the nicest bathroom you could hope for.
North Walk takes you straight onto the coast path to The Valley of the Rocks and the most amazing views you could wish for.
A lovely place to stay with an in dibble location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Chough’s Nest and that you enjoyed our four- poster ‘Nest’ in particular. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future. Kind regards Rose and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I had meeting close by and as I usually do I asked the girls in the office to find me a local privately run hotel for an overnight stay. I dislike hotel chains they are too impersonal, I arrived and was welcomed with old world charm by Mr Hodges, John as he soon introduced himself. I had only booked 30 minutes before arrival but that was no problem, the hotel is delightful, welcoming, warm and totally family run!
I had a three course meal cooked by Rose, Johns wife and served by Victoria and Kate two of his daughters. To say that I felt totally relaxed and welcome is an understatement. This is a hotelier who knows the value in interaction, nothing is too much trouble, the place is immaculate and the location is awesome.
Needless to say I will be coming back, as a company Director I have stayed in thousands of hotels for one night, few have left such a lasting impression.

Room Tip: The rooms are excellent, they are all good, the only mistake you could make is to not go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Chough’s Nest and that your ‘high pressure’ lifestyle found the tranquillity of our location, to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards Rose and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at the Choughs Nest for 1 night over the Valentines weekend. We arrived mid afternoon on Saturday and were welcomed by the owner who checked us in and took us up to our room. I'd booked a Superior Room so we were on the top floor with a lovely view of the sea. The room was clean and tidy with nice fittings and we were very comfortable and warm up there. We didn't book dinner until we arrived but they accomodated us with no fuss at all and the food - well - it was cooked to perfection and served up by the owner who is Silver Service trained! After dinner we had a great game of scrabble in the sitting room next to the lovely log fire, just was the Doctor ordered after the recent weather. Lynton is a lovely little town and situated such that most of Exmoor is easily accessible. I can't recommend it enough, we will definitely be visiting again.

Thank you for a lovely stay :)
Paul & Tracy Warner

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a Superior Room (which to be honest aren't expensive) the do it - the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chumley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Chough’s Nest and that you found the tranquillity to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards Rose and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chough's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chough's Nest Hotel

Property: Chough's Nest Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chough's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chough's Nest Hotel is a family-run, cliff top retreat located on the stunning Exmoor coast. The hotel features commanding views across the bay and spectacular views out to sea. High ceilings, a cosy lounge with a roaring fire in the winter and home-cooked cuisine enable you to relax in comfort. All but one of the hotel's nine well-appointed bedrooms feature sea views and all have their own unique character and charm. We offer standard double and twin bedrooms as well as superior double bedrooms and four-posters for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chough's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choughs Nest Lynton
Chough's Nest Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing