We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, attentive service and professionalism”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chough's Nest Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, attentive service and professionalism”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This hotel was everything that I hoped it would be having first read the reviews. We were greeted warmly and the service, both on the reception and at meal times, was excellent. We found the owner to be chatty and hospitable without being intrusive. In fact, his level of professional service is rarely seen now, even in the bigger hotels.

Our room was large, well appointed and warm and our evening meal was first class. Couldn't better it for the money, we will stay again when we're in the area again.

Richard
Bicester.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardBicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    45
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
145
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This hotel is a real mix of positives and negatives.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival by the hotel owner, who throughout our three day stay went out of his way to provide helpful tips and guidance about the area.

We had booked a double room but were upgraded to a king size room with a fantastic view (given the hotel's location, I suspect this would be true for all of the rooms). The room was very comforatble, however it had only a small wardrobe. A real mix of old and new, for example old avocado bathroom furniture and a flatscreen tv.

As we were going to arrive after 7.30, we had been told in advance that we would not be able to dine in the restaurant - on one hand I understand this from a small hotel but contrast it with other hotels we have stayed in, sometimes where we have been the only guests, that have been happy to prepare a meal for weary travellers.

Breakfast was superb and the dining room is a very nice setting, again with excellent views.

Dinner on the other hand was disappointing, especially as the menu was so promising. We had no complaints about the starters and puddings, however mains were another matter. On both nights we had requested meat be cooked pink but on both occasions it was grey, leading us to wonder if it had been defrosted in a microwave prior to being cooked. This would also explain how the hotel can offer such a wide menu choice to a relatively small clientelle. Personally, I would rather be limited to two or three choices of fresh food.

The menu presented on both nights was the same, and disappointingly there wasn't a choice of a roast on the Sunday.

This may be due to the occupancy of the hotel being low while we were there, but we wouldn't take a chance on it again.

I would certainly recommend the hotel itself, however would recommend that guests dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bad_u_turn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
choughsnesthotel, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2009
In response to the remark on our eclectic match of ‘old and new’ we are very aware that some of the existing bathroom suites are out-dated and in the three years that we have owned the hotel, some £75,000 has been spent on refurbishing the hotel's bathrooms and infrastructure (hot water and heating system). There are now three bathrooms to be finished.

With regards to the food on our menu, all meat is bought FRESH, and cooked FRESH. None is defrosted in a microwave!

Having checked the dinner order for this couple, only the gentleman asked for his duck and lamb to be cooked pink, the lady requested her duck on both evenings to be cooked medium to well-done.

We have a selection of 6 or 7 main courses and will often put on a special roast if we are busy enough. (A sample menu is shown on our website). However, on this particular May Bank Holiday Sunday, we only had three tables of two for dinner. It is nonsensical to cook a large joint of meat if there is nobody there to eat it.

If guests arrive late we will gladly prepare a light sandwich or meal but can only do this if it is asked for. The gentleman’s email, advising us of his late arrival and that dinner would not be required, rather negates this requirement.

In conclusion the complaint appears to centre on that most subjective of culinary peccadilloes, the degree to which one likes one's meat cooked. And the only way to solve this problem is at the time of the meal; either by asking for the meat to be cooked more, or rejecting it and asking for it to be cooked again. To mull it over and bring it to my attention 10 weeks after leaving the hotel makes it somewhat difficult to resolve the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We booked this hotel with high hopes - having read the reviews. Overall we had great difficulty sleeping due to the comings and goings of the owners families who were living there. Even after asking politely! that on our final day when we had a long journey ahead of us that they could keep a little quieter after 11pm and before 7am this was to no avail.

Otherwise the food was good, but the silver service seemed a little too formal for the lovely informal setting - and we kept having to ask for more than the one teaspoonful of ketchup that they would offer.

The views were lovely and had we slept better I'm sure we would better have appreciated the relaxing atmosphere of the surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
choughsnesthotel, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2009
As a family run business, we do not like hearing that our guests were less than very pleased with their stay.

The guests in question did raise their concerns with us at reception, before their early departure on a trip to Lundy Island in the morning. We were more than happy to address any problems they had.

However, on their last evening, we had some other guests who were business people staying at the hotel (which is a rarity as we are predominately a tourist and leisure hotel). These business guests had a meeting in the lounge after their dinner and consequently went to bed after midnight. They had also requested an early breakfast prior to their departure at 6.30 am.
We are sorry that our other guests may have caused a disturbance but this was evidently beyond our control.

With regards to silver service and teaspoons of ketchup, one can either elect to dine in a ‘greasy spoon’ or a quality establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Brilliant hotel, Fabulous hosts, Family run business with friendly atmosphere and the best food I have eaten in any UK hotel I have stayed (try the cheese souffle it's amazing)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airportjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Everything is in the title of this review......what more could you want ?
As an aside we stayed here and met an Australian couple who were spending a couple of months touring the UK and they doubled the length of their stay on the basis of how good the food was!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshtufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chough's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chough's Nest Hotel

Property: Chough's Nest Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chough's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chough's Nest Hotel is a family-run, cliff top retreat located on the stunning Exmoor coast. The hotel features commanding views across the bay and spectacular views out to sea. High ceilings, a cosy lounge with a roaring fire in the winter and home-cooked cuisine enable you to relax in comfort. All but one of the hotel's nine well-appointed bedrooms feature sea views and all have their own unique character and charm. We offer standard double and twin bedrooms as well as superior double bedrooms and four-posters for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chough's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choughs Nest Lynton
Chough's Nest Hotel Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing